$134 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

The Alexander

4 stars
333 South Delaware Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
32 reviews
Colts vs Ravens Game

This was a great place to stay. We walked to Lucas Oil Stadium for the football game. Plus there... See full review

  • Ravens Fan
  • Oct 7, 2014
High Design, High Quality

I am an architect and absolutely fell in love with this hotel! The overall design of the hotel and... See full review

  • mbryan44
  • Sep 17, 2014
The Alexander offers its guests an exciting take on hospitality by transforming guest rooms restaurants and event spaces into enthralling havens for commissioned works of art. Undeniably contemporary but always comfortable The Alexander is destined to become a premier destination for business professionals art lovers gourmands and other cultured clientele. Each one of our 157 guest rooms and 52 extended stay units focus on creating a relaxed environment for work or rest while enlivening the senses with pops of color and eye catching art. Guests will discover the same infectious energy in The Alexanders stylish and inviting restaurants which serve culinary works of art for breakfast lunch and dinner. Perfect for unforgettable celebrations and exceptional meetings every inch of the 16500 square feet of event space exudes elegance and creativity.

Hotel Map

39.7624 -86.1546
Nearby airports
Indianapolis International Airport, (IND), 13.00, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Alexander also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Alexander Rooms

Deluxe California King Room
One California King Bed 341 Square Feet City View Free Wi-Fi
Deluxe California King Accessibl
li One California King Bed li 341 Square Feet li City View li Free Wi-Fi
Deluxe Queen/Queen Accessible
li One California King Bed li 375 Square Feet li City View li Free Wi-Fi
Deluxe Queen/Queen
Two Queen Beds 375 Square Feet City View Free Wi-Fi
King Corner Executive Room
li One California King Bed li 510 Square Feet li City View li Free Wi-Fi
One Bedroom California King Juni
li One California King Bed li 515 Square Feet li City View li Free Wi-Fi
One Bedroom Residence King Studi
li One California King Bed li 420 Square Feet li Full Kitchen li Free WiFi
Two Bedroom Residence King Suite
li Two California King Beds li 849 Square Feet li Full Kitchen li Free Wi-Fi
Two Bedroom Residence King Acces
li Two California King Beds li 849 Square Feet li Full Kitchen li Free Wi-Fi
One Bedroom Junior Suite Accessi
li One California King Bed li 515 Square Feet li City View li Free Wi-Fi
One Bedroom Residence King Acces
li One California King Bed li 420 Square Feet li Full Kitchen li Free Wi-Fi

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Jogging track
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Bankers Life Fieldhouse: 0.1 mi
  • Conseco Field House: 0.1 mi
  • Indiana Repetrory Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lucas Oil Stadium: 0.5 mi
  • Indiana Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • Indiana State Capitol: 0.6 mi
  • Victory Field: 0.7 mi
  • Indiana War Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • The Eiteljorg Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Indiana Historical Society: 0.8 mi
  • White River State Park: 0.9 mi
  • Indiana State Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Scottish Rite Cathedral: 1 mi
  • NCAA Hall of Champions: 1 mi
  • Indianapolis Art Center: 1 mi
  • Bankers Life Fieldhouse: 0.1 mi
  • Conseco Field House: 0.1 mi
  • Indiana Repetrory Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lucas Oil Stadium: 0.5 mi
  • Indiana Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • Indiana State Capitol: 0.6 mi
  • Victory Field: 0.7 mi
  • Indiana War Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • The Eiteljorg Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Indiana Historical Society: 0.8 mi
  • White River State Park: 0.9 mi
  • Indiana State Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Scottish Rite Cathedral: 1 mi
  • NCAA Hall of Champions: 1 mi
  • Indianapolis Art Center: 1 mi
  • Indianapolis Zoo: 1.2 mi
  • President Benjamin Harrison Home: 1.5 mi
  • Garfield Park Conservatory and Sunken Garden: 2.2 mi
  • Indiana Medical History Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Children's Museum of Indianapolis: 3.3 mi
  • Crown Hill Cemetary: 4.4 mi
  • Fairgrounds Coliseum: 4.6 mi
  • Indianaplis Museum of Art: 4.7 mi
  • Oldfields Lilly House and Gardens: 4.7 mi
  • Indianapolis Motor Speedway: 5 mi
  • Hinkle Fieldhouse: 5.6 mi
  • Central Canal: 5.6 mi
  • Holliday Park: 7.6 mi
  • Medal of Honor Memorial: 7.6 mi
  • Fort Harrison State Park: 9.6 mi
  • White River Gardens: 9.7 mi
  • Eagle Creek Park: 10.8 mi

Dining

MARKET
Our Market Dining approach will forever change the way you think about the typical banquet experience by forging a direct bond between you and our culinary team. A state of the art open kitchen puts you face to face with chefs preparing customized dishes
Cerulean
Cerulean through food at its best and at every level is about communication communion and joy while encouraging a modern sensibility that inspires is about communication communion and joy while encouraging a modern sensibility that inspires. Our missio
Platt99 Mixology Lounge
Designed by artist Jorge Pardo as a way to experience art from the inside out. The Plat 99 Mixology Lounge pulsates with vibrant colorful energy. Mixologists blend fresh local ingredients into irresistible concoctions at a striking three level bar while

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (32)

Ratings and reviews for The Alexander

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
32 out of 32
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Alexander

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PDX TTraveler
Business
PDX
Nov 10, 2014

Great Atmosphere

Hotel is beautiful, staff was on top of anything you asked. only downside is its on the outskirts of downtown but only a 10 min walk to the heart of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Take the horse drawn carriage ride around the city, it was great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Alexander

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
K. Reviewer
Business
Chicago
Oct 14, 2014

Definitely an experience more than just a hotel.

This hotel could be amazing. We had some issues with the wrong room (which was fixed) and a clogged sink (which was not.). So I can't give it 5 stars but it is a beautiful hotel, architecturally stunning with a gallery if artwork. It is definitely something to be seen! Indianapolis is an artsy place and this hotel is it's crown jewel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Alexander

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Madeira Lady
Business
ciancinnati, oh
Oct 13, 2014

Overnight stay with college roommate

I found the hotel art very interesting and enjoyable. My room was comfortable. However, there was only one robe and with two queen beds I would have expected two robes. I found sitting on the lounger in the room slightly uncomfortable while having conversation with my friend who sat in chair. If I rested my back against the wall, I felt I was too far away from my friend for comfortable conversation. Another chair would have been more conducive to our chatting..The view from the room and, in fact, from any window we saw was pretty unattactive. The restaurants looked interesting, but we only had small bites in Platt 99. The staff...from desk clerks to room stewards were very welcoming, helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Self parking and paying at meter saved us $5.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Alexander

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
At my own pace
Business
Tucson, Arizona
Oct 11, 2014

Great location for business or pleasure

I stayed at the Alexander Hotel when I was in Indianapolis for a business trip. It was so convenient that I could walk to both the company I was visiting and to downtown restaurants. It is also ideal if you are in town to see the Colts or Pacers play. The hotel is modern and well-staffed, although it wouldn't be considered sumptuous. A great touch was the free breakfast buffet that was ideal for me to catch a light breakfast before I left for the day. While I didn't eat at the Cerulean Restaurant on this visit, in the past I have had some wonderful dinners there. They offer a creative menu using fresh, local products and a great wine list. I especially recommend going there for lunch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Have lunch at the Cerulean Restaurant. Excellent quality food, creatively prepared at a very reasonable price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Alexander

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ravens Fan
Business
Monticello, Iowa
Oct 7, 2014

Colts vs Ravens Game

This was a great place to stay. We walked to Lucas Oil Stadium for the football game. Plus there are many places to get a bite to eat that is within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Alexander

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Christizdaanswr
Business
Northwest Indiana
Sep 22, 2014

Wedding hotel block

Was a great stay with a great bar and lobby but needs a sweet pool!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Alexander

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mbryan44
Business
St. Louis, Missouri
Sep 17, 2014

High Design, High Quality

I am an architect and absolutely fell in love with this hotel! The overall design of the hotel and outside amenities are flawless. If you are in any type of design field, you will appreciate all the attention to detail. We also appreciated the quality of service. We had booked a king size bed room. Upon arrival, we were given a room that had 2 full size beds. The front desk associate, personally came up to the initial room we were in, brought us new keys, and walked us to our new room, and even helped carry our belongings. Outstanding. We were overly impressed and will definitely be staying here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

The tailgate party on the plaza, outside the hotel, was fantastic!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Alexander

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BigTEL
Business
South Bend, IN
Sep 16, 2014

Great Indy Hotel

Went to the ND vs Purdue game at Lucas. Easy walk to the stadium. Bar at hotel is a winner. Great breakfast downstairs. For sure will stay there again for Indy 500 or any game at Lucas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Alexander

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Whitetastic10
Business
Evansville, Indiana
Sep 2, 2014

best new hotel in Indy

Love the decor. Amazing art and layout of the hotel. Plat 99 is the best hotel bar I've ever seen. Perfect location for Colts and Pacers games. We will be back again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Valet your car for $5 more because it has unlimited in and out privileges so you will save if you are going to take your car around the city

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Alexander

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
No Integrity
Business
Idaho
Jul 13, 2014

All Alone

We alerted the hotel of our late check-in. When we arrived, there were no signs re: parking or off-loading area - entrance to the hotel was not marked. We phoned the hotel from the street for directions re: parking and location of entrance. When we entered the lobby from the elevators moments later, no one was on duty and what turned out to be the registration desk looked more like a computer station for guests. We had to call the hotel again for someone to check us in. Great accommodations - but overshadowed by lack of service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top