$55 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

Howard Johnson Lafayette

2 stars
2215 NW Evangeline Thruway, Lafayette, LA 70501
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
26 reviews
Fantastic

I stay at this hotel every time I come to town! Nice, clean, friendly! See full review

  • JenLynnE1338
  • Aug 20, 2014
Yeah man

The flat screen tv was missing and everything was good. See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 8, 2010
Have fun at this Howard Johnson Lafayette near Lafayette Regional Airport and the University of Louisiana. Experience 19th-century Louisiana at the Vermilion Living History Museum and Folklife Park, or take the family bowling at Arcadiana Lanes. Try your luck at Evangeline Downs Casino and Racetrack, or attend a conference or big-name concert at Cajun Dome four miles away. Start your day with complimentary Rise and Dine continental breakfast, stay up to date with complimentary weekday newspaper, and connect to complimentary wireless Internet access to plan an exciting day. Unwind in the seasonal outdoor pool and enjoy the guest laundry, fax and copy services. Relax in your guest room with microwave, refrigerator and desk. Hot tub suites and handicapped-accessible rooms are also available.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Lafayette also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Cajundome: 2.6 mi
  • Cajun Field: 2.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:30 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (26)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Lafayette

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 26
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
2.9
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.3
Value:
3.6

44% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Lafayette

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CABKR
Business
Tampa Bay, Fl
Mar 10, 2013

Good value

Our stay was uneventful but served our purposes. Wish the hotel offered longer breakfast hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Lafayette

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ogive
Business
indiana
Feb 10, 2013

A Place to lay your head

Stayed one night in Lafayette just to break the trip and do some washing. That was enough. The walls were paper thin and our neighbours were enthusiastic to say the least. Quite a laugh – we could have called a running commentary and held up score cards at the end but, unlike them, restrained ourselves. Lots of outside noise with people arriving and leaving throughout the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Lafayette

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Crawfish
Business
New Orleans, LA
May 7, 2012

Crawfish Festival

Everything was fine. Clean rooms. A little busy outside, but did not distrub me getting to sleep,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Down the street from a strip mall. across the highway from the Northgate Mall,

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Lafayette

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
The Pine, LA
Jan 11, 2011

Seahawks stop Saints Superbowl Show

Nice, Clean, easy to find hotel. One should beware that the image of he suite shown on the advertisement, is not the same (no hot tub). Additionally there was no business center, door access is outside and it was a very small "dining area". Not bad for the price, however in the same parking lot was a Baymont Inn & Suites, which I believe is the same price. I might try them next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Asked the desk jockey if there was anywhere nearby to take in the game (Saints vs Seahawks)and he didn't have any suggestions. After stopping at a local gas station, we made our way down by the college campus (Johnston Street to College) and found a Chili's.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Lafayette

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Patterson La
Aug 8, 2010

Yeah man

The flat screen tv was missing and everything was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Lafayette

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio
Jun 7, 2010

Clean, large room

The room was clean (one of my most important qualities). They upgraded to a king size bed for $5 a night. Not much in terms of the breakfast though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Lafayette

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, Texas
May 17, 2009

Basic Hotel

Very basic room. Website looked more alluring than in person. Room dressings didnt seem "new" as stated on website. Met all basic expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Lafayette

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lafayette, LA
Apr 24, 2009

The good the bad and the ugly........

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are many chain resturants in the area and authentic local resturants also. They are easy to find and the costs are reasonable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Lafayette

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
racj
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Apr 22, 2009

Not so much.

My husband and I arrived at almost midnight, exhausted from driving. We had reserved a non-smoking room. We opened our door to the strong odor of tobacco. We asked to change rooms and were given another non-smoking room. Unfortunately it reeked, as well. Too tired to continue the game of musical rooms, we opted to stay. Before settling into bed, we spent about twenty minutes rearranging the furniture in order to get something in front of the door... an effort on our part to beef up security. The area left a lot to be desired from a safety standpoint. The hotel was in a drab, poorly-lit, semi-isolated neighborhood of rundown houses right along an interstate. The door to our room had only one lock. There was no little back-up gadget to secure it from the inside. Other issues: the bathroom was tiny... barely enough room to open the door into it. The air conditioning did not work; we sweltered all night. The carpet had a wet area of an undetermined origin. In a main walking area there was a hole in the floor about the size of a grapefruit which had been covered by carpet; one's foot sunk into it with each passing. The final insult was that in the middle of the night, twice the fire alarms went off and emergency lights came on. Everyone went outside on the balcony. Staff couldn't figure out what the problem was. Generally speaking, staff were indifferent to guests; not openly rude, but accomplished only the bare minimum with no regard to the simplest of courtesies. I'll pay more next time to stay somewhere nicer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top