$90 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 25, 2015

Aloft Chicago O'Hare

3 stars
View map of 9700 Balmoral Avenue, 9700 Balmoral Avenue, Rosemont, IL 60018

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aloft Chicago O'Hare

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
138 out of 138
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aloft Chicago O'Hare

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AMANDA G.
Business
N/A
Jan 25, 2015

Great experience

The hotel staff was very nice! The inside of the hotel is very modern. I would definitely visit again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aloft Chicago O'Hare

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MDHRN
Business
Losd Angeles
Mar 26, 2015

Great Hotel

Stayed there while in town on business. Love the ambiance!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aloft Chicago O'Hare

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Xena210
Business
Dallas, TX
Dec 28, 2013

Fun Stay!

The Aloft is a great option if you don't need much of hotel amenities and room service. The hotel is beautiful and very comfortable. The only thing I wished was walking distance was a restaurant option to have breakfast at. Yes, they have the Re-Fuel area with snacks and drinks, and it was useful, but would've been nice to be able to have a nice breakfast nearby (Could go to a nearby hotel for that!). Nice restaurants around for lunch and dinner and the outlet mall across the street was nice too. We were there for a convention, but did stay a couple of extra days to see Chicago. The extreme cold weather was the only real disappointment about our trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Take the hotel shuttle bus to the airport, and then take the train to go almost anywhere in Chicago, and get back to the hotel the same way!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aloft Chicago O'Hare

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelingtheworld1stop
Business
Austin, tx
May 6, 2014

Great location

This hotel is directly across the street from Fashion outlet mall of Chicago. Clean and friendly staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aloft Chicago O'Hare

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisoc Bay Area
May 25, 2009

Style with Substance

I travel a lot and think 90% of hotels are the same. Yes, they range from plain to fancy but for me they mostly don't have much distinctive character, even the better ones. They cater to the public and pretty much have a utilitarian feel about them. Not so the Aloft in Chicago (OHare). It is styled in what I would call European modern industrial decor- that means platform beds, modular furniture, etc but it is also infused with liquid lava floor tiles in elevators, colored track lighting, and tasteful neon lighting in the lobby. All in all a combination that, in my opinion, would be a recipe for disaster if not done correctly. In that case the effect would be cold, and way over the top as these types of designers like to hit you over the head with their 'art'. NOT SO HERE. It is art. And done in a masterful and tasteful way that really does (for me) affect my mood positively by being new, different, and invigorating. Typical hotels reflect the same old way of thinking, the same old routine, the same old way of looking at things. Staying at the Aloft made me feel fresh mentally, by its different yet beautiful way of presenting reality to me. But be warned, this hotel is not for everybody. If you don't like modern industrial art you will hate it here. While not overbearing the hotel style is bold-it will affect you. Make sure you are open to this before you take the plunge. I gave it 4 stars and not 5 for 2 reasons: The first is that because of its 'hip' style, and discounted rates, it attracts many people 20-30, at least when I was there(May, 2009). I don't mind that at all except as you could expect, there was a bit of noise in the hallways at 1-2 am Friday and Saturday nights. This particular hotel is near Ohare so the sound-proofing in it is excellent. As a result the noise in the hallway was muffled for the most part but if other hotels dont have the sound-proofing it may present a bit of a problem. So you should ask for a room at the end of a hallway to make sure. Second,the staff is also made up of young people. And for them working in a cool hotel means you also have to be cool, which translates into not being too friendly. Don't expect the gratuitous smile here or frivolous chat (which is actually a good thing in most cases),but it would have been nice if I didnt get the impression from some of them that I was bothering them, lol. Nevertheless, these are small things to pay for what I got out of my stay here. As I mentioned, its not for everyone but for some people they will find it fantastic. Also, a word about location. I put a 3(average) because how good its location is depends where u want to go. There is a shuttle that will take you to Ohare and the train to the Loop in 5 minutes. In that way it is a 5. But if u want to use the hotel as a base to explore Chicago and mind taking 30 minutes to get downtown, you will then find it a 1.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aloft Chicago O'Hare

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Huntsville, AL
Nov 10, 2009

Aloft O'hare

The shuttle service was very convenient. The hotel was a very modern hotel. I was amazed by the room. It felt more like a room in a home than a hotel. The staff looked like they just got dropped off from highschool. But the service was great. You do have to pay for every item you eat at breakfast. On a positive note regarding the staff they were very helpful when describing local attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aloft Chicago O'Hare

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
K-jun in Chicago
Business
Lafayette, LA
Apr 5, 2010

Great Value

Great Value! We were in Chicago for business and didn't spend much time at the hotel. It was perfect for our needs. The parking was an added expense that I wasn't prepared for, but not a bad price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aloft Chicago O'Hare

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GI Quilter
Business
Grosse Ile Michigan
Apr 19, 2010

An Awesome hotel experience

I was attending the International Quilt Show in Rosemont. We really enjoyed our visit. The room was large and I especially liked placement of the furniture and the walk in shower. No door on the bathroom took a little getting used to. The lobby was beautiful with modern comfortable seating. We enjoyed the pool table and although we didn't use them the board games were a good idea in the lobby. The flat screen tv and inhouse computers kept my husband busy while I was attending the quilt show. We also appreciated the shuttle taking us to local restaurants and the convention center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aloft Chicago O'Hare

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Copper
Business
Chicago
Jan 25, 2011

Great Hotel stay.

Great hotel, nothing bad to say about it at all.. I shall stay there again real soon..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aloft Chicago O'Hare

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
3dsnar
Business
Warszawa, Polska
Oct 24, 2011

Nice modern place

I liked the modern style. Nice clean room. View from the window not so fantastic. Lack of restaurant is a minus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top