$101 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 19, 2014 Check-out: Aug 21, 2014

The President Abraham Lincoln Hotel and Conference Center

4 stars
701 East Adam Street, Springfield, IL 62701
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
213 reviews
Fantastic Comfort!

We have always loved this hotel. Its downtown, close to anything you want to see in Springfield.... See full review

  • Joan who loves to travel
  • Feb 24, 2014
Land of Lincoln

I was so pleased with the location of this Hotel. You can walk to everything Lincoln with the... See full review

  • Conniescso
  • May 24, 2014
Designed for the discerning guest at an affordable price. The President sets a new standard of personal service. and convenience in Illinois capital city. This 316-room hotel is rapidly building a reputation for service excellence among business and vacation travelers. The President Abraham Lincoln Hotel has the look and feel of a first class hotel...but without the high cost when you consider all of its services. The attentive staff will invite you in for a memorable experience. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure you will be able to relax, unwind at the President Abraham Lincoln Hotel.

The President Abraham Lincoln Hotel and Conference Center Rooms

Standard
The room offers 1 King or 2 Double Beds, air conditioning, alarm clock, bottled water for a fee, coffee maker/tea service, crib, individual climate control, internet, browser/web TV, iron and ironing board, pillows: down/feather/foam rollaway bed, bathroom amenities, hair dryer, room entertainment, cable channel: CNN, cable channel: ESPN, cable channel: HBO, cable/satellite TV, color TV, movies/videos, pay-per-view.
Club Level
The room offers 1 King or 2 Double Beds air conditioning, alarm clock, bottled water for a fee, coffee maker/tea service, crib, individual climate control, internet, browser/web TV, iron and ironing board, pillows: down/feather/foam rollaway bed, bathroom amenities, hair dryer, room entertainment, cable channel: CNN, cable channel: ESPN, cable channel: HBO, cable/satellite TV, color TV, movies/videos, pay-per-view.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The President Abraham Lincoln Hotel and Conference Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

39.8006 -89.6464
Area served
Springfield.
Nearby airports
Abraham Lincoln Capital Airport (SPI)
Area description
Take Walnut Street to North Grand Avenue. Take a left on North Grand heading East. Follow to 7th Street and take a right heading South. Hotel is 2 miles on the left. Shuttle Service from Airport.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The city's most popular event facility. The President Abraham Lincoln Hotel and Conference Center offers prime meeting and convention space. The hotel's majestic Grand Ballroom, two stately executive boardrooms, nine flexible meeting rooms, and the Prairie Capital Convention Center provide attractive space that comfortably accommodates any size group. The Prairie Capital Convention Center is connected to the hotel by an underground walkway - with its 40,000 square feet of main-floor exhibit space and an additional 14 meeting rooms totaling 62,000 sq.ft.

Dining

Lindsay's Restaurant
American cuisine, lindsay's Gallery restaurant named after famed Springfield poet Vachel Lindsay. Serves breakfast, lunch and dinner.
The GLOBE Tavern
Casual pub atmosphere, open for lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (213)

Ratings and reviews for The President Abraham Lincoln Hotel and Conference Center

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
213 out of 213
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The President Abraham Lincoln Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappy, educated, business traveller
Business
Oswego, IL
Oct 21, 2010

Never coming back!!

Absolute worst cunstomer service skills I have ever seen. In fact, the staff is void of any customer service skills. Especially the cocktail waitress and female bartender in their lounge. The aging bellman could use a refresher course, as well. There was a myriad of tjings that went wrong from the moment I walked in...1.Unpleasant Bellman2.Unfriendly staff in bar. Horrendous. Here's a tip, when someone is sitting alone with an empty drink...do your job and ask if I need another.3.Outlet not working in bathroom4.No pay per view movies, despite a placard stating they have them5.Room service took an hour and ten minutes.6.Then, was told I couldn't charge to my room, despite an AMEX registered for incidentals.7.No hotel information materials in room.Read a review [...] before reserving room about the lack of customer service......I should have listened. Poor, poor, management of a so-called premier property. Joke. I would fire most of the staff and not rest on my laurels thinking I'm the only game in town. Next time, back to the Hilton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The President Abraham Lincoln Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Taylorville, IL
Sep 30, 2010

Hot Sleepless Nights

We were in town for the Gary Allan concert. We'd requested one king size bed and ended up with what they called two "queen size" beds. They were NOT queen size as my boyfriend and I could barely fit on one of them. (We're NOT large people.) We get into the room after the concert and realize how hot and stuffy it was, so we turn down the air to about 65(my boyfriend likes it VERY cold when he sleeps)... we left for a bit to get a bite to eat, came back, and the room was just as hot, if not hotter as before! Since it was after midnight, we just dealt with it and went to bed with no covers. Of course, not much sleeping was accomplished due to the temperature of the room. I decided to watch tv since I couldn't sleep, which was a joke because they MIGHT have all of 15 channels... the hotel advertises cable, but I get more channels than that on my rabbit ears at home. So I finally get to sleep, only to be awakened at 4 am by a loud BOOM of some sort. It sounded like someone had set off dynamite in the next room. I couldn't get back to sleep after that. Also, we had to pay $7 to park at a hotel that we were staying at! I believe that for $100.89, PARKING should be included! On a good note, the staff was VERY friendly in checking us in and out. It seems like a nice hotel, but I feel it is overpriced for what you get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

It is literally RIGHT NEXT DOOR to the Prairie Capital Convention Center. You don't even have to cross a street.

Review of The President Abraham Lincoln Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Taylorville, IL
Sep 30, 2010

Hot Sleepless Nights

We were in town for the Gary Allan concert. We'd requested one king size bed and ended up with what they called two "queen size" beds. They were NOT queen size as my boyfriend and I could barely fit on one of them. (We're NOT large people.) We get into the room after the concert and realize how hot and stuffy it was, so we turn down the air to about 65(my boyfriend likes it VERY cold when he sleeps)... we left for a bit to get a bite to eat, came back, and the room was just as hot, if not hotter as before! Since it was after midnight, we just dealt with it and went to bed with no covers. Of course, not much sleeping was accomplished due to the temperature of the room. I decided to watch tv since I couldn't sleep, which was a joke because they MIGHT have all of 15 channels... the hotel advertises cable, but I get more channels than that on my rabbit ears at home. So I finally get to sleep, only to be awakened at 4 am by a loud BOOM of some sort. It sounded like someone had set off dynamite in the next room. I couldn't get back to sleep after that. Also, we had to pay $7 to park at a hotel that we were staying at! I believe that for $100.89, PARKING should be included! On a good note, the staff was VERY friendly in checking us in and out. It seems like a nice hotel, but I feel it is overpriced for what you get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

It is literally RIGHT NEXT DOOR to the Prairie Capital Convention Center. You don't even have to cross a street.

Review of The President Abraham Lincoln Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
St. Louis, MO
Sep 27, 2010

A great getaway

We planned a getaway for our anniversary and had a wonderful time. The staff was friendly and helpful in finding all the Lincoln sites, which is why we picked Springfield. I loved staying at the hotel, though I am anxious to see what renovations will be made because I did think the room we stayed in was a little "dark". We are planning on going back next year to celebrate our anniversary and attend the Mother Road festival, which was a blast!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lindsay's in the hotel was great for breakfast and Bennigans across the street was excellent.

Review of The President Abraham Lincoln Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
St. Louis, MO
Sep 27, 2010

A great getaway

We planned a getaway for our anniversary and had a wonderful time. The staff was friendly and helpful in finding all the Lincoln sites, which is why we picked Springfield. I loved staying at the hotel, though I am anxious to see what renovations will be made because I did think the room we stayed in was a little "dark". We are planning on going back next year to celebrate our anniversary and attend the Mother Road festival, which was a blast!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lindsay's in the hotel was great for breakfast and Bennigans across the street was excellent.

Review of The President Abraham Lincoln Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
WI
Aug 26, 2010

President Abraham Lincoln Hotel and Conf

Very nice stay. Great location for visiting Abraham Lincoln historical sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The President Abraham Lincoln Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
WI
Aug 26, 2010

President Abraham Lincoln Hotel and Conf

Very nice stay. Great location for visiting Abraham Lincoln historical sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The President Abraham Lincoln Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Aug 19, 2010

Great Comfortable Room

We were very sad to leave our nice hotel room, lol! We missed visiting the pool and workout facilites, but the lobby was very spacious, welcoming and pretty. The location was great, in walking distance to all the restaurants, the Old Capital, and the bus to the Fairgrounds. Our friends were staying right across the street and we had a great view of their hotel from our window, lol!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're staying here to go to the State Fair, just take the Fairgrounds bus on 5th & Washington, right by the Old Capitol to and from. It was only a dollar (August 2010).

Review of The President Abraham Lincoln Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
Aug 19, 2010

Excellent location

We loved the location of this hotel. It is within walking distance to the Abraham Lincoln Presidential Museum and the Lincoln historic home site. Staff is VERY friendly and kids enjoyed the indoor pool. But the rooms are in need of updating (they just seem a bit "tired" for a four-star hotel). They say this will be done in 2011. Parking in the garage is $7 for 24 hours--a good deal downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

If you can only do one thing in Springfield, the Abraham Lincoln Presidential Museum is a MUST! Even if you only have one to two hours, it is WELL WORTH a visit.

Review of The President Abraham Lincoln Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
k c smith
Long Grove, IL
Aug 19, 2010

Good value hotel

Convenient parking for additional charge. Was not pleased to find there were no "in and out" priviledges. Hotel undergoing renovation. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Good downtown location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top