$92 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 18, 2015 Check-out: Jan 20, 2015

The President Abraham Lincoln Hotel and Conference Center

4 stars
701 East Adam Street, Springfield, IL 62701
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
117 reviews
Fantastic Comfort!

We have always loved this hotel. Its downtown, close to anything you want to see in Springfield.... See full review

  • Joan who loves to travel
  • Feb 24, 2014
nice stay in downtown

We stayed on a Saturday night in October and had a nice stay. The room was clean the pool area was... See full review

  • brienb
  • Oct 7, 2014
Designed for the discerning guest at an affordable price. The President sets a new standard of personal service. and convenience in Illinois capital city. This 316-room hotel is rapidly building a reputation for service excellence among business and vacation travelers. The President Abraham Lincoln Hotel has the look and feel of a first class hotel...but without the high cost when you consider all of its services. The attentive staff will invite you in for a memorable experience. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure you will be able to relax, unwind at the President Abraham Lincoln Hotel.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The President Abraham Lincoln Hotel and Conference Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

The President Abraham Lincoln Hotel and Conference Center Rooms

Standard
The room offers 1 King or 2 Double Beds, air conditioning, alarm clock, bottled water for a fee, coffee maker/tea service, crib, individual climate control, internet, browser/web TV, iron and ironing board, pillows: down/feather/foam rollaway bed, bathroom amenities, hair dryer, room entertainment, cable channel: CNN, cable channel: ESPN, cable channel: HBO, cable/satellite TV, color TV, movies/videos, pay-per-view.
Club Level
The room offers 1 King or 2 Double Beds air conditioning, alarm clock, bottled water for a fee, coffee maker/tea service, crib, individual climate control, internet, browser/web TV, iron and ironing board, pillows: down/feather/foam rollaway bed, bathroom amenities, hair dryer, room entertainment, cable channel: CNN, cable channel: ESPN, cable channel: HBO, cable/satellite TV, color TV, movies/videos, pay-per-view.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Lindsay's Restaurant
American cuisine, lindsay's Gallery restaurant named after famed Springfield poet Vachel Lindsay. Serves breakfast, lunch and dinner.
The GLOBE Tavern
Casual pub atmosphere, open for lunch and dinner.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The city's most popular event facility. The President Abraham Lincoln Hotel and Conference Center offers prime meeting and convention space. The hotel's majestic Grand Ballroom, two stately executive boardrooms, nine flexible meeting rooms, and the Prairie Capital Convention Center provide attractive space that comfortably accommodates any size group. The Prairie Capital Convention Center is connected to the hotel by an underground walkway - with its 40,000 square feet of main-floor exhibit space and an additional 14 meeting rooms totaling 62,000 sq.ft.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (117)

Ratings and reviews for The President Abraham Lincoln Hotel and Conference Center

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 117
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The President Abraham Lincoln Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Flagon
Business
Chicago
Jun 23, 2014

No complimentary breakfast?

Had to pay for breakfast of any kind. I thought complimentary breakfasts were an industry standard. Room was somewhat clean. Shower curtain had a pretty huge booger on it from someone before me. Room smelled faintly of smoke even though was labeled a non-smoking room. Location was perfect, close to everything you want to see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The President Abraham Lincoln Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joan who loves to travel
Business
Mattoon, IL
Feb 24, 2014

Fantastic Comfort!

We have always loved this hotel. Its downtown, close to anything you want to see in Springfield. The comfort and cleanliness are supurb! I just wish we could have stayed longer and for a better reason to be there than why we were there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at Mangia's Steak, Seafood, Pasta...you won't regret it. The food is excellent and the prices won't blow the budget! Its only a short walk (2 blocks) across from the old Capitol.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The President Abraham Lincoln Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 20, 2011

Nice hotel

Nice hotel, clean rooms. There is a fee for parking though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The President Abraham Lincoln Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Auburn, Illinois
May 15, 2011

some good, some bad

The hotel itself was very nice. The room was spacious and very nice too. There was a party in the street right in fromt of the hotel and the road was closed. I had to figure out my own way thru the one way streets to finally get to a parking garage. You have to pay to park at the hotel...$.70 per hour and if you lose your ticket, its$ 25! The hotel had no breakfast and the pool area was closed for maintenance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Lincoln sites, good restaurants, bars, etc

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The President Abraham Lincoln Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Urbana, Illinois
Apr 30, 2011

Romantic get away!!

Our stay at the President Abraham Lincoln Hotel was absolutely perfect! The hotel staff was very polite and easy to talk to. We ordered room service and it arrived quickly and tasted amazing!! We will definitely recommend them to our friends and family. We hope to return soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The President Abraham Lincoln Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Taylorville, IL
Sep 30, 2010

Hot Sleepless Nights

We were in town for the Gary Allan concert. We'd requested one king size bed and ended up with what they called two "queen size" beds. They were NOT queen size as my boyfriend and I could barely fit on one of them. (We're NOT large people.) We get into the room after the concert and realize how hot and stuffy it was, so we turn down the air to about 65(my boyfriend likes it VERY cold when he sleeps)... we left for a bit to get a bite to eat, came back, and the room was just as hot, if not hotter as before! Since it was after midnight, we just dealt with it and went to bed with no covers. Of course, not much sleeping was accomplished due to the temperature of the room. I decided to watch tv since I couldn't sleep, which was a joke because they MIGHT have all of 15 channels... the hotel advertises cable, but I get more channels than that on my rabbit ears at home. So I finally get to sleep, only to be awakened at 4 am by a loud BOOM of some sort. It sounded like someone had set off dynamite in the next room. I couldn't get back to sleep after that. Also, we had to pay $7 to park at a hotel that we were staying at! I believe that for $100.89, PARKING should be included! On a good note, the staff was VERY friendly in checking us in and out. It seems like a nice hotel, but I feel it is overpriced for what you get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

It is literally RIGHT NEXT DOOR to the Prairie Capital Convention Center. You don't even have to cross a street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The President Abraham Lincoln Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, MO
Sep 27, 2010

A great getaway

We planned a getaway for our anniversary and had a wonderful time. The staff was friendly and helpful in finding all the Lincoln sites, which is why we picked Springfield. I loved staying at the hotel, though I am anxious to see what renovations will be made because I did think the room we stayed in was a little "dark". We are planning on going back next year to celebrate our anniversary and attend the Mother Road festival, which was a blast!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lindsay's in the hotel was great for breakfast and Bennigans across the street was excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The President Abraham Lincoln Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 19, 2010

Great Comfortable Room

We were very sad to leave our nice hotel room, lol! We missed visiting the pool and workout facilites, but the lobby was very spacious, welcoming and pretty. The location was great, in walking distance to all the restaurants, the Old Capital, and the bus to the Fairgrounds. Our friends were staying right across the street and we had a great view of their hotel from our window, lol!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're staying here to go to the State Fair, just take the Fairgrounds bus on 5th & Washington, right by the Old Capitol to and from. It was only a dollar (August 2010).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The President Abraham Lincoln Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bloomington, Illinois
Aug 14, 2010

Great downtown hotel

Booked hotel for stay after State Fair concert so did not spend much time in room. Other than room needing new carpet seemed clean and well maintained. Great location and parking right there for small charge per day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The President Abraham Lincoln Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Athens, OH
Aug 11, 2010

Great location, affordable price

The location is the best aspect of this hotel. It's in walking distance from most of the Lincoln and other historical sites and many restaurants. Parking is $7.00 a day and there's really no need to use your car. If you are a swimmer, this is the place for you. The pool is a nice size and temperature and it is open from 6:30 a.m. to 11:00 p.m. There's also a nice fitness center. The price is very reasonable even considering the parking and the fact that you need to buy breakfast. The breakfast buffet is good and reasonably priced and can easily suffice as brunch. If you're in Springfield for the historical sites, this is a great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many restaurants are within a short distance but many have limited hours, opening from 11-2 for lunch and then later, 5 or so, for dinner. Most restaurants are closed on Sunday. Saluto's about a block away is open on Sunday and is excellent and locally owned.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top