$58 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 17, 2015 Check-out: Jan 18, 2015

Days Inn Louisville Central University & Expo Center

2 stars
1620 Arthur St, Louisville, KY 40208
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
60 reviews
forecastle music festival getaway

Free wifi everywhere and breakfast every morning. Easy access on and off the interstate. Walking... See full review

  • forecastle traveler
  • Jul 24, 2014
very relaxing experiance

This was a very nice experiance it was located in the heart of everything and I'm sure to be back... See full review

  • cincyjojo
  • Mar 2, 2012
A smart place to stay when visiting the University of Louisville

The Days Inn Central is conveniently located off Interstate 65, in the heart of historic old Louisville. This recently renovated economy hotel is minutes from the University of Louisville and near major downtown attractions. Guest rooms feature free Internet service, cable television with HBO, and a daily newspaper. A complimentary continental breakfast is served in the lobby area every morning. Pets welcome (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Free Daybreak breakfast
  • Free high-speed Internet access
  • Business center and meeting facilities
  • Outdoor pool (seasonal)
  • Pets welcome ($25 USD daily fee)
Rooms

The Days Inn offers clean, affordable guest rooms with either one king or two double beds. Amenities include free Wi-Fi Internet access, cable television with HBO, coffeemaker, AM/FM alarm clock radio. Refrigerators and microwaves are available ($10 USD fee).

Features

Start each morning at the Days Inn with a complimentary continental breakfast featuring fresh fruit, baked goods, cereals, coffee, tea, and juices.

 

Guests can relax at the outdoor pool, which features sundecks with chaise lounges, chairs, and tables with umbrellas.

Transportation
  • Louisville International Airport (3 mi/4.8 km)
Nearby attractions
  • University of Louisville (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Kentucky Fair and Expo Center (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Churchill Downs (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Louisville Slugger Museum (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Muhammad Ali Center (3 mi/4.8 km)
Business
  • In-room desk
  • Free Internet access
  • Business center
  • Meeting and banquet facilities accommodate up to 290 people

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Days Inn Louisville Central University & Expo Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • The Speed Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Old Louisville: 0.8 mi
  • Papa John's Cardinal Stadium: 1.3 mi
  • Farmington: 1.6 mi
  • Kentucky Derby Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Churchill Downs: 1.7 mi
  • Six Flags Kentucky Kingdom: 1.9 mi
  • Kentucky Fair and Exposition Center: 2 mi
  • Fourth Street Live!: 2.1 mi
  • Kentucky International Convention Center: 2.3 mi
  • KFC Yum! Center: 2.3 mi
  • Actors Theatre of Louisville: 2.3 mi
  • Louisville Slugger Field: 2.4 mi
  • Louisville Science Center: 2.5 mi
  • Louisville Zoo: 2.5 mi
  • The Speed Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Old Louisville: 0.8 mi
  • Papa John's Cardinal Stadium: 1.3 mi
  • Farmington: 1.6 mi
  • Kentucky Derby Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Churchill Downs: 1.7 mi
  • Six Flags Kentucky Kingdom: 1.9 mi
  • Kentucky Fair and Exposition Center: 2 mi
  • Fourth Street Live!: 2.1 mi
  • Kentucky International Convention Center: 2.3 mi
  • KFC Yum! Center: 2.3 mi
  • Actors Theatre of Louisville: 2.3 mi
  • Louisville Slugger Field: 2.4 mi
  • Louisville Science Center: 2.5 mi
  • Louisville Zoo: 2.5 mi
  • Louisville Slugger Museum & Factory: 2.5 mi
  • Kentucky Museum of Art and Craft: 2.5 mi
  • Louisville Waterfront Park: 2.5 mi
  • The Kentucky Center and Brown Theatre: 2.5 mi
  • Frazier History Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Cave Hill Cemetery: 2.5 mi
  • Cherokee Park: 2.6 mi
  • Flame Run Glass Studio and Gallery: 2.6 mi
  • Louisville Mega Cavern: 3 mi
  • Museum of the American Printing House for the Blind: 3.1 mi
  • Historic Frankfort Avenue: 3.4 mi
  • Iroquois Park: 4.8 mi
  • Waverly Hills Sanatorium: 8 mi
  • Bluegrass Indoor Karting: 11 mi
  • Freedom Hall: 227.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (60)

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Louisville Central University & Expo Center

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
60 out of 60
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.3
Value:
3.1

50% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Louisville Central University & Expo Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sassy911
Business
Milwaukee, WI, USA
Oct 24, 2011

Ghetto Ghetto

The rooms look nothing like the pictures.. The housekeepers wore regular clothes.. the towels were scratchy, its right near the expressway, and loud. I will never stay there again......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Louisville Central University & Expo Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hotel King
Business
Saint Louis
Feb 27, 2012

Louisville KY

I told myself that Id never stay here again. Im a fool and looked at the price and it changed my mind. Dear God please help me learn that some things are worth the money. This one is STILL dirty, the people are rude, and the bed was new in 1962.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Louisville Central University & Expo Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
A and C 2
Business
MacArthur, WV
Jul 2, 2012

Not great

The hotel was easy to get to, but was a lot older than the pictures of it made it appear. The room was small and musty smelling. There wasn't a microwave or refrigerator in the room and the coffee pot didn't work. The air conditioner was loud and you either froze or were too hot. The area was loud. There was always noise coming from the parking lot and around the room at all hours. I will not be staying at this hotel again and would not recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There are plenty of stores in the near area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Louisville Central University & Expo Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
brp3
Business
Knoxville, TN
Sep 10, 2012

Biker rally at old hotel

Hotel booked biker rally and didn't mention it. After 2 nights of no sleep, I called to complain. Clerk asked didn't anyone tell you about rally? Hotel needs serious facelift. Paint peeling in bathroom. Old scarred furniture. Musty smell. Near U of L 100 yards from Interstate, bad part of town, busy convienience store and Harley dealer. Felt cheated. Due FULL refund!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Louisville Central University & Expo Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Econprof
Business
Arkansas
Mar 11, 2013

Beware!

I've never reviewed a hotel before and I generally consider myself to be fairly tolerant. However, this was the worst hotel I've ever stayed at. It's VERY old (the prototypical 1960s motel). Our heater was very loud---every time it kicked on, it woke us up. The next morning, the toilet overflowed. We arranged to get a new room the next day, but the light in the bathroom was out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Louisville Central University & Expo Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NATNOTHAPPY
Business
MICHIGAN
Jun 3, 2013

Worst EVER!!!!

I wish I could post pictures of how nasty this hotel is!!! I was expecting a nice clean place but instead I SAW PLASTER FALLING FROM THE CEILING IN THE BATHROOM, DIRTY TUB, BROKEN PLASTER COVERED UP BY CARPET, AND A BLOOD STAINED MATTRESS/BOX SPRING (ROOMM 106). MOVED FROM ONE ROOM TO ANOTHER BECAUSE THE TUB AND BATHROOM SINK WERE PLUGGING UP AND ANTS.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Louisville Central University & Expo Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rev Joan
Business
Cincinnati Ohio
Jun 26, 2013

Caution!!

The hotel sits immediately off the highway. It looks a bit dingy from the outside. The lobby was not too bad. We were initially given a third floor room - fortunately I went upstairs to check it out before bringing my bags up. A scummy elevator took me up to a fairly disgusting hallway. The key they gave me would not open the door. I went back to the desk and they moved us to a first floor room - at least we didn't need to get on the elevator again. At first glance the room was not too bad given the price. It was reasonably clean and comfortable and we had a fairly restful night. In the morning I got up, took a shower and got mostly dressed when my room mate got up. She went into the bathroom to use the toilet. When she flushed it Immediately flowed over. She tried to contain it with towels but it ran hard and fast. We called the desk. The person at the desk said she was the only staff person there and could not help us. The water continued to run fast into the room. We literally threw on clothes, grabbed our belongings and got out as fast as we could, the water continuing to run quickly into the room. We suggested that the desk clerk might want to comp the room. She said she could not do that since you had sold us the tickets. So we left. How would you rate a place like that?? Rev Joan Kahn-Schneider

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Louisville Central University & Expo Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
joczie
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Jul 15, 2013

Do not stay here if you want to sleep

The general experience was pretty terrible. There was a security guard stationed outside the hotel but it took quite a while for him to shut down the insanely loud motorcycle revving that went on for quite a while in the middle of the night. This happened both nights I stayed. The room wasn't horrible but the chairs were both stained and paint was peeling off the wall in the bathroom. The highlight was the breakfast. The biscuits and gravy were actually pretty tasty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Louisville Central University & Expo Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bartmanbch
Business
Tennessee
Jul 29, 2013

Not the best experience I have had.

Outside of hotel stank of Urine. Key card didnt want to work on the door took several tries just to get into room. Didnt feel secure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Louisville Central University & Expo Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MommaB83
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jun 2, 2014

Dirty, but Memorable

I didn't expect much, but had I expected creepy, this hotel would have exceeded my expectations! Check-in was easy, staff was nice enough, though I didn't interact with them more than a minute. They forgot to include shampoo, etc in the room (and I know they provide it since friends in the other room had some), the floor was sticky and so I had to wear shoes, the comforter and blanket looked unwashed (I only slept with the sheets so had to turn off the air so as not to freeze and then the room was stuffy - the least of two evils in my opinion), bedding had cigarette burns, the non-smoking room smelled like stale smoke, there was an old condom wrapper left in the room, and curly hairs on the toilet and a couple of the towels (draw your own conclusions). The parking lot had old syringes, roaches scattered in the litter when walking outside, and groups of bikers were loud until the wee hours of the morning. Overall, we just laughed at how awful it was, but I would never stay there again and had I needed to say any longer than the night or had my kid with me I would have left right away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

A short drive away is the "NuLu" section of Louisville - a lot of shops and restaurants - great food and nightlife if that's your deal. The downtown sections wasn't as busy but afforded beautiful views of the bridges and river.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top