$53 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 4, 2015

Motel 6 Lake Charles

2 stars
View map of 335 Hwy 171, I-10 at Opelousas Street, Exit #32, Lake Charles, LA 70601

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Motel 6 Lake Charles

Overall score

1.7 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 20
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2.2
Location:
2.6
Value:
2.9

25% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Motel 6 Lake Charles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mr. Mister
Business
Texas
May 24, 2009

Motel 6

Ended up getting a refund after going up to the room as I walked up the stairs there were several men standing on the balcony. When I entered they looked in through my window. At that time I decided to try another location. I have no problems with the staff mostly just the issue on my balcony.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The place is cheap

Review of Motel 6 Lake Charles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mr. Mister
Business
Texas
May 24, 2009

Motel 6

Ended up getting a refund after going up to the room as I walked up the stairs there were several men standing on the balcony. When I entered they looked in through my window. At that time I decided to try another location. I have no problems with the staff mostly just the issue on my balcony.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The place is cheap

Review of Motel 6 Lake Charles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
PRINCETON, LA
May 8, 2009

UNBEATABLE LOCATION FOR THE PRICE

THE MOTEL WAS IN A GREAT LOCATION THAT WAS EASILY ACCESSABLE FROM THE INTERSTATE. THE ONLY PROBLEM THAT WE HAD WAS THAT THE SHEETS WOULD NOT STAY ON THE BED BECAUSE THE WERE TO SMALL.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Motel 6 Lake Charles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
UNLUCKY TRAVLER
Business
HOUSTON
Mar 10, 2009

DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

THERE WAS ALOT OF PEOPLE HANGING AROUND OUTSIDE AND WE ACTUALLY SAW A MAN CARRY IN A PROPANE TANK AND BURNER INTO HIS ROOM. THERE WAS ALOT OF TRAFFIC FROM PEOPLE NOT STAYING AT THE MOTEL.WE LATER FOUND OUT FROM LOCALS THAT THE AREA WE WERE IN WAS KNOWN FOR DRUG DEALERS AND GANGS.IT WAS TERRIFYING WE WERE AFFRIAD THAT OUR VEHICLE WOULDN'T BE THERE IN THE MORNING.SO WE LEFT A WHILE LATER AND FOUND A MUCH NICER,CLEANER PLACE TO STAY FOR NOT MUCH MORE MONEY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Motel 6 Lake Charles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 22, 2008

Couldn't pay me to stay here.

When I arrived at the hotel for check-in, it was immediately apparent that my and my husband's presence was unwelcome. The desk clerk was very rude. I can't comment on the rooms or anything else, because after this welcome I decided to go elsewhere. I found a very nice hotel directly across the street, where we were treated with courtesy and respect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Motel 6 Lake Charles

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 27, 2007

Good value

Nothing fancy. Clean and quiet. Easy access and staff gave good directions. Staff was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Motel 6 Lake Charles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Shelba
Business
USA
Jul 22, 2007

Very Rude personnel and dirty room.

I guess you get what you pay for! The check in clerk was not friendly at all. There was two of us staying and when we finally got into our room we noticed we only had 1 each of the wash cloth, towel and hand towels. We asked if we could please have a couple more when the maid came by to clean our room. We told her we also needed toilet tissue as there was very little on the roll in the restroom. She brought us towels but no toilet tissue. We had to make a trip to the office to get it as well as some hand soap. The bath room was very dirty. Trash, dirt, hair in big pile behind door. Found large bug of some sort in one of the beds. Comforters on both beds had burn holes all over them. We told the maid we wanted to sleep in late so no need to clean the room. She came back in an hour (9:00 a.m.) wanting to know if we wanted our room cleaned. This woke us up and we told her to skip the room for that first day as we had driven a long way and wanted to sleep late. She grunted and frowned like it was an imposition not to clean the room when she wanted. A few minutes later, after we had laid back down another lady came knocking wanting us to sign a paper saying we didn't want our room cleaned. Three times we were disturbed when we told them we just wanted to sleep. We had asked for a smoking room but there was no ash trays. We furnished our own. The only thing they did right was to make sure we had a down stairs room as both of us ladies are disabled. We did convey our graditude for that one favor. Also on the second night of our stay the key card would not work and we had to go to the office to get another one. Just a big pain all the way around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We went to Lake Charles to go to the cosinos. Not a very far distant to these. Maybe 4 or 5 miles.

Review of Motel 6 Lake Charles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 4, 2007

Utter Filth

This was the filthiest room I have ever stepped into. Open the small fridge and a roach crawls out. There is wadded paper and dirt on the side of the fridge. The room was supposedly a non-smoking room, because I am alergic to smoke, and the room reaked of smoke. We had one large bath towel. The carpet was so filthy, that you did not dare walk on it bare footed. Pulled back the covers on the bed and under the bed in plain site was food particles. The bathroom had stuff in the corners. The bathtub fixtures had soapscum caked on them, so you definitely weren't going to take a bath because you were afraid of what was left behind in the tub....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Nothing was close to this motel

Review of Motel 6 Lake Charles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 17, 2007

staff not friendly

THE STAFF COULD HAVE BEEN MORE PROFESSIONAL

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

THE SEAFOOD RESTURANT WAS GREAT

Review of Motel 6 Lake Charles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 28, 2007

No frills

The Motel 6 Lake Charles was as no frills as they come. No coffee pot in room, no coffee in lounge, no iron, etc. The toilet ran, the shower curtain was 2 feet too long, and the room lighting was poor. You get what you pay for but I've come to expect more from Motel 6.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top