$79 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 27, 2014 Check-out: Dec 28, 2014

Capitol Plaza Topeka

3 stars
1717 Southwest Topeka Blvd, Topeka, KS 66612
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
15 reviews
Convenient and clean

Hotel is very conveniently located to the Kansas Expo Center, so I didn't have to worry about... See full review

  • ReinerMeg
  • Aug 4, 2014
So glad to laud these people

I had a few minor dramas, and the hotel manager and staff went way out of their way to save me from... See full review

  • bettif
  • Feb 4, 2013
Comfortable first-class accommodations in a welcoming full service open atrium hotel. The Capitol Plaza Topeka is conveniently located adjacent to the Kansas Expocentre and just a few blocks from Washburn University and the Kansas State Capital Building. Indoor pool sauna hot tub fitness center business center Falling Water Grille Waters Edge Lounge area shuttle complimentary parking.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Capitol Plaza Topeka also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Capitol Plaza Topeka Rooms

Executive
Executive King Non Smoking - Spacious business style guest room with king bed workdesk sofa sleeper refrigerator and microwave. Non smoking.
Standard
Double Guest Room Non Smoking - Our comfortable Double Guest Room has two double beds a work desk with free high speed internet connectivity. Non smoking.
Standard
Description not provided
Standard
King Guest Room Non Smoking - Our comfortable King Guest Room has a king bed a pull out sofa sleeper and a useful work desk with free high speed internet connectivity. Non Smoking.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
General
Air conditioned
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Poolside snackbar
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Gift shop
Copy service
News stand
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Dining

Waters Edge Lounge
Days of Operation- All days of the week Hours of operation - 2pm to 11pm Type of Food Served American Lounge and or Bar Description Join us for a wide variety of wines scotches vodkas and other cocktails. Enjoy a juicy burger a signature sandwich or a gr

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (15)

Ratings and reviews for Capitol Plaza Topeka

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 15
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Capitol Plaza Topeka

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ReinerMeg
Business
OKC, OK
Aug 4, 2014

Convenient and clean

Hotel is very conveniently located to the Kansas Expo Center, so I didn't have to worry about driving. Room was clean and staff was friendly. Very nice workout center that I wish I had been able to use more. It was nice having a bar in the lobby to unwind and the bartender was great. My only complaint was the restaurant. Understaffed and food was overpriced for the quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Plaza Topeka

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vkee
Business
Iowa
Dec 31, 2013

Heads up

We have stayed there before. This time we stayed 7 on the floor facing the back apparently we were over the exhaust vents from the kitchen. We were there over the holidays so most part kitchen was closed. Sunday when they cooked for the brunch all of the oders were in our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Plaza Topeka

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bettif
Business
New York, NY
Feb 4, 2013

So glad to laud these people

I had a few minor dramas, and the hotel manager and staff went way out of their way to save me from each situation. They are just kind and considerate, and the place is run beautifully. And the food is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

About a mile down 17th Street, past Washburn U. on the left is a little restaurant called Chez (somebody). The family is Mexican, the chef is Japanese, and the food is French with an elegant light touch . Absolutely first-rate. The best puff pastry I've ever seen... in Topeka Kansas!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Plaza Topeka

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Patti G
Business
Hawaii, USA
Nov 29, 2012

Nice hotel

This is our second trip to this hotel. I enjoyed having a sofa in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Plaza Topeka

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
doc kj
Business
windsor mo
May 15, 2012

graduation party

nice facility good sunday brunch go early fills up fast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

we had all family there so we didnt leave the room much but topeka has plenty to do

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Plaza Topeka

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
McPherson Kansas
Jan 27, 2010

Business Trip

Was not assigned the room per the reservation. King bed w/ internet and desk was reserved. Was assigned a double bed room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Plaza Topeka

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Winfield, KS
Oct 27, 2009

Good Value with nice accomodations

We attended a KU football game and felt the distance to Lawrence was convenient and the price was outstanding. We had[...] requested a non-smoking room, and Capital Plaza did not have any non-smoking rooms available with two double beds when we arrived. They offered us a King-size bed, but that was not acceptable as I was traveling with my daughter. They used an ozone machine to help with eliminating the smell, however, the adjoining rooms smoke eventually got to us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Plaza Topeka

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Studie
Business
Rochester
Oct 14, 2009

I would stay here again

I liked the rooms and the closeness to the expo center. The bed was heavenly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Plaza Topeka

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
topeka ks
Aug 25, 2009

Excellent hotel

have stayed here numerous times. love staying here. had a minor plumbing problem and it was fixed immediately. Awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capitol Plaza Topeka

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Topeka Tom Tom
Business
San Jose, CA
Jul 7, 2009

Perfect Smalltown Stayover in Kansas

Staff was friendly and helpful with directions. Overnight stay included a breakfast buffet. Pool and jacuzzi a plus. Rooms were super clean and modern. Decor and style made it cozy. Hotel close to the I-70 highway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If you want a quick stay over off I-70, the price you pay for the quality is unbeatable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top