$92 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 17, 2014 Check-out: Dec 18, 2014

The President Abraham Lincoln Hotel and Conference Center

4 stars
701 East Adam Street, Springfield, IL 62701
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
116 reviews
Fantastic Comfort!

We have always loved this hotel. Its downtown, close to anything you want to see in Springfield.... See full review

  • Joan who loves to travel
  • Feb 24, 2014
nice stay in downtown

We stayed on a Saturday night in October and had a nice stay. The room was clean the pool area was... See full review

  • brienb
  • Oct 7, 2014
Designed for the discerning guest at an affordable price. The President sets a new standard of personal service. and convenience in Illinois capital city. This 316-room hotel is rapidly building a reputation for service excellence among business and vacation travelers. The President Abraham Lincoln Hotel has the look and feel of a first class hotel...but without the high cost when you consider all of its services. The attentive staff will invite you in for a memorable experience. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure you will be able to relax, unwind at the President Abraham Lincoln Hotel.

Hotel Map

39.8006 -89.6464
Area served
Springfield.
Nearby airports
Abraham Lincoln Capital Airport (SPI)
Area description
Take Walnut Street to North Grand Avenue. Take a left on North Grand heading East. Follow to 7th Street and take a right heading South. Hotel is 2 miles on the left. Shuttle Service from Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The President Abraham Lincoln Hotel and Conference Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

The President Abraham Lincoln Hotel and Conference Center Rooms

Standard
The room offers 1 King or 2 Double Beds, air conditioning, alarm clock, bottled water for a fee, coffee maker/tea service, crib, individual climate control, internet, browser/web TV, iron and ironing board, pillows: down/feather/foam rollaway bed, bathroom amenities, hair dryer, room entertainment, cable channel: CNN, cable channel: ESPN, cable channel: HBO, cable/satellite TV, color TV, movies/videos, pay-per-view.
Club Level
The room offers 1 King or 2 Double Beds air conditioning, alarm clock, bottled water for a fee, coffee maker/tea service, crib, individual climate control, internet, browser/web TV, iron and ironing board, pillows: down/feather/foam rollaway bed, bathroom amenities, hair dryer, room entertainment, cable channel: CNN, cable channel: ESPN, cable channel: HBO, cable/satellite TV, color TV, movies/videos, pay-per-view.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Lindsay's Restaurant
American cuisine, lindsay's Gallery restaurant named after famed Springfield poet Vachel Lindsay. Serves breakfast, lunch and dinner.
The GLOBE Tavern
Casual pub atmosphere, open for lunch and dinner.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The city's most popular event facility. The President Abraham Lincoln Hotel and Conference Center offers prime meeting and convention space. The hotel's majestic Grand Ballroom, two stately executive boardrooms, nine flexible meeting rooms, and the Prairie Capital Convention Center provide attractive space that comfortably accommodates any size group. The Prairie Capital Convention Center is connected to the hotel by an underground walkway - with its 40,000 square feet of main-floor exhibit space and an additional 14 meeting rooms totaling 62,000 sq.ft.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (116)

Ratings and reviews for The President Abraham Lincoln Hotel and Conference Center

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
116 out of 116
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The President Abraham Lincoln Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
gurnee mom
Business
Gurnee, IL
Jul 8, 2009

Old in good location

The building and lobby wsas nice but the rooms are old and in need of updating. Our room looked like my grandmother's nursing home but the kids thought it was fun to stay in an old fashioned hotel. The double beds are small but comfortable. The desk clerks were very rude and sarcastic but when we called for more towels and extra blankets, they were delivered very quickly but a very nice man. The pool was large and clean but no towels were provided.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy walk to the old and new capital buildings as well as The Abraham Lincoln Museum.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The President Abraham Lincoln Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Peoria,IL
Jul 6, 2009

unbeatable location for the price

The room was clean & it was quiet. The staff was very very helpfull & Kind.We had a great view to see the fire works from our room. Everything was easy to get too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Recreation Attractions easy to get too

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The President Abraham Lincoln Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sycamore, IL
Jul 5, 2009

Disappointing

A friend and I were in town to see the Lincoln sites, and as this hotel was within walking distance of many of them, it seemed like a great fit. However, there was no obvious place to park while unloading and checking in, and no mention was made of the fact that there would be a charge for parking. When we got to the front desk, there were only two people on duty, both of whom were attempting to resolve an issue with another guest. We waited a good five minutes before one of the clerks even acknowledged our existence to say that he'd be with us in a minute. When we got to our room, we found full-sized beds instead of doubles or queens. There were noticeable stains on the carpet and on the coverlets of both beds. The dresser had only three drawers, and there wasn't even a sheet of paper in the desk drawer to leave a note for the maids. The hotel has no concierge desk, and staff seemed insulted that anyone might ask for their assistance in booking reservations for museums, dinner, etc. I will not be staying at this hotel in future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The President Abraham Lincoln Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SuperTravelers
Business
CHicago, IL
Jun 26, 2009

Very Good

This was a nice hotel in the heart of Springfield. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast buffet was reasonable with all the basic breakfast foods available. (did not eat other meals at hotel). Parking was convenient, though cost was extra; internet was $10 extra as well. I have nothing to complain about and will recommend this hotel to friends, family and associates alike.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The President Abraham Lincoln Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Weary Watchman
Business
Jackson, TN
Jun 21, 2009

Affordable and Nice!

Be ready for additional parking fees - $7 per day. Cordial staff. High class hotel. Beds not that comfy. Wireless internet only in lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Lincoln Museum and Lincoln Home

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The President Abraham Lincoln Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GRANDMA ROSE
Business
ROSCOE, IL
Jun 20, 2009

GREAT STAY

THE LOCATION IS IDEAL FOR VISITING THE SPRINGFIELD SITES. THE PARKING LOT IS TRICKY TO GET IN TO AND IT SEEMS EXPENSIVE. THE PARKING LOT IS NOT WELL SIGNED AS TO EXIT. EVERYONE HOWEVER WAS VERY HELPFUL. THE ROOM WAS GREAT, THE POOL OK BUT STRONG CHLORINE ODOR. HOT TUB REALLY HOT AND POOL REALLY WARM. I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS PROPERTY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

MOST SIGNS IF YOU CAN SEE THEM (SOME OBSCURED BY BRANCHES) ARE HELPFUL BUT NOT ALWAYS SURE WHICH ONE TO FOLLOW TO GET TO WHERE YOU WANT TO GO. I NOW UNDERESTAND THERE IS A TOUR BUS YOU CAN USE. I WISH I HAD KNOWN THAT BEFORE DRIVING ROUND AND ROUND.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The President Abraham Lincoln Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
So. St. Paul,MN
Jun 18, 2009

Good location, good price

It was a good location - near everything we wanted to see and do. The price was right. Restaurant was clean and good food. Bed and pillow covers were spotted and dirty. The room was humid ( don't think the AC was working correctly). Didn't like the fact that we had to pay to park at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The President Abraham Lincoln Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super marge
Business
OP
Jun 17, 2009

Location, Location, Location

I Attended a Covention Located Across the street at the Hilton. All my friends were jealous because I had told them about my convience, good Price, and good stay. thank You

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

also visting the Library and Land of Linclon aka History... after sessions and glad the town was still open at 5:00pm.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The President Abraham Lincoln Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati Ohio
Jun 17, 2009

Would not stay here again

The location is wonderful with the ability to walk to everything except the tomb. If you can afford more money stay across the street at the Hilton if not stay here but understand that everything will be an extra charge including the parking, etc. and the building will not be clean. It was quiet and again the location was nice. Staff was not very helpful on where to eat and we think it was because they wanted us to use the hotel food opportunities. We like to eat more at local unique food places so we stay away from chains and look for the more fun and memorable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a place called Tealicious and it is just wonderful. They only serve breakfast and lunch but the food is exceptional and the service even better. We loved it. The place called Suputo's is nice but costly... Try the walking within just a few blocks and you will enjoy it using the local's for food. The Museum was the BEST and the State Park people too were very friendly and helpful and do it for FREE. See Lincoln's house and old neighborhood but don't miss the Museum!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The President Abraham Lincoln Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gainesville, Fl
Jun 14, 2009

Convenient and quiet

Right downtown Springfield and walking distance to Abraham Lincoln Library and Museum as well as other historical places. We spent a lot of time in the library researching genealogy. Hotel was very clean and quiet at night. Parking was expensive although the garage was convenient. One complaint was a safety one - the bathrom tub was extremely slippery and we almost fell a couple times. Overall, we would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top