$54 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 8, 2015 Check-out: Jul 9, 2015

Howard Johnson Lafayette

2 stars
View map of 2215 NW Evangeline Thruway, Lafayette, LA 70501

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
28 reviews
Fantastic

I stay at this hotel every time I come to town! Nice, clean, friendly! See full review

  • JenLynnE1338
  • Aug 20, 2014
Memorial Day Trip

The room was ok. We made it to town a little early and called to ask about early check in and it... See full review

  • MrzSagW
  • May 26, 2015
Have fun at this Howard Johnson Lafayette near Lafayette Regional Airport and the University of Louisiana. Experience 19th-century Louisiana at the Vermilion Living History Museum and Folklife Park, or take the family bowling at Arcadiana Lanes. Try your luck at Evangeline Downs Casino and Racetrack, or attend a conference or big-name concert at Cajun Dome four miles away. Start your day with complimentary Rise and Dine continental breakfast, stay up to date with complimentary weekday newspaper, and connect to complimentary wireless Internet access to plan an exciting day. Unwind in the seasonal outdoor pool and enjoy the guest laundry, fax and copy services. Relax in your guest room with microwave, refrigerator and desk. Hot tub suites and handicapped-accessible rooms are also available.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Lafayette also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Cajundome: 2.6 mi
  • Cajun Field: 2.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:30 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Lafayette

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
28 out of 28
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.2
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.5

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Lafayette

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EA Construction
Business
Austin, TX, USA
Mar 15, 2012

Great Stay

I almost did not book this hotel due to some other reviews that were less than stellar. Put your worries aside, this place was top notch. The rooms were clean, the atmosphere was family oriented, and the staff was friendly and helpful. My only complaint would be the $25 deposit, but hey, it wasn't a big deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Lafayette

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MrzSagW
Business
N/A
May 26, 2015

Memorial Day Trip

The room was ok. We made it to town a little early and called to ask about early check in and it wasn't available. They told us we needed to check in after the original check in time. When we finally checked in the front desk clerk was kind of rude. He kept asking me how many people total was in the room, which was stated on reservation. The floor was wet in the bathroom and I slipped (at nearly 4pm). The bathroom wall had built up grime on it. The water drained slow so while showering you were standing in water. The people above us seemed to be stomping. You could here every move. We didn't encounter any staff other than checking in & out. The price was ok. The kids didn't complain and everything worked so it was ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Lafayette

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JenLynnE1338
Business
Springfield, MO
Aug 20, 2014

Fantastic

I stay at this hotel every time I come to town! Nice, clean, friendly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Olde Tyme Grocery-sandwiches are great! Cash only though, price is reasonable & they have an ATM

Review of Howard Johnson Lafayette

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Genevieve S.
Business
Lafayette, LA
Nov 23, 2013

Business

The room was clean and comfortable. Only a few towels available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Lafayette

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Linda baseball mom
Business
Houston, texas
Jun 24, 2013

Odor

The room was clean but the restroom had a strong odor of urine. I had to keep restroom door closed in order to tolerate the rest of the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Lafayette

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MawMaw Stacey
Business
Mobile, Al
May 20, 2013

In town for Graduation

Hotel was near everything that we needed. Close to Cajun Dome for graduation. Staff was friendly..Could improve on Continental breakfast we did not use this service due to no selection.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Lafayette

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dknotts
Business
Lafayette, LA
Mar 13, 2013

Just a night away

For the most part, it was OK for the price. The room was clean and had everything we needed.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Lafayette

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CABKR
Business
Tampa Bay, Fl
Mar 10, 2013

Good value

Our stay was uneventful but served our purposes. Wish the hotel offered longer breakfast hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Lafayette

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ogive
Business
indiana
Feb 10, 2013

A Place to lay your head

Stayed one night in Lafayette just to break the trip and do some washing. That was enough. The walls were paper thin and our neighbours were enthusiastic to say the least. Quite a laugh – we could have called a running commentary and held up score cards at the end but, unlike them, restrained ourselves. Lots of outside noise with people arriving and leaving throughout the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Lafayette

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Crawfish
Business
New Orleans, LA
May 7, 2012

Crawfish Festival

Everything was fine. Clean rooms. A little busy outside, but did not distrub me getting to sleep,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Down the street from a strip mall. across the highway from the Northgate Mall,

Back to menu Return to top