$81 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Aloft Chicago O'Hare

3 stars
View map of 9700 Balmoral Avenue, 9700 Balmoral Avenue, Rosemont, IL 60018

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aloft Chicago O'Hare

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
137 out of 137
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aloft Chicago O'Hare

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NC
Jun 2, 2010

The good and the bad

The hotel is nice and clean, very retro with a European style. In the lobby there was a pool table and board games around the bar area. We booked this hotel over another one that had larger rooms because it had listed a playground and we have a 2 year old, which would have been perfect for her but there is no playground. It is not listed that you have to pay $20-$26 a night for parking. It just says parking. We were not prepared for that. I would recommend this hotel for people with older children and adults but not for younger children because the rooms are small and there is no where for them to run and play. The pool area is very clean and nice but pool its self is only 4ft deep and very small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aloft Chicago O'Hare

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wayne, New Jersey
Jun 2, 2010

The best value ever !!!!!

We flew in for my daughter's graduation and from the service at the Aloha desk to the van driver it couldn't have been better. Friendly staff, clean modern rooms. Start to finish this was the best experience ever. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Very casual environment with guests encouraged to mingle with each other.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Because the hotel is near O'Hare, for those who want to go into downtown Chicago, take the Blue Line rather than a cab. Its cheaper and the hotel van will drop you and pick you up right at the train station.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aloft Chicago O'Hare

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nashville, TN
Jun 2, 2010

Boutique on the Cheap

Minimal staff. Parking is an extra $20-26 a day. You can hear the planes taking off from the airport, even on the first and second floors. No microwaves in rooms. Although I got a deal on the room cost, by the time taxes and parking were added in I could have stayed at a nicer hotel in the vicinity. I think the concept is ok, but the hotel needs to be in the right location where food options are within walking distance. Great if you are a deep sleeper and just need to be close to the airport for a night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aloft Chicago O'Hare

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, MO
May 31, 2010

Okay for the price.

The rooms were nice, the lobby was nice. However there were a lot of children running around well into the late hours of the night. This turned the very adult oriented pool, bar and lounge area into a noisy nightmare. The BIG downside to the hotel was the mandatory $20 parking. No come and go allowed, each time you leave it's $20 and the hotel does NOT validate. We were VERY dissapointed this wasn't mentioned anywhere and depending how long your stay is or how much you're running around I would highly suggest going elsewhere. Also there is no free breakfast, the only thing you get is one gross single serve coffee in your room. Everything else has to be paid for and as you can imagine, is on the expensive side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aloft Chicago O'Hare

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Papa G.I.N
Business
Laveen, AZ
May 15, 2010

You get what you pay for

My room was small with little closet space but clean and well-furnished. I appreciated the free Internet service. The shuttle drivers and desk staff were very friendly and patient. However, there was little effort to deal with problems. I asked for help in using the room safe and was told they would send up an engineer. No one ever got back to me. I left a note on the coffee-maker noting it was not working. The only corrective action taken by the housekeeping staff was to unplug it. Given the fact that there is no restaurant in the hotel, the snack bar is much too limited. There needs to be more health-conscious food options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The only restaurant I found within walking distance was Bogarts upstairs in the movie theater up the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aloft Chicago O'Hare

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Armac Bob
Business
Lynnfield, MA
May 7, 2010

Fun Atmosphere.

I enjoyed the colorful decore, high ceilings and art deco furnishings. Room had huge windows which made room seem larger than it really was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aloft Chicago O'Hare

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TravelRob
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 21, 2010

Perfect for proximity to airport

I was only in for a night. I needed a place to relax, socialize and have a good room. The Aloft hits on all 3 point. It was great for this type of trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aloft Chicago O'Hare

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
drnose
Business
mansfield,OH
Apr 20, 2010

so cool, so chic,

This hotel chain is going to be the most desireable once everyone finds out about it. It is beautiful, trendy, artsy, industrial,futuristic,youthful. It is impecably clean, the staff is extremely helpful with late flights and holding luggage. Healthy snacks and fruits and drinks available all the time. Loved this place,close to the airport,too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many sitdown full meals a short walk away and entertainment centers too

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aloft Chicago O'Hare

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GI Quilter
Business
Grosse Ile Michigan
Apr 19, 2010

An Awesome hotel experience

I was attending the International Quilt Show in Rosemont. We really enjoyed our visit. The room was large and I especially liked placement of the furniture and the walk in shower. No door on the bathroom took a little getting used to. The lobby was beautiful with modern comfortable seating. We enjoyed the pool table and although we didn't use them the board games were a good idea in the lobby. The flat screen tv and inhouse computers kept my husband busy while I was attending the quilt show. We also appreciated the shuttle taking us to local restaurants and the convention center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aloft Chicago O'Hare

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Peoria, IL
Apr 17, 2010

The power of simplicity

Just minutes away from O'Hare airport, aLoft is conveniently nested in the middle of hospitality area of Rosedale. A stone throw to a movie theater, restaurants, several coffee shops in the vicinity. Ideal combination for budget travelers or business people who value simplicity and convenience. Stylish albeit minimalistic design, clean and efficient rooms - what else is there to wish for?!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Movie theater is on the other side of the parking lot.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top