$43 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 26, 2014 Check-out: Oct 29, 2014

Days Inn Portage

2 stars
6161 Melton Road, Portage, IN 46368
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
27 reviews
Very Good

Up to date room colors. Friendly and courteous staff. See full review

  • Cool Daniel
  • Dec 8, 2013
re: my stay in Portage

really liked the hotel. I also liked the p0ol and whirlpool as well...the price was very... See full review

  • Maui4042
  • Jul 23, 2014
The Days Inn Portage is conveniently located at I-94 at Exit #19 and I-80/90 Exit #23. Minutes from Indiana Dunes State Park 45 Minutes to Chicago, Illinois Spacious, comfortable rooms Interior corridors Free Daybreak Breakfast Free WiFi Large Truck Parking Area Expanded Cable TV including, CNN, ESPN, HBO, Fox News and much more Executive rooms available Large indoor pool and hot tub.

Hotel Map

41.5985 -87.1767
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Days Inn Portage also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Indoor pool
Jacuzzi
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
TV remote control
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (27)

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Portage

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
27 out of 27
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.4

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Portage

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
From MKE With Love
Business
Milwaukee
Aug 10, 2014

Good location

Odd layout, but overall an average experience. Room was fine, breakfast was fine. Hotel needs to be updated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Portage

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nikhad
Business
Portage indiana
Aug 3, 2014

Bad

Light above the bed almost fell on us while sleeping

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Portage

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ravenpac
Business
colorado
Jul 28, 2014

close to beach

popular place, overbooked but very accommodating staff....I gave it a 4 for the amenities because the spa and pool were large, indoors and very clean. They keep running out of coffee at breakfast which is the worst thing to do to travelers, and I should have changed it to a 3.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Denny's is next door and they know how to serve coffee.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Portage

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maui4042
Business
Leo, IN
Jul 23, 2014

re: my stay in Portage

really liked the hotel. I also liked the p0ol and whirlpool as well...the price was very reasonable...i would definitely come again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

a few restaurants you could walk to

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Portage

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kellys0384
Business
Indiana
Jul 23, 2014

Pleased

We stayed at the Days Inn in Portage for two nights. The beds were very comfortable and it was perfect for a quick weekend stay. The only negative was that the lights all seemed to be on a timer and would go out while you were in the shower. We had to wave our hands outside of the shower to get them to come back on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Portage

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jessica white
Business
Lake station
Jul 21, 2014

Good for the price

I booked a king room for one night. It had a mini fridge and a microwave in the room which was nice, it didn't list it in the amenities which was surprising. The pool and hot tub were very nice and kept warm. No towels in the pool area though. The bed was kinda too firm for me, but overall I thought it was very good for the price I paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Denny's is right next door and you get 15% off with your room key, or Quaker steak and lube for 10%, I went to both during my stay. Both had very friendly staff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Portage

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Angel1579
Business
Newport News, VA
Jul 7, 2014

Room Moist

Our room was moist when we checked in. We brought it up to the front desk hours later because we checked in and then went to visit family. The Front Desk associate was not accommodating at all. She sent the maintenance person to our room but continued to "argue" that the room is just cold. After all 3 maintenance people were in our room they discovered a leak that was certainly making the room moist. They changed our room but also made sure to tell us that they were sold out and they would not be able to rent the room we moved from.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Portage

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cool Daniel
Business
Portage, IN
Dec 8, 2013

Very Good

Up to date room colors. Friendly and courteous staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

30 minutes to Lighthouse Outlet Mall

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Portage

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
slpytravrlr
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Oct 6, 2013

convenient

Everything was great. I made the reservation 10 minutes prior to getting there & still had no complications (which I've encountered at several other, pricier places)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Portage

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
traveling the clouds
Business
columbia, missouri
May 30, 2013

great beach getaway

This hotel was a great for the price!. The location was perfect for us...close to the beach and highway. The pool was descent size. The hot tub was just that ...a hot tub with hot water, ((not a whirl pool or a jetted tub)). The staff was very friendly. I do feel I should mention that it is a 2 story hotel and there is no elevator. That didnt matter to us but it might for others. Overall, good hotel for a good price for us! Plus if you get the late night cravings, Denny"s is next door and you get %15 off with your room key!! And it is about 30 seconds from a place called NICKY"S GYROS that has the biggest , yummiest and cheapest gyros I"ve ever had! Its a hole in the wall but Im glad we tried it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

couple minute drive to the beach with free parking, @15- 20 minute drive to the Blue chips Casino in michigan city. And lots of yummy food is just a few miutes from hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top