$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 12, 2015 Check-out: Aug 14, 2015

Econo Lodge Downtown

2 stars
View map of 401 South 2nd St., Louisville, KY 40202

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
49 reviews
First time stay

Yes it met our expectations. Papa John's pizza was great too. See full review

  • Nisha Sabharwal
  • Jul 17, 2015
Nice clean, quiet hotel

Very adequate hotel for the price. Super location. Room was very clean and great size. King bed was... See full review

  • Red RS.
  • Jun 16, 2015

The Econo Lodge Downtown offers business and leisure travelers affordable accommodations in the heart of downtown Louisville. The hotel is located within walking distance of the Kentucky International Convention Center and the Fourth Street Live entertainment and retail district. Clean, nicely appointed guest rooms feature essential amenities, including free high-speed Internet access, refrigerator, and microwave. The hotel also provides a complimentary continental breakfast and a fitness center.

Rooms

The Econo Lodge's clean, comfortable rooms feature quality furnishings, free Internet access, work desk and chair, cable television, coffeemaker, microwave, refrigerator, and iron with ironing board.

Property features

For travelers on a budget, the Econo Lodge is an ideal location in the heart of exciting downtown Louisville. Papa John's Cardinal Stadium, the Louisville Zoo, Louisville Slugger Museum, Six Flags Kentucky Kingdom theme park, and the Louisville International Airport are all just minutes away.

 

Guests enjoy a free continental breakfast served each morning in the dining room in the lobby area, including fresh fruit, baked goods, cereals, coffee, tea, and juice.

Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi high-speed Internet access
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Fitness center
  • Non-smoking rooms are available
Nearby attractions
  • Louisville Slugger Museum (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Papa John's Cardinal Stadium (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Louisville Zoo (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Six Flags Kentucky Kingdom (6.1 mi/9.8 km)
Business
  • In-room desk
  • Free Internet access
  • Faxing and copying services are available
Transportation
  • Louisville International Airport (7.7 mi/12.4 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Econo Lodge Downtown also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
In-Room Safe
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Fourth Street Live!: 0.2 mi
  • Kentucky International Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • KFC Yum! Center: 0.3 mi
  • Actors Theatre of Louisville: 0.3 mi
  • The Kentucky Center and Brown Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Louisville Science Center: 0.6 mi
  • Kentucky Museum of Art and Craft: 0.6 mi
  • Louisville Waterfront Park: 0.6 mi
  • Louisville Slugger Field: 0.6 mi
  • Louisville Slugger Museum & Factory: 0.7 mi
  • Frazier History Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Flame Run Glass Studio and Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Old Louisville: 1.4 mi
  • Museum of the American Printing House for the Blind: 2.1 mi
  • Cave Hill Cemetery: 2.2 mi
  • Fourth Street Live!: 0.2 mi
  • Kentucky International Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • KFC Yum! Center: 0.3 mi
  • Actors Theatre of Louisville: 0.3 mi
  • The Kentucky Center and Brown Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Louisville Science Center: 0.6 mi
  • Kentucky Museum of Art and Craft: 0.6 mi
  • Louisville Waterfront Park: 0.6 mi
  • Louisville Slugger Field: 0.6 mi
  • Louisville Slugger Museum & Factory: 0.7 mi
  • Frazier History Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Flame Run Glass Studio and Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Old Louisville: 1.4 mi
  • Museum of the American Printing House for the Blind: 2.1 mi
  • Cave Hill Cemetery: 2.2 mi
  • The Speed Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Cherokee Park: 2.7 mi
  • Historic Frankfort Avenue: 2.7 mi
  • Papa John's Cardinal Stadium: 3.2 mi
  • Kentucky Derby Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Churchill Downs: 3.6 mi
  • Farmington: 3.6 mi
  • Six Flags Kentucky Kingdom: 3.9 mi
  • Louisville Zoo: 3.9 mi
  • Kentucky Fair and Exposition Center: 4 mi
  • Freedom Hall: 4.2 mi
  • Louisville Mega Cavern: 4.4 mi
  • Iroquois Park: 6.7 mi
  • Waverly Hills Sanatorium: 9.7 mi
  • Bluegrass Indoor Karting: 11.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Econo Lodge Downtown

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
49 out of 49
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.6

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Augusta44
Business
Evansville, IN
Jun 19, 2013

DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL !!!

This hotel is frightening. We lost our entire investment because we refused to stay there. The paint is peeling off the building. All of the room doors open to the outside, and one door looked like it had been ripped off its hinges and propped up while another looked like it had had a gang tag blasted off it. . As we pulled up to the hotel, the police were making some sort of "bust" right in front of the hotel. We expressed our concerns to the staff. He simply said, "This is a prepaid room. "

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indiana
Nov 18, 2010

Worst Stay Ever for Seasoned Traveler

Worst hotel stay ever, and I have stayed just about everywhere. Man in street clothes asking to help me to my room; apparently works for them, but creeped me out as a female travelling alone, and would not take no for an answer to help me even though I politely refused 3 times. Nonsmoking room reeked of smoke, was moved to a new room that was unclean (bathroom, sheets), could not use heater b/c would blow open curtains on street-level window so froze, unable to use sheets b/c they were dirty. Loud (use your imagination) neighbor had distinctive voice; while checking out, sounded eerily like the voice of the man behind the counter! Other neighbors running around screaming at all hours. Truly awful experience. I would not return to this econolodge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
K.Rose
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Jun 19, 2014

Downtown Louisville concert

The picture did more justice then what the room looked like. The bath had a shower that was patched around it's perimeter because of decay. The wash basin was in the outer bedroom area. The baseboard moldings were patched and painted over without sanding. There were fly's buzzing around in the room when we checked in. We had to pay $5.00 for daily parking which was not stated before checking in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The BBC Cafe is excellent dining in downtown Louisville, KY.

Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Laura W.
Business
N/A
Apr 27, 2015

do NOT book here

I had booked two nights at this hotel 2 months in advance to when I needed it. When I arrived, they said that they did not have my name. I showed them my orbtiz confirmation e mail, they did not care. THEY DId NOTHING to help and were VERY rude. I had to spend the next 3 hours looking for a room . every other hotel tried to help me. I booked here so that I could walk to the start line of the marathon, instead I stayed 30 mins away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Laura W.
Business
N/A
Apr 27, 2015

do NOT book here

I had booked two nights at this hotel 2 months in advance to when I needed it. When I arrived, they said that they did not have my name. I showed them my orbtiz confirmation e mail, they did not care. THEY DId NOTHING to help and were VERY rude. I had to spend the next 3 hours looking for a room . every other hotel tried to help me. I booked here so that I could walk to the start line of the marathon, instead I stayed 30 mins away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Moe Finch
Business
Sikeston mo
Mar 29, 2014

Convention trip

I stayed during a convention so I am sure they charged extra the night I was there. Clean and close to downtown

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dissappointed in KY
Business
St Paul MN
Oct 10, 2011

Good location but........................

Stayed there Mon, Tue, Wed. for a convention. Not a nice part of town. Constantly pestered by minorities asking for a handout while walking to and from 4th Street. Little police presence. The room was OK for what I paid but certainly nothing special. Very weak WIFI signal. Unlike a real hotel with multiple walls, the single wall motel construction allowed traffic noise during the day and siren noise in all night. The room were very clean but the parking lot, sidewalks and stair cases were filthy with dirt, old wads of chewing gum and other grime. The breakfast had the standard OJ, apple juice dispensor and the several day old pastries which seems to be the norm in most discount motels. Next year I will make reservations earlier and stay at the Marriot. The extra cost will be worth a good night's sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mitches101
Business
Cincinnati
Apr 23, 2012

get what you pay for

This hotel is not that clean and the staff is not friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Convention Junkie
Business
Santa Ana, CA
Feb 1, 2013

Convention Center close

While the room was standard, the bathroom was old with a stick used to prop up the sink. The added bonus of having a balcony was offset by the fact that it faced a gas station and a moderately busy street. The location was a short 3 block walk to the convention center and social district. Parking was charged at $5 per vehicle per night. Good utilitarian accomodation for the business traveller but just not for the vacationer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Be sure to pack a hat for cold weather in winter as there are not many places to buy in the immediate area.

Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sick of Smelling Other People's Smoke
Business
Rapid City, SD
Jun 24, 2010

Smoking Room

I booked a non-smoking room [...] I was placed in a smoking room reeking of cigarette smoke. Econolodge was unwilling to change the room [...] They were polite but unaccomodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top