$69 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 1, 2014

Econo Lodge Downtown

2 stars
401 South 2nd St., Louisville, KY 40202
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
40 reviews
I need a break!!

Late arrival was welcomed and late checkout request granted. Warm staff including the maid service.... See full review

  • GOT BALLS
  • Sep 23, 2014
Great location

Great location and close to the downtown. Great location for food and drinks and shopping and night... See full review

  • TheTrueSchmidty
  • Sep 5, 2014
Good lodging for Louisville travelers on a budget

The Econo Lodge Downtown offers business and leisure travelers affordable accommodations in the heart of downtown Louisville. The hotel is located within walking distance of the Kentucky International Convention Center and the Fourth Street Live entertainment and retail district. Clean, nicely appointed guest rooms feature essential amenities, including free high-speed Internet access, refrigerator, and microwave. The hotel also provides a complimentary continental breakfast and a fitness center.

Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi high-speed Internet access
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Fitness center
  • Non-smoking rooms are available
Rooms

The Econo Lodge's clean, comfortable rooms feature quality furnishings, free Internet access, work desk and chair, cable television, coffeemaker, microwave, refrigerator, and iron with ironing board.

Features

For travelers on a budget, the Econo Lodge is an ideal location in the heart of exciting downtown Louisville. Papa John's Cardinal Stadium, the Louisville Zoo, Louisville Slugger Museum, Six Flags Kentucky Kingdom theme park, and the Louisville International Airport are all just minutes away.

 

Guests enjoy a free continental breakfast served each morning in the dining room in the lobby area, including fresh fruit, baked goods, cereals, coffee, tea, and juice.

Transportation
  • Louisville International Airport (7.7 mi/12.4 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Louisville Slugger Museum (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Papa John's Cardinal Stadium (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Louisville Zoo (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Six Flags Kentucky Kingdom (6.1 mi/9.8 km)
Business
  • In-room desk
  • Free Internet access
  • Faxing and copying services are available

Hotel Map

38.2527 -85.7538
Nearby airports
Louisville Int'l Airport, (SDF), 8.20, MI, S;
Area description
City Center, Downtwn, I-65/71

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Econo Lodge Downtown also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
In-Room Safe
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Fourth Street Live!: 0.2 mi
  • Kentucky International Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • KFC Yum! Center: 0.3 mi
  • Actors Theatre of Louisville: 0.3 mi
  • The Kentucky Center and Brown Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Louisville Science Center: 0.6 mi
  • Kentucky Museum of Art and Craft: 0.6 mi
  • Louisville Waterfront Park: 0.6 mi
  • Louisville Slugger Field: 0.6 mi
  • Louisville Slugger Museum & Factory: 0.7 mi
  • Frazier History Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Flame Run Glass Studio and Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Old Louisville: 1.4 mi
  • Museum of the American Printing House for the Blind: 2.1 mi
  • Cave Hill Cemetery: 2.2 mi
  • Fourth Street Live!: 0.2 mi
  • Kentucky International Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • KFC Yum! Center: 0.3 mi
  • Actors Theatre of Louisville: 0.3 mi
  • The Kentucky Center and Brown Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Louisville Science Center: 0.6 mi
  • Kentucky Museum of Art and Craft: 0.6 mi
  • Louisville Waterfront Park: 0.6 mi
  • Louisville Slugger Field: 0.6 mi
  • Louisville Slugger Museum & Factory: 0.7 mi
  • Frazier History Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Flame Run Glass Studio and Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Old Louisville: 1.4 mi
  • Museum of the American Printing House for the Blind: 2.1 mi
  • Cave Hill Cemetery: 2.2 mi
  • The Speed Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Cherokee Park: 2.7 mi
  • Historic Frankfort Avenue: 2.7 mi
  • Papa John's Cardinal Stadium: 3.2 mi
  • Kentucky Derby Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Churchill Downs: 3.6 mi
  • Farmington: 3.6 mi
  • Six Flags Kentucky Kingdom: 3.9 mi
  • Louisville Zoo: 3.9 mi
  • Kentucky Fair and Exposition Center: 4 mi
  • Louisville Mega Cavern: 4.4 mi
  • Iroquois Park: 6.7 mi
  • Waverly Hills Sanatorium: 9.7 mi
  • Bluegrass Indoor Karting: 11.6 mi
  • Freedom Hall: 228.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (40)

Ratings and reviews for Econo Lodge Downtown

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
40 out of 40
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Nebraska
May 14, 2011

my review

very clean and sufficient

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GOT BALLS
Business
nyc
Sep 23, 2014

I need a break!!

Late arrival was welcomed and late checkout request granted. Warm staff including the maid service. Plan to return. Easy access to all attractions. CLEAN

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

DRINKS AT sTEEL bACH BAR

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TheTrueSchmidty
Business
Madison, WI
Sep 5, 2014

Great location

Great location and close to the downtown. Great location for food and drinks and shopping and night life!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TheTrueSchmidty
Business
Madison, WI
Sep 5, 2014

Good for the price

Great location to downtown. I received a smoking room which was disappointing but everything else was wonderful considering the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Great places to eat and drink real close by!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr. Selk
Business
Bowling Green
Aug 10, 2014

not bad. but could be better

My wife and I came to Louisville to see a concert at the Expo Five. The hotel was only about 15 minutes from the venue which was nice after a night of drinking and listening to music. We checked in to the hotel around 12:30am. The staff was helpful and friendly. They referred a local pizza place that delivered until 5am (Spinnelies). We booked a single king bed room. It was supposed to be non smoking, but of course we were stuck with a smoking room. The room had no refrigerator or microwave which was disappointing. I think the bed was the best part of the stay. Overall I felt it was a little overpriced, but it was in a convenient location which is a.plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to Forth Street Live

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
K.Rose
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Jun 19, 2014

Downtown Louisville concert

The picture did more justice then what the room looked like. The bath had a shower that was patched around it's perimeter because of decay. The wash basin was in the outer bedroom area. The baseboard moldings were patched and painted over without sanding. There were fly's buzzing around in the room when we checked in. We had to pay $5.00 for daily parking which was not stated before checking in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The BBC Cafe is excellent dining in downtown Louisville, KY.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jeremyjay
Business
Cincinnati,Ohio
Apr 29, 2014

Reasonable price!

The staff at this location are extremely friendly. We really enjoyed our stay. The location is what sold us as it is close to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

4th street live is a quick walk where you can find many dining and entertainment options.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Moe Finch
Business
Sikeston mo
Mar 29, 2014

Convention trip

I stayed during a convention so I am sure they charged extra the night I was there. Clean and close to downtown

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jack juice
Business
Indianapolis Indiana
Dec 22, 2013

smoking

Forgot there were still states with smoking. But it was nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Katie on the road
Business
Newark, NJ
Dec 8, 2013

Super friendly

The staff were very very nice and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. Everything worked. My room was also nice and quiet. I got to use the treadmill in their fitness room. The hotel is within walking distance of many attractions, and if you're feeling lazy, there is a Papa John's right next door. If I go back, I'll definitely stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Starbucks in the Marriott across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Slugger2
Business
Louisville, KY
Nov 16, 2013

Great Location for Low Price

Had to change rooms once because the outside door wouldn't lock when leaving the room and I didn't want to leave my stuff in there. But once I did that, all was fine. Appreciated the refrigerator and microwave but no conditioner for my hair. Did charge $5 for parking despite the ad that said free parking but that was OK. Didn't expect much for the price - the location was the main draw - and it worked out well. Hard to get a safe, cheap hotel/motel downtown and all the things I wanted to do were within a few miles of this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top