$79 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

Econo Lodge Downtown

2 stars
401 South 2nd St., Louisville, KY 40202
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
56 reviews
Reasonable price!

The staff at this location are extremely friendly. We really enjoyed our stay. The location is what... See full review

  • Jeremyjay
  • Apr 29, 2014
smoking

Forgot there were still states with smoking. But it was nice See full review

  • jack juice
  • Dec 22, 2013
Good lodging for Louisville travelers on a budget

The Econo Lodge Downtown offers business and leisure travelers affordable accommodations in the heart of downtown Louisville. The hotel is located within walking distance of the Kentucky International Convention Center and the Fourth Street Live entertainment and retail district. Clean, nicely appointed guest rooms feature essential amenities, including free high-speed Internet access, refrigerator, and microwave. The hotel also provides a complimentary continental breakfast and a fitness center.

Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi high-speed Internet access
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Fitness center
  • Non-smoking rooms are available
Rooms

The Econo Lodge's clean, comfortable rooms feature quality furnishings, free Internet access, work desk and chair, cable television, coffeemaker, microwave, refrigerator, and iron with ironing board.

Features

For travelers on a budget, the Econo Lodge is an ideal location in the heart of exciting downtown Louisville. Papa John's Cardinal Stadium, the Louisville Zoo, Louisville Slugger Museum, Six Flags Kentucky Kingdom theme park, and the Louisville International Airport are all just minutes away.

 

Guests enjoy a free continental breakfast served each morning in the dining room in the lobby area, including fresh fruit, baked goods, cereals, coffee, tea, and juice.

Transportation
  • Louisville International Airport (7.7 mi/12.4 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Louisville Slugger Museum (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Papa John's Cardinal Stadium (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Louisville Zoo (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Six Flags Kentucky Kingdom (6.1 mi/9.8 km)
Business
  • In-room desk
  • Free Internet access
  • Faxing and copying services are available

Hotel Map

38.2527 -85.7538
Nearby airports
Louisville Int'l Airport, (SDF), 8.20, MI, S;
Area description
City Center, Downtwn, I-65/71

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Econo Lodge Downtown also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
In-Room Safe
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Fourth Street Live!: 0.2 mi
  • Kentucky International Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • KFC Yum! Center: 0.3 mi
  • Actors Theatre of Louisville: 0.3 mi
  • The Kentucky Center and Brown Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Louisville Science Center: 0.6 mi
  • Kentucky Museum of Art and Craft: 0.6 mi
  • Louisville Waterfront Park: 0.6 mi
  • Louisville Slugger Field: 0.6 mi
  • Louisville Slugger Museum & Factory: 0.7 mi
  • Frazier History Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Flame Run Glass Studio and Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Old Louisville: 1.4 mi
  • Museum of the American Printing House for the Blind: 2.1 mi
  • Cave Hill Cemetery: 2.2 mi
  • Fourth Street Live!: 0.2 mi
  • Kentucky International Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • KFC Yum! Center: 0.3 mi
  • Actors Theatre of Louisville: 0.3 mi
  • The Kentucky Center and Brown Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Louisville Science Center: 0.6 mi
  • Kentucky Museum of Art and Craft: 0.6 mi
  • Louisville Waterfront Park: 0.6 mi
  • Louisville Slugger Field: 0.6 mi
  • Louisville Slugger Museum & Factory: 0.7 mi
  • Frazier History Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Flame Run Glass Studio and Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Old Louisville: 1.4 mi
  • Museum of the American Printing House for the Blind: 2.1 mi
  • Cave Hill Cemetery: 2.2 mi
  • The Speed Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Cherokee Park: 2.7 mi
  • Historic Frankfort Avenue: 2.7 mi
  • Papa John's Cardinal Stadium: 3.2 mi
  • Kentucky Derby Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Churchill Downs: 3.6 mi
  • Farmington: 3.6 mi
  • Six Flags Kentucky Kingdom: 3.9 mi
  • Louisville Zoo: 3.9 mi
  • Kentucky Fair and Exposition Center: 4 mi
  • Louisville Mega Cavern: 4.4 mi
  • Iroquois Park: 6.7 mi
  • Waverly Hills Sanatorium: 9.7 mi
  • Bluegrass Indoor Karting: 11.6 mi
  • Freedom Hall: 228.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (56)

Ratings and reviews for Econo Lodge Downtown

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
21 out of 56
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Moe Finch
Business
Sikeston mo
Mar 29, 2014

Convention trip

I stayed during a convention so I am sure they charged extra the night I was there. Clean and close to downtown

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Katie on the road
Business
Newark, NJ
Dec 8, 2013

Super friendly

The staff were very very nice and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. Everything worked. My room was also nice and quiet. I got to use the treadmill in their fitness room. The hotel is within walking distance of many attractions, and if you're feeling lazy, there is a Papa John's right next door. If I go back, I'll definitely stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Starbucks in the Marriott across the street.

Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GDLD
Business
Evansville, IN
May 11, 2013

Great overnight for less!!

I'm not very picky when I travel for business. All I'm looking for is a clean bed and free wi-fi. This place had those things and an incredibly friendly staff! I just booked another stay at this very hotel for a pleasure trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Comnection Nightclub

Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Convention Junkie
Business
Santa Ana, CA
Feb 1, 2013

Convention Center close

While the room was standard, the bathroom was old with a stick used to prop up the sink. The added bonus of having a balcony was offset by the fact that it faced a gas station and a moderately busy street. The location was a short 3 block walk to the convention center and social district. Parking was charged at $5 per vehicle per night. Good utilitarian accomodation for the business traveller but just not for the vacationer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Be sure to pack a hat for cold weather in winter as there are not many places to buy in the immediate area.

Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dissappointed in KY
Business
St Paul MN
Oct 10, 2011

Good location but........................

Stayed there Mon, Tue, Wed. for a convention. Not a nice part of town. Constantly pestered by minorities asking for a handout while walking to and from 4th Street. Little police presence. The room was OK for what I paid but certainly nothing special. Very weak WIFI signal. Unlike a real hotel with multiple walls, the single wall motel construction allowed traffic noise during the day and siren noise in all night. The room were very clean but the parking lot, sidewalks and stair cases were filthy with dirt, old wads of chewing gum and other grime. The breakfast had the standard OJ, apple juice dispensor and the several day old pastries which seems to be the norm in most discount motels. Next year I will make reservations earlier and stay at the Marriot. The extra cost will be worth a good night's sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Mar 22, 2011

Clean - Okay - Good for the price

Clean, responsive, no real problems.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good restuarants close by

Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Mar 22, 2011

Clean - Okay - Good for the price

Clean, responsive, no real problems.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good restuarants close by

Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Corbin, KY
Nov 23, 2010

Great price, great location

Staff was friendly. Rooms need work, but I was only there for two nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Louisville is a lovely place to walk. Lots of historic landmarks. Riverboats to see the Ohio river on.

Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Corbin, KY
Nov 23, 2010

Great price, great location

Staff was friendly. Rooms need work, but I was only there for two nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Louisville is a lovely place to walk. Lots of historic landmarks. Riverboats to see the Ohio river on.

Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indiana
Nov 18, 2010

Worst Stay Ever for Seasoned Traveler

Worst hotel stay ever, and I have stayed just about everywhere. Man in street clothes asking to help me to my room; apparently works for them, but creeped me out as a female travelling alone, and would not take no for an answer to help me even though I politely refused 3 times. Nonsmoking room reeked of smoke, was moved to a new room that was unclean (bathroom, sheets), could not use heater b/c would blow open curtains on street-level window so froze, unable to use sheets b/c they were dirty. Loud (use your imagination) neighbor had distinctive voice; while checking out, sounded eerily like the voice of the man behind the counter! Other neighbors running around screaming at all hours. Truly awful experience. I would not return to this econolodge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top