Homestyle Inn and Suites

3 stars
500 N 1st Street, Springfield, IL 62702
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
10 reviews
state fair

the continental breakfast was average 2 stories no elevator the rooms were clean smelled like... See full review

  • samish
  • Aug 19, 2013
Nice clean Hotel

My 14 yr. old daughter arrived at 8:30 p.m. after a long drive and were pleased to find this nice... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 17, 2010
Homestyle Inn & Suites located offering a quiet warm friendly feeling upon arrival, along with friendly smiles welcome you to the Springfield area. 50 comfort rooms, including handicapped accessible and non smoking rooms with sattelite TV. 24hr Front desk, free breakfast, free parking, free local calls, internet access, outdoor pool and guest laundry.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Homestyle Inn and Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

Homestyle Inn and Suites Rooms

STANDARD - QUEEN
Standard Queen room - One Queen Bed
DOUBLE - ROOM
Double Room - 2 Queen Beds
KING - SUITE
King Suite- 1 King Bed and 1 sofa sleeper

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Services
Business center
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (10)

Ratings and reviews for Homestyle Inn and Suites

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 10
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
2.7
Room comfort:
2.3
Location:
3.5
Value:
2.8

40% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Homestyle Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Happy travelerl
Business
Aurora, IL
Oct 28, 2013

Pretty noisy at night

Because of the open lobby, stairwell, and parking lot design, this is not a hotel where you're going to get a good night's sleep. Guests entering the halls after 9:30 p.m. were noisy; everyone hears all the doors opening and closing. We stayed on the 2nd floor; friends stayed on the 1st floor; we both had the same complaint. Not much of a continental breakfast; bad coffee (not Seattle's Best, as advertised on the dispensers).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Saturday morning Farmers Market on Adams Street, breakfast at Cafe Moxo and lunch at the Holy Land Diner are always a pleasant surprise in Springfield.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Homestyle Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Road Warrior 2013
Business
Chicago suburbs
Oct 23, 2013

Work stop in Springfield

It was severely lacking but especially for te price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Homestyle Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
samish
Business
il.
Aug 19, 2013

state fair

the continental breakfast was average 2 stories no elevator the rooms were clean smelled like perfume close to capitol and fair

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Homestyle Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
State Fair Goers
Business
Hamilton, IL
Aug 12, 2013

Illinois State Fair goers

The location to the fair was within 15 mins, which is what we were looking for. When we walked into our room there was a distinct odor in the room, possibly an old smoking room. Both of the beds in the room squeaked just sitting down on them. The decor in the hotel was very outdated, in desperate need of a remodel. Also, a lack of outlets in the room for charging phones, tablets, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Homestyle Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wynnie Justice
Business
Cook County, IL
Mar 25, 2013

Springfield bargain

This hotel's location is close to legislative buildings and the Amtrak train station. The staff is extra helpful and breakfast is included... Good deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Homestyle Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
gatorcn365
Business
boston, ma
Dec 17, 2012

Terrible!!!

The worst stay I have ever had. I went to Springfield IL for a job interview. Chose this hotel just because it was close. The smell in the room was disgusting. I did not realize that the iron was dirty, and it ruined my nice shirt which I must wear in the next day. The frontdesk gave me a new iron, but refused to clean my shirt, pay the washing coins, or even apologize. “You guys made it dirty. I have no money to pay the washing fee for you”. The lady said. --- Please realize, it was my first time staying there, and will be the last. Please stay away from this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Homestyle Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kenosha, Wi
Apr 7, 2011

Close to the Capital

I was there on business. I've been to other hotel, motels in the area and it's about the same. It's an older motel and that's fine. I thought the room was fine, nothing special. It did have a fridge & microwave which is nice. I also thought the continental breakfast was good too. My only realy suggestion would be not to have staff folding laundry and sheets in the common area where people sit on the those couches and eat just a few feet away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Much closes down in downtown Springfield after 5pm. But the Maya restaurant serves great Mexican food just a few blocks over on Jefferson and there is a good Thai place, Magic Kitchen on Lewis, a few blocks down close to the Capital.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Homestyle Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
springfield IL
Aug 22, 2010

MY trip was terrible

I did not get the room that was supposed to be guaranteed. I am not bappy with [...] at all. I paid 77 dollars for a single that was not what I booked for. Very disappointed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Homestyle Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago
Aug 17, 2010

Nice clean Hotel

My 14 yr. old daughter arrived at 8:30 p.m. after a long drive and were pleased to find this nice clean quiet place to rest for the night. The only problem was when I booked the room I paid for a room with a king size bed and they would only give me a queen that seemed more like a full size bed. I even said that I booked a king. It was comfy, but not big enough for my daughter and I to share. If the bed was a king(that is what I paid for) we would have had a perfect experiance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Illinois State Fair

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Homestyle Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West Frankfort, IL
Jul 28, 2010

Bad Choice!

Stayed here because of the location being right next to the MD office me and my husband had to go to the next morning. I booked a smoking room and late-check in. We arrived after 11pm and was given a non-smoking room. They agreed to change us, but the room they gave us was filthy! The wallpaper was torn on the walls. There were cigarette burns EVERYWHERE. The entire room stunk bad. The light switch was just hanging there, and the smoke detector was gone with just wires hanging from the ceiling. The tub was black. There were dead cockroaches all over the floor and bugs even in the bed! We finally we're given "a cleaner" room about 12:45pm. This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in! GO SOMEWHERE ELSE!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top