$88 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 29, 2014 Check-out: Nov 30, 2014

Candlewood Suites INDIANAPOLIS DWTN MEDICAL DIST

2 stars
1152 N. White River Pkwy. W. Drive, Indianapolis, IN 46222
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
16 reviews
Great Hotel, Friendly Staff, Good Location

Although I had booked the hotel only hours before arrival, the staff was able to get a room ready... See full review

  • Britt9925
  • Jun 24, 2014
Sweet 16

My husband and I recently attended the regional basketball tournament in Indianapolis and decided... See full review

  • Drum corps runner
  • Apr 5, 2014
Downtown Indianapolis and IUPUI easily accessible from all-suite hotel

The all-suite, extended-stay Candlewood Suites in downtown Indianapolis (medical district) hotel provides a home away from home and is near Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis. Spacious living areas and thoughtful touches such as an on-site DVD lending library help create an informal, relaxed atmosphere. Complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. Several museums and other attractions are just a few miles away.

Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel
  • Concierge service
  • All-suite hotel

 

Rooms

All 142 guest suites -- each providing almost 900 square feet of space -- include a full kitchen with refrigerator, microwave, cookware and silverware. Other conveniences such as outdoor grills, coffee maker, dishwasher, stove and toaster provide added touches to help make the hotel feel like home. Suites feature DVD players in addition to cable television and in-room movies, and the hotel offers a DVD and CD lending library. Complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access is available in all suites.

Features

Located near corporate locations and downtown attractions, this Candlewood Suites hotel features the largest standard guest rooms in Indianapolis. Several medical facilities also are nearby. An on-site fitness center includes two treadmills, stationary bike, elliptical machine, weight machine, balance balls and yoga mat. For guests who prefer outdoor recreation, the White River Trail is within walking distance of the hotel. Housekeeping and dry cleaning services are available, as well as complimentary on-site self-laundry facilities. A small on-site convenience store stocks a variety of necessities for purchase. Contact the hotel regarding the free area shuttle (based on availability) and pet policy.

Transportation
  • Complimentary local-area shuttle (based on availability) 
  • Union Station (Indianapolis Amtrak) (3 mi./4.8 km)
  • Indianapolis International Airport (16 mi./25.7 km)
Attractions
  • Indianapolis Zoo (1.5 mi./2.4 km)
  • Eiteljorg Museum (2 mi./3.2 km)
  • Indiana Convention Center (3 mi./4.8 km)
  • The Children's Museum of Indianapolis (4 mi./6.4 km)
  • Indiana State Fairgrounds (6 mi./9.7 km)
  • Indianapolis Motor Speedway (6 mi./9.7 km)

 

Business
  • Free high-speed Wi-Fi
  • Business center
  • 1,000 feet of meeting space for up to 50 people

Hotel Map

39.7833 -86.1905
Nearby airports
Indianapolis International Airport, (IND), 12.00, MI, W;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Candlewood Suites INDIANAPOLIS DWTN MEDICAL DIST also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Tennis
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Kitchen
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Outlet adapters
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Indianapolis Zoo: 1.3 mi
  • NCAA Hall of Champions: 1.5 mi
  • Indiana Medical History Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Indiana State Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Indiana Historical Society: 1.6 mi
  • The Eiteljorg Museum: 1.6 mi
  • White River State Park: 1.6 mi
  • Victory Field: 1.7 mi
  • Scottish Rite Cathedral: 1.8 mi
  • Indiana State Capitol: 1.8 mi
  • Indiana Convention Center: 1.8 mi
  • Indiana War Memorial: 1.9 mi
  • President Benjamin Harrison Home: 1.9 mi
  • Indiana Repetrory Theatre: 1.9 mi
  • Lucas Oil Stadium: 2.1 mi
  • Indianapolis Zoo: 1.3 mi
  • NCAA Hall of Champions: 1.5 mi
  • Indiana Medical History Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Indiana State Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Indiana Historical Society: 1.6 mi
  • The Eiteljorg Museum: 1.6 mi
  • White River State Park: 1.6 mi
  • Victory Field: 1.7 mi
  • Scottish Rite Cathedral: 1.8 mi
  • Indiana State Capitol: 1.8 mi
  • Indiana Convention Center: 1.8 mi
  • Indiana War Memorial: 1.9 mi
  • President Benjamin Harrison Home: 1.9 mi
  • Indiana Repetrory Theatre: 1.9 mi
  • Lucas Oil Stadium: 2.1 mi
  • Conseco Field House: 2.3 mi
  • Bankers Life Fieldhouse: 2.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Indianapolis: 2.6 mi
  • Indianapolis Motor Speedway: 2.6 mi
  • Indianaplis Museum of Art: 2.9 mi
  • Oldfields Lilly House and Gardens: 3 mi
  • Crown Hill Cemetary: 3.1 mi
  • Indianapolis Art Center: 3.4 mi
  • Central Canal: 4.2 mi
  • Fairgrounds Coliseum: 4.2 mi
  • Hinkle Fieldhouse: 4.3 mi
  • Garfield Park Conservatory and Sunken Garden: 4.4 mi
  • Medal of Honor Memorial: 5.3 mi
  • Holliday Park: 6.4 mi
  • Eagle Creek Park: 8.4 mi
  • White River Gardens: 8.9 mi
  • Fort Harrison State Park: 10.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (16)

Ratings and reviews for Candlewood Suites INDIANAPOLIS DWTN MEDICAL DIST

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 16
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.4

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Candlewood Suites INDIANAPOLIS DWTN MEDICAL DIST

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Britt9925
Business
Canton, MI
Jun 24, 2014

Great Hotel, Friendly Staff, Good Location

Although I had booked the hotel only hours before arrival, the staff was able to get a room ready for me for early check-in. The room was very clean and larger than I expected. There is a workout room in the basement, however I prefer to run outside when the weather is nice. I asked one of the men working at the front desk about running areas, and he suggested a different path than my original plan which turned out to be a great route for a run. I was only there for one night but if I had to chose anywhere to stay for a longer period of time, this would definitely be the place. The hotel location was very convenient, just minutes from downtown. Would definitely recommend to anyone staying in the Indy area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites INDIANAPOLIS DWTN MEDICAL DIST

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Drum corps runner
Business
Niles, Michigan
Apr 5, 2014

Sweet 16

My husband and I recently attended the regional basketball tournament in Indianapolis and decided not to pay the excesses prices for a downtown hotel location. The staff was very accommodating in allowing us to check in prior to the regular check in time. The suite itself was very roomy,comfortable, and clean. Although about a mile from the venue, it was extremely easy to navigate from the hotel to a reasonably priced parking area in which we were able to grab a sandwich and a couple of beverages before the game. Navigating back to the hotel following the game from downtown was very easy. As we had a Saturday free from basketball, the proximity to major highways was a plus, and having a refrigerator in the room to house our meal leftovers was great!! Had the weather been a bit friendlier, walking to some of the area attractions wouldn't have been a problem. As we are avid runners, we were close enough to enjoy the BEAUTIFUL path along the zoo and canal district, Other cities should be so lucky to offer such a clean, safe, and interesting place to run!!! We are annual visitors to downtown Indianapolis every August for the city's hosting of DCI finals, staying either at the Omni or JW Marriott. Neither is as comfortable as our suite was!! Staying here was truly a pleasure!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites INDIANAPOLIS DWTN MEDICAL DIST

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Unnamed Royalty
Business
Chicago
Mar 8, 2013

Good, reliable fall back if other choices not available

Staff was very nice and attentive, though being an "extended stay" hotel meant the broken hair dryer required the maintenance staff to schedule a changeout rather than a staff member bring you a replacement within 10 minutes. Room prices were inflated because of the NAFA convention that was in-town, but were still acceptable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites INDIANAPOLIS DWTN MEDICAL DIST

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Its Eve
Business
NJ
Jan 12, 2013

Awesome extended stay for 1 night

This is an extended stay, which means no room service and frills but a practical room that's clean. Well I got a suite-like room that has a separate bedroom w/ tv (no door where the door goes though). The livingroom/kitchen was good sized w/ TV, island table where I can eat, and full kitchen w/ cookware, toaster, coffeemaker, fridge, dishwasher. Very clean including the bathroom. Closet with iron and board and also alot of extra storage space around. Pretty much 5/5. Also saves money on food because I cooked my own dinner. My ONLY gripe is with the internet which fluxes in speed and latency. A quick game or watching something w/ friends may be hard because of the lag. My cellphone was not able to connect to the wifi due to a weak signal but my laptop was. So you need to do more than check emails and light browsing, beware.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Saigon Restaurant at 4760 W 38th Street Indianapolis, IN 46254 Delicious Vietnamese food about a 10 minute drive from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites INDIANAPOLIS DWTN MEDICAL DIST

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Robert Josef
Business
Dallas, TX
Aug 14, 2012

Good value!

Good price, good service and good location. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Short drive to city circle shopping and dining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites INDIANAPOLIS DWTN MEDICAL DIST

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pl3ased Traveler
Business
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Aug 3, 2012

Great Hotel

I will definitely be going back to this hotel. It was perfect for a long term stay. It has all the comforts of home. I even did some grocery shopping and cooked some meals at my room. I also loved the fact that they have a complimentary laundry room; you just need to bring your own detergent! Overall, I'm very pleased with my stay. Couldn't have been any better!!! Two thumbs up!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you want to go to downtown, your best option is to take the complimentary hotel shuttle. It runs every hour until 9pm. You just need to let the driver know where to drop you, and when you are ready to go back to the hotel, give them a call and the shuttle will pick you up whenever you are in downtown. Definitely beats finding parking over there, which can be a real hassle.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites INDIANAPOLIS DWTN MEDICAL DIST

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati, Oh
Nov 7, 2010

Nice Room

The "room" (actually 4 rooms) was the size and layout of a large single bedroom apartment. Nicely furnished. Clean. Although the room was close to the elevator, it was very quiet. Very easy access to downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites INDIANAPOLIS DWTN MEDICAL DIST

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, OH
Sep 27, 2010

Awesome for the price

It was all great except that they advertise having a "full kitchen," so we had brought along stuff to bake that evening, only to find out that there are no ovens in any of the rooms. The regular home-sized kitchen fridge/freezer and microwaves were great! And the 2-range stove was pretty spiffy too. Even dish soap and a dishwasher with its detergent provided to clean up. And PLENTY of cupboard and drawer space everywhere. The power browned out once over our 2 days there, while we were watching TV and drawing very little power elsewhere in the suite, and it took a long while (5 minutes probably) for the satellite to make the TV workable again. Aside from that and the somewhat slummy neighborhood (that you wouldn't even know or notice unless you drove to the Kroger and Family Dollar nearby) it was amazing. It was DEFINITELY worth $85 a night! Especially with how friendly, personable, and helpful the staff was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Stop by Easley's Winery at College Ave and Ohio St just east of downtown (a 10-15 minute walk maybe) and try 7 wines of your choosing for only $2. All of their staff was very polite as well as informative. It was a great time. The area and the outside facade of the place look a bit run-down, but inside it is beautiful and VERY well-kept.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites INDIANAPOLIS DWTN MEDICAL DIST

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Bend,IN
Jul 20, 2010

Exellent place for the family.

The studio was provided with everithing necessary for a long stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Candlewood Suites INDIANAPOLIS DWTN MEDICAL DIST

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
indiana
May 8, 2010

Home away from Home!

Everything you can ask for in a hotel room, like being at home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top