$75 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 2, 2014 Check-out: Oct 5, 2014

BEST WESTERN Clearlake Plaza

3 stars
3440 E Clearlake Avenue, Springfield, IL 62702-6210
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
14 reviews
Clean, comfy and friendly

We stayed the night while visiting Abraham Lincoln's Home and Tomb. Nice city and the hotel was... See full review

  • Abird
  • Jul 13, 2014
Great

Rooms were clean, Hotel Staff were very couteous and the breakfast was awesome, would stay there again See full review

  • Pickles13
  • Jun 10, 2013
Experience the wonders of Springfield, IL - the home of Abraham Lincoln - in its most comfortable form at this relaxing, pet-friendly hotel. Located just two miles from historic downtown Springfield, IL, BEST WESTERN Clearlake Plaza is the perfect place to stay to visit the area's many sites dedicated to Abraham Lincoln. Historians and casual visitors alike can visit the Lincoln Home National Historic Site, the Lincoln-Herndon Law Offices Historic Site, the Lincoln Tomb State Historic Site and the Arbraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum. Guests travelling to Springfield for business at the Praine Convention Center or the Illinois State Fairgrounds, or those visiting nearby Springfield University, Lincoln Land College or Saint John's Hospital, can also find a range of attractions without traveling far. Nearby Knight Action Amusement Park and Robinson Zoo are popular attractions, while the Bergen Park Golf Course and White Oaks Mall are wonderful for the simple pleasures of relaxation. After a day of sightseeing or working, nothing is more welcoming than a comfortable bed and a room with generous ammenities - and the BEST WESTERN Clearlake Plaza doesn't disappoint. Each charming room comes standard with cable satellite television, high-speed Internet access, a private desk and a coffeemaker - and each guest has access to our well-equipped exercise facility, indoor pool and complimentary continental breakfast serving coffee, juice, bread and sweet rolls daily. Ready for relaxation, an unbeatable value and a memorable stay? Make a reservation at the BEST WESTERN Clearlake Plaza in Springfield, IL, today and save!

Hotel Map

39.8018 -89.6028
Area served
New Salem, Mattoon, Litchfield, Decature, Petersburg, Clayville
Nearby airports
(ORD), 200.00, MI, N;
Area description
Expressway

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN Clearlake Plaza also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

BEST WESTERN Clearlake Plaza Rooms

1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NOSMOKE,HI SPEED NET,COFFEMAKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NOSMOKE,HI SPEED NET,COFFEMAKR,HAIR,IRON,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NO SMOKING,HI SPEED NET,MICROWAVE,REFRIG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 ROOMS 3 BEDS
SUITE-2 ROOMS 3 BEDS,NSMK,3 QN BEDS,SOFABED,MICRFG,LIVNG AREA,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Exercise gym
Golf
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
24 hour front desk
Express checkout
Security
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Ironing board

Dining

McDonald's®
0.05 mile(s) from McDonald's®, fast food, American, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner,
Chesapeake Restaurant
0.05 mile(s) from Chesapeake Restaurant, full service, Steak House, open for: lunch, dinner, Steaks & seafood
Mario's Italian Restaurant
0.05 mile(s) from Mario's Italian Restaurant, full service, Italian, open for: lunch, dinner,
Sebastian's
3.00 mile(s) from Sebastian's, full service, Italian, open for: lunch, dinner,
Subway®
0.25 mile(s) from Subway®, fast food, American, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner,

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (14)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN Clearlake Plaza

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
14 out of 14
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.5

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN Clearlake Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Abird
Madison,Wi
Jul 13, 2014

Clean, comfy and friendly

We stayed the night while visiting Abraham Lincoln's Home and Tomb. Nice city and the hotel was just outside so it wasn't as pricey. I would stay again. Nice King room, clean and decent breakfast to start us off in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Clearlake Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Grandpa Fuzzy
Alsip, Il
May 1, 2014

This is the 5th or 6th Best Western we have stayed in on this road trip and all were great

This was another really good experience at a Best Western Hotel. The value was also great for the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Clearlake Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FAMILY TIRED
Business
Springfield Illinois
Mar 6, 2014

Average Place for Sleep

The hotel was in a good location for the place I had to be at in the morning. The noise from the guest above was extremely loud. Sounded like kids running through a house. You could hear every step they took.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Clearlake Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nickel333
Illinois
Jul 10, 2013

Decent 1 Night Stay

Located right off of the highway so the location was great. Overall a decent experience but the breakfast could use some help. When we arrived to eat in the morning, most of the things were gone, including plates. We asked them to refill and they did so it wasn't too bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Clearlake Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pickles13
Iowa
Jun 10, 2013

Great

Rooms were clean, Hotel Staff were very couteous and the breakfast was awesome, would stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

O Charleys I55S Springfield

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Clearlake Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
STL Tourists 2013
St. Louis, MO
May 23, 2013

Quiet, clean, friendly, but nothing fancy

The staff was very friendly. The free wireless internet only worked well in the hallway, not in our room. The room was clean and very quiet. The shower supplied ample water (often a pet peeve). The free breakfast was tasty. The magnetic room pass keys worked flawlessly. There was a funky smell in a couple of areas, but not in our room. The location is several miles from the main Lincoln attractions. There were a few restaurants nearby. We would definitely consider staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Clearlake Plaza

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Milwaukee, WI
Jul 17, 2012

Worst Experience Ever

This is very similar to "Mis-Treated" review. I booked a non-smoking room online. When we got to the Hotel, they had us in a smoking room. Claimed the Hotel was sold and this was only room available. This room was the worst smelling room I've ever encountered, there is no way anyone could have slept in there. I asked for "any" type of room that was non-smoking, claimed they had none. We booked somewhere else. Manager would not refund our prepaid money, claimed we booked a smoking room even though the paperwork I had clearly showed Non-smoking. This Hotel needs to have all their smoking rooms re-done and declare a smoke free htel instead of always trying to pass off these stinky rooms and then ripping off their customers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Clearlake Plaza

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JimnGlo
Algonquin, IL, USA
Apr 20, 2012

Mis-Treated

I booked a smoking room on line by mistake and the Manager of the hotel claimed there were no other rooms available. Manager claimed could not change anything on an on-line booking. We had to move to another hotel because the room smelled so bad of smoke. After getting to our new hotel we looked and found rooms available here. When my wife called back, they then wanted us to pay $20 more and we could have the non-smoking room. Feel we were mistreated by the Manager.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Clearlake Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
familyguy23
Kansas, USA
Oct 13, 2011

Good place to spend a night

We stopped here on our way through on vacation, and it was a good overnight stop. Our room was clean, and the staff was helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Clearlake Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
charpezt
Business
Akron, OH, USA
Oct 10, 2011

"Incidentals"

They demanded my credit card to make an impression for "incidentals or destruction of property" even though the room was already paid for through orbitz. Refused to destroy or return it on check out, claiming company policy demands they keep it for "I dunno, seven years" and no knowledge of how it is disposed of "um, not sure" I plan on contacting the company. The hotel was bare bones, but mostly clean. Did have a sparse breakfast and wifi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Within eyesite, just past McD's there is a hopping pizza place.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search