$101 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 23, 2015 Check-out: May 25, 2015

The President Abraham Lincoln Hotel and Conference Center

4 stars
View map of 701 East Adam Street, Springfield, IL 62701

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
121 reviews
Quick Business Visit

Enjoyed the view. Great room. Make sure to get a room on the HHONORS floor. Parking is close but a... See full review

  • mayur t.
  • Jan 24, 2015
Buisness

This hotel has made nice upgrades in the past few years. The beds are super comfortable and the... See full review

  • Maureen M.
  • Jan 12, 2015
Designed for the discerning guest at an affordable price. The President sets a new standard of personal service. and convenience in Illinois capital city. This 316-room hotel is rapidly building a reputation for service excellence among business and vacation travelers. The President Abraham Lincoln Hotel has the look and feel of a first class hotel...but without the high cost when you consider all of its services. The attentive staff will invite you in for a memorable experience. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure you will be able to relax, unwind at the President Abraham Lincoln Hotel.

Top hotels

The President Abraham Lincoln Hotel and Conference Center Rooms

Standard
The room offers 1 King or 2 Double Beds, air conditioning, alarm clock, bottled water for a fee, coffee maker/tea service, crib, individual climate control, internet, browser/web TV, iron and ironing board, pillows: down/feather/foam rollaway bed, bathroom amenities, hair dryer, room entertainment, cable channel: CNN, cable channel: ESPN, cable channel: HBO, cable/satellite TV, color TV, movies/videos, pay-per-view.
Club Level
The room offers 1 King or 2 Double Beds air conditioning, alarm clock, bottled water for a fee, coffee maker/tea service, crib, individual climate control, internet, browser/web TV, iron and ironing board, pillows: down/feather/foam rollaway bed, bathroom amenities, hair dryer, room entertainment, cable channel: CNN, cable channel: ESPN, cable channel: HBO, cable/satellite TV, color TV, movies/videos, pay-per-view.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Lindsay's Restaurant
American cuisine, lindsay's Gallery restaurant named after famed Springfield poet Vachel Lindsay. Serves breakfast, lunch and dinner.
The GLOBE Tavern
Casual pub atmosphere, open for lunch and dinner.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The city's most popular event facility. The President Abraham Lincoln Hotel and Conference Center offers prime meeting and convention space. The hotel's majestic Grand Ballroom, two stately executive boardrooms, nine flexible meeting rooms, and the Prairie Capital Convention Center provide attractive space that comfortably accommodates any size group. The Prairie Capital Convention Center is connected to the hotel by an underground walkway - with its 40,000 square feet of main-floor exhibit space and an additional 14 meeting rooms totaling 62,000 sq.ft.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for The President Abraham Lincoln Hotel and Conference Center

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
121 out of 121
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The President Abraham Lincoln Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Naperville, IL
May 8, 2009

Review of Abraham Lincoln Hotel and Conf

Disppointed with hotel. I assumed it was in the same category as the Hilton but it was clearly not. Almost 25 years old and never remodeled. Definately shows its age. Stains on drapes and carpets

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Definately see Lincoln house, Presidential museum, Lincoln Law office, and walking tour at night (organizied via Tinsleys Dry Goods store). All within a short walk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The President Abraham Lincoln Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Green Bay, WI
Apr 19, 2010

We left

Parking was a total pain. We were not allowed to offload our vehicles at the check in. Parking fee is an extra $7 per night or $8 for vallet. I asked if it was $8 per night and was told that he expected to be tipped. Room was not very nice with a tiny TV. Room was cold. When I tried to turn up the heat it just blew cold air. Called and was told that could maybee have heat in a hlf hour. We demanded our money back and left.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The President Abraham Lincoln Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappy, educated, business traveller
Business
Oswego, IL
Oct 21, 2010

Never coming back!!

Absolute worst cunstomer service skills I have ever seen. In fact, the staff is void of any customer service skills. Especially the cocktail waitress and female bartender in their lounge. The aging bellman could use a refresher course, as well. There was a myriad of tjings that went wrong from the moment I walked in...1.Unpleasant Bellman2.Unfriendly staff in bar. Horrendous. Here's a tip, when someone is sitting alone with an empty drink...do your job and ask if I need another.3.Outlet not working in bathroom4.No pay per view movies, despite a placard stating they have them5.Room service took an hour and ten minutes.6.Then, was told I couldn't charge to my room, despite an AMEX registered for incidentals.7.No hotel information materials in room.Read a review [...] before reserving room about the lack of customer service......I should have listened. Poor, poor, management of a so-called premier property. Joke. I would fire most of the staff and not rest on my laurels thinking I'm the only game in town. Next time, back to the Hilton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The President Abraham Lincoln Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Peoria, IL
Oct 22, 2009

Very Disapointed

I was expecting a very nice stay for my five day business trip in Springfield when I heard where I would be staying. This sadly, was not the case. I do not recommend anyone stay at this hotel, or believe the 3 star rating that is bestowed upon this establishment. The first thing I noticed every day when returning to my room is that it smelled of cheap men's cologne. This smell never went away during my week long stay. The toilet was dirty and had rings around it, and the seat was chipped. There was damage to the walls in the form of cracking. The bed was super hard and not in a firm good way. To accompany the rock hard bed there were 4 small travel sized lumpy pillows. The TV was very small, and all the furniture was very dated. There wasn't any fridge or microwave that I could locate at the hotel anywhere. The soda machines were always empty on each floor. The hotel staff was very snobby and unfriendly and appeared to have thought their hotel was much nicer than it really was. Parking was unsafe, unmonitored, and dimly lit. The only redeeming feature was the deceptively nice lobby which must have been recently redone. I asked to switch rooms after my first nights stay and got 4 more nights just like the first in a different room. Save your time and money, and go somewhere else. The location was also scary and I was approached several times by panhandlers, and asked for money. I felt very unsafe here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The President Abraham Lincoln Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati Ohio
Jun 17, 2009

Would not stay here again

The location is wonderful with the ability to walk to everything except the tomb. If you can afford more money stay across the street at the Hilton if not stay here but understand that everything will be an extra charge including the parking, etc. and the building will not be clean. It was quiet and again the location was nice. Staff was not very helpful on where to eat and we think it was because they wanted us to use the hotel food opportunities. We like to eat more at local unique food places so we stay away from chains and look for the more fun and memorable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a place called Tealicious and it is just wonderful. They only serve breakfast and lunch but the food is exceptional and the service even better. We loved it. The place called Suputo's is nice but costly... Try the walking within just a few blocks and you will enjoy it using the local's for food. The Museum was the BEST and the State Park people too were very friendly and helpful and do it for FREE. See Lincoln's house and old neighborhood but don't miss the Museum!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The President Abraham Lincoln Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Aug 20, 2009

ok, but not in need of a remodel

Good location, friendly staff, reasonable price. unfortunately the rooms are in need of a remodel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The President Abraham Lincoln Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sycamore, IL
Jul 5, 2009

Disappointing

A friend and I were in town to see the Lincoln sites, and as this hotel was within walking distance of many of them, it seemed like a great fit. However, there was no obvious place to park while unloading and checking in, and no mention was made of the fact that there would be a charge for parking. When we got to the front desk, there were only two people on duty, both of whom were attempting to resolve an issue with another guest. We waited a good five minutes before one of the clerks even acknowledged our existence to say that he'd be with us in a minute. When we got to our room, we found full-sized beds instead of doubles or queens. There were noticeable stains on the carpet and on the coverlets of both beds. The dresser had only three drawers, and there wasn't even a sheet of paper in the desk drawer to leave a note for the maids. The hotel has no concierge desk, and staff seemed insulted that anyone might ask for their assistance in booking reservations for museums, dinner, etc. I will not be staying at this hotel in future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The President Abraham Lincoln Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The White Sox's
Business
Chicago IL
Aug 16, 2009

JUST OKAY

Hotel was a great location for Lincoln sites not sure if I would stay there again it really needs updating, old carpets and beds very uncomfortable also they could use bigger T.V.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Historic sites very close

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The President Abraham Lincoln Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
gurnee mom
Business
Gurnee, IL
Jul 8, 2009

Old in good location

The building and lobby wsas nice but the rooms are old and in need of updating. Our room looked like my grandmother's nursing home but the kids thought it was fun to stay in an old fashioned hotel. The double beds are small but comfortable. The desk clerks were very rude and sarcastic but when we called for more towels and extra blankets, they were delivered very quickly but a very nice man. The pool was large and clean but no towels were provided.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy walk to the old and new capital buildings as well as The Abraham Lincoln Museum.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The President Abraham Lincoln Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
skoorb7
Business
Marion, Illinois
Jul 24, 2009

badly in need of cosmetic surgery

The Abraham Lincoln Library is a must see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sebastian's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top