$79 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 11, 2014 Check-out: Aug 14, 2014

Econo Lodge Downtown

2 stars
401 South 2nd St., Louisville, KY 40202
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
56 reviews
Reasonable price!

The staff at this location are extremely friendly. We really enjoyed our stay. The location is what... See full review

  • Jeremyjay
  • Apr 29, 2014
smoking

Forgot there were still states with smoking. But it was nice See full review

  • jack juice
  • Dec 22, 2013
Good lodging for Louisville travelers on a budget

The Econo Lodge Downtown offers business and leisure travelers affordable accommodations in the heart of downtown Louisville. The hotel is located within walking distance of the Kentucky International Convention Center and the Fourth Street Live entertainment and retail district. Clean, nicely appointed guest rooms feature essential amenities, including free high-speed Internet access, refrigerator, and microwave. The hotel also provides a complimentary continental breakfast and a fitness center.

Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi high-speed Internet access
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Fitness center
  • Non-smoking rooms are available
Rooms

The Econo Lodge's clean, comfortable rooms feature quality furnishings, free Internet access, work desk and chair, cable television, coffeemaker, microwave, refrigerator, and iron with ironing board.

Features

For travelers on a budget, the Econo Lodge is an ideal location in the heart of exciting downtown Louisville. Papa John's Cardinal Stadium, the Louisville Zoo, Louisville Slugger Museum, Six Flags Kentucky Kingdom theme park, and the Louisville International Airport are all just minutes away.

 

Guests enjoy a free continental breakfast served each morning in the dining room in the lobby area, including fresh fruit, baked goods, cereals, coffee, tea, and juice.

Transportation
  • Louisville International Airport (7.7 mi/12.4 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Louisville Slugger Museum (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Papa John's Cardinal Stadium (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Louisville Zoo (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Six Flags Kentucky Kingdom (6.1 mi/9.8 km)
Business
  • In-room desk
  • Free Internet access
  • Faxing and copying services are available

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
In-Room Safe
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Iron

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Econo Lodge Downtown also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

38.2527 -85.7538
Nearby airports
Louisville Int'l Airport, (SDF), 8.20, MI, S;
Area description
City Center, Downtwn, I-65/71

Nearby points of interest

  • Fourth Street Live!: 0.2 mi
  • Kentucky International Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • KFC Yum! Center: 0.3 mi
  • Actors Theatre of Louisville: 0.3 mi
  • The Kentucky Center and Brown Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Louisville Science Center: 0.6 mi
  • Kentucky Museum of Art and Craft: 0.6 mi
  • Louisville Waterfront Park: 0.6 mi
  • Louisville Slugger Field: 0.6 mi
  • Louisville Slugger Museum & Factory: 0.7 mi
  • Frazier History Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Flame Run Glass Studio and Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Old Louisville: 1.4 mi
  • Museum of the American Printing House for the Blind: 2.1 mi
  • Cave Hill Cemetery: 2.2 mi
  • Fourth Street Live!: 0.2 mi
  • Kentucky International Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • KFC Yum! Center: 0.3 mi
  • Actors Theatre of Louisville: 0.3 mi
  • The Kentucky Center and Brown Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Louisville Science Center: 0.6 mi
  • Kentucky Museum of Art and Craft: 0.6 mi
  • Louisville Waterfront Park: 0.6 mi
  • Louisville Slugger Field: 0.6 mi
  • Louisville Slugger Museum & Factory: 0.7 mi
  • Frazier History Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Flame Run Glass Studio and Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Old Louisville: 1.4 mi
  • Museum of the American Printing House for the Blind: 2.1 mi
  • Cave Hill Cemetery: 2.2 mi
  • The Speed Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Cherokee Park: 2.7 mi
  • Historic Frankfort Avenue: 2.7 mi
  • Papa John's Cardinal Stadium: 3.2 mi
  • Kentucky Derby Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Churchill Downs: 3.6 mi
  • Farmington: 3.6 mi
  • Six Flags Kentucky Kingdom: 3.9 mi
  • Louisville Zoo: 3.9 mi
  • Kentucky Fair and Exposition Center: 4 mi
  • Louisville Mega Cavern: 4.4 mi
  • Iroquois Park: 6.7 mi
  • Waverly Hills Sanatorium: 9.7 mi
  • Bluegrass Indoor Karting: 11.6 mi
  • Freedom Hall: 228.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (56)

Ratings and reviews for Econo Lodge Downtown

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 56
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Katie on the road
Business
Newark, NJ
Dec 8, 2013

Super friendly

The staff were very very nice and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. Everything worked. My room was also nice and quiet. I got to use the treadmill in their fitness room. The hotel is within walking distance of many attractions, and if you're feeling lazy, there is a Papa John's right next door. If I go back, I'll definitely stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Starbucks in the Marriott across the street.

Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GDLD
Business
Evansville, IN
May 11, 2013

Great overnight for less!!

I'm not very picky when I travel for business. All I'm looking for is a clean bed and free wi-fi. This place had those things and an incredibly friendly staff! I just booked another stay at this very hotel for a pleasure trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Comnection Nightclub

Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
School Bus Ted
Business
Syracuse New York
Nov 5, 2009

Great Value

I was attending a conference at the Marriot next door. The Econolodge was $50 cheaper, had free parking ($23/day at the Marriot), free internet ($12.95/day at the Marriot), a simple free continental breakfast, coffee throughout the day, a comfortable bed, a decent shower and towels big enough to get dry, a fridge and microwave, as well as a usable desk. It appears to have been renovated in the last few years. I didn't use the exercise room but the equipment looked new and functional. Walk down a few blocks to the river and enjoy the River Walk. It is a great find for the frugal traveler.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is right in the middle of downtown. You are near everything. The convention center is one block away.

Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NA Mark
Pittsburgh, PA
Nov 11, 2013

Good inexpensive weekend trip

Walking distance (15 mins.) to Louiseville Bat Factory and Museum. Convenient lodging. Nice continental breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Papa Johns

Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Nebraska
May 14, 2011

my review

very clean and sufficient

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
central Kentucky
Dec 17, 2009

Really good location for downtown.

I have used this hotel numerous times on business and just family getaways! It is so convenient to downtown and getting back on the interstates to go anywhere you want to go. The prices are very reasonable and the service is great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You're right around the corner from 4th Street Live, and if you figure out the pedway system, all you have to do is walk across the street and enter the building to get anywhere you want to go!

Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Indianapolis, Indiana
Jul 7, 2010

Not a bad stay at all

Me and the fiancee used this trip just to get away for the 4th of July weekend. We were just 2 blocks away from 4th Street Live which was an awesome time! Room was clean and price wasn't bad for the location compared to other hotels around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
louisville ky
Jun 15, 2010

Good Stay

It was comfortable and convenient. The rooms were clean and we were in walking distance of everything we were going to do downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Indianapolis, Indiana
Jul 7, 2010

Not a bad stay at all

Me and the fiancee used this trip just to get away for the 4th of July weekend. We were just 2 blocks away from 4th Street Live which was an awesome time! Room was clean and price wasn't bad for the location compared to other hotels around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Louisville, KY
Jul 6, 2010

Good For The Econo-my

Me and my lady where just looking for a get-a-way in a nice cozy place that we didn't have to travel to state boarders for and the econo lodge was perfect it had the club a short walk away in case we felt the urge to party but couldn't hear a peep of it from inside the hotel.......the only thing missing was a remote bu for the service, price, coziness i'll get up every now and then to change the channel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top