$59 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 27, 2014 Check-out: Dec 30, 2014

Super 8 South Bend

2 stars
4124 Ameritech Drive, South Bend, IN 46628
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
38 reviews
Great Auto Enthusiast Location

Staff was great. Quiet, safe and convenient location. See full review

  • Redroadster
  • Jul 24, 2013
Honeymoon Trip

The room was very lovely and comfortable. I loved the pink (mauve) sheets! Something different... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Mar 3, 2009
The Super 8 South Bend, IN is conveniently located off of the Indiana Tollway I-80/90 at Exit 72. The property is located just 5 minutes from Notre Dame University. The Super 8 South Bend, IN sits just 5 minutes from Notre Dame University, St. Marys College, Century Center, East Race Waterway, South Bend Regional Museum of Art, and the Studebaker National Museum. Just minutes further you can find the Potawatomi Zoo and Stanley Coveleski Regional Baseball Stadium. The Super 8 South Bend, IN offers Free High Speed Internet, Heated Indoor Pool, Guest Laundry, Whirlpool Suites Available, Irons, Ironing Boards, Coffee Makers, Hairdryers, Am/FM Clock Radios, 25 inch TV with 4 HBO Channels, and our SuperStart Breakfast. Sorry No Pets Accepted

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Super 8 South Bend also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Joyce Center: 4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (38)

Ratings and reviews for Super 8 South Bend

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
38 out of 38
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.6

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Super 8 South Bend

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Billiam1970
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 23, 2012

Great Econo Hotel stay

I was in South Bend for a weekend and the Super 8 was in the perfect spot for me. Granted, for many it will be out of the way since it's a good bit outside of SB proper, but for my needs it was great. Staff was very nice and provided a 15% coupon for Applebees and easy directions to get there as well as other local spots. Room was very clean, bed more comfortable than most economy places, AC worked perfectly and the shower was good and hot. Sound from the hall was a bit pronounced but only when there were people being above average in their talking. Wasn't disturbing at night. Small indoor pool, two ice makers and a good breakfast in the morning added up to a great stay for the weekend. They could use an extra waffle maker at breakfast as it was very popular but that's a small gripe considering the nice set-up they provided. As economy hotels go, I would rank this one in the top tier.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 South Bend

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sd nd visitor
Business
california
Sep 9, 2014

nor really a great room

bug in bathroom crawling across the floor. When we checked in the receptionist was talking with the supervisor about another guest wanting a credit because there was a spider in his room....carpet not so good....walls have sloppy painting....just doesn't feel good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 South Bend

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wilmo21w
Business
south bend,in
Aug 13, 2014

super 8 motel

The staff is very friendly.The is hotel is clean this my 4th time staying here in 3years.Iwill return again next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

motocross races

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 South Bend

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Billiam1970
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 22, 2014

For simple lodging that was convenient...

It's a Super 8. If you go there expecting a mint on your pillow and buttery soft towels, you'll be disappointed. But for the money and location, I found it to be just right for my needs. Rooms were clean, breakfast was plentiful. Hotel was surprisingly quiet considering a large number of teenage softball players and dogs in town for a dog show.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 South Bend

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SB Alum
Business
Kalamazoo, MI
Jun 30, 2014

Not bad

Pretty much a case of "you get what you pay for." Room was clean but worn. Never saw a staff person behind the front desk - always had to ring the bell. Not a big deal, but didn't help overall impression. Bottom line - for $69 it was just fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 South Bend

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mini Traveler
Business
central indy
Jun 16, 2014

Weekend getaway

Breakfast was minimal. Staff was friendly. I felt safe at this location. Only complaint was the room price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 South Bend

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mini Traveler
Business
central indy
Jun 12, 2014

visitingfriends

Nothing really bad to say other than that the price was high for a hotel that needs to be updated and have more of a substantial breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 South Bend

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bernews
Business
Bermuda
Jun 5, 2014

Very good getaway area.

Very nice, the people there were very friendly and helpful at all times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

not far for dining and shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 South Bend

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Manny Hates Super 8
Business
Naperville, IL
Mar 10, 2014

Super 8 NOT Super At ALL

The first indication that this would not be a good experince was the snow that was not removed from the parking lot. Many businesses rely on snow plow contracts to do the removal but Super 8 had their whole parking lot covered. Upon checking in and entering Room 107, it was disgusting! White paint on the floor, drywall along the whole entire room where they trim woul dhave been. The bed box spring was stainedd and was visible. The bathroom was also very dirty, the sink was old and had cracks in it. The towels were not soft and nice. There was a chair and tube TV that lookedd like they were sitting in a warehouse before being put in this room. The chair was so disgusting that I placed a towel on it so as to not sit on the old raggged seat. I was very dissapointed and will NEVER stay at a Super 8 ever again and I will tell everyone I know about how bad and decrepid the state of these hotels has become!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 South Bend

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mrs. Brockie
Business
South Bend, IN
Feb 24, 2014

Not worth my money

My husband and I rented a suite with a whirlpool in it counting on a little R&R over the weekend. We got into our room and found hair all around the sink in the bathroom, and it looked like the room hadn't been cleaned in weeks. It was dusty, and there was dirt all along the floor from not being swept or vacuumed. When we went to fill the whirlpool, we noticed things floating in the water. Come to find out, it was large amounts of hair. When I spoke to the clerk at the front desk, she just said there was nothing they could do about that. She said if I wanted, she could give me cleaner so I could clean the tub out. Not AT ALL impressed, and quite frankly, I'm angry I wasted nearly $100. Will NOT be going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 South Bend

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
PTpitts
Business
Elwood, Indiana
Feb 9, 2014

Couldn't even find the place!

Map was at least 5 miles off, and the motel was "invisible" from the front street. No sign even to indicate it was back there. About 5 rooms were in use.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

19th Hole....great place to eat and drink!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top