$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 18, 2014 Check-out: Sep 19, 2014

Write Inn

2 stars
211 N Oak Park Ave, Oak Park, IL 60302
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
20 reviews
Write Inn

Hotel is perfectly located for Frank Lloyd Wright sites, Oak Brook, and the train. Hemingway's... See full review

  • Traveling panda
  • Jul 29, 2014
Like Europe? You'll like it here.

My wife and I have stayed in quaint European hotels and Write Inn carries the same ambiance in my... See full review

  • wks426
  • May 23, 2014
Nestled in the Frank Lloyd Wright Historic District, this renovated hotel is 2 blocks from the Green Line Oak Park Station to the Chicago Loop and conveniently located 25 Minutes from OHare or Midway Airports. Free parking and complimentary WiFi are available to all guests along with an on site laundry facility. Choose from Hemmingways Bistro, Chef Christopher Alas French country cuisine, providing dining for breakfast, lunch and dinner within the Write Inn or a variety of ethnic and American restaurants within 2 blocks. Walk to Hemingways Birthplace, the Frank Lloyd Wright Home & Studio, and Unity Temple.

Hotel Map

41.8907 -87.7949
Area served
Chicago, Oak Park
Nearby airports
Midway, (MDW), 11.00, MI, N; Chicago O'hare International, (ORD), 11.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Suburban, Perfect for travelers looking for a Chicago hotel without Chic

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Write Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Write Inn Rooms

King Signature Suite
King Signature Suite
Pullman Rooms
Pullman Rooms
Studio Suite
Studio Suite
Traditional Room
Traditional Room

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
General
Air conditioned
Activities
Golf
Tennis
Play ground
Boating
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
Sitting area
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Frank Lloyd Wright Home and Studio: 0.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (20)

Ratings and reviews for Write Inn

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 20
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.7

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Write Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling panda
Illinois
Jul 29, 2014

Write Inn

Hotel is perfectly located for Frank Lloyd Wright sites, Oak Brook, and the train. Hemingway's Restaurant is absolutely wonderful. Though not affiliated with the hotel, the entrance is through the hotel lobby. My only complaint is that the newer elevator (old one not in service) sometimes doesn't open on the floor. This was very scary to me when it happened. Then, I found out that it is not unusual for this to happen. It needs to be fixed or a sign posted.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Hemingway's Restaurant has a fabulous Sunday brunch!

Review of Write Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chicago 1st Timer
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 12, 2014

Decent hotel in Oak Park

nothing to write home about but this is a nice, reasonably priced older style hotel in Oak Park next to the Hemingway Museum. We stayed in a smallish, clean room and the staff was friendly and attentive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Write Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wks426
Business
Indianapolis, Indiana
May 23, 2014

Like Europe? You'll like it here.

My wife and I have stayed in quaint European hotels and Write Inn carries the same ambiance in my opinion; e.g. the room is smaller than a typical American hotel room; you step up to enter the bathroom (at least in my room); the feel of the check-in area is European (small, intimate). The restaurant - Hemmingway Bistro, even feels European. And it helps that a nice Romanian fellow checked me in. It's conveniently located across from the Hemmingway Museum and a short walk to all types of great restaurants, Starbucks, wonderful ice cream and unique stores. It's not a fancy place but I liked it - a lot. I'm going to take my wife back. Downsides? WiFi can be finicky at times but usually functioned well. The rooms, clean and well-ordered, are certainly not updated but that's not a big deal to me. The free parking garage is a couple of blocks away which I suppose in winter could be a pain but I didn't mind the walk since I had a small load to carry. All in all, I recommend the place. And you'll love Oak Park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Grouper was delectable served over small white potatoes, chopped asparagus and brussels sprouts and morel mushrooms The morning breakfast of Birchmusli (sp?) I thoroughly enjoyed. It's a mixture of raw oats, chopped fruit, raisins and yogurt. And the raisin-walnut bread super. Walk down the street to get great ice cream at Oberweiss Dairy.

Review of Write Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mddc
Washington DC
Jun 3, 2013

Price point

I didn't care much for the hotel but I really didn't spend much time at it. Its the most affordable room I could find last minute and it had everything I needed. Its walking distance from the metro which was the best feature and it is located in a really nice neighborhood with local shops and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Write Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chalicity
Indiana
Mar 18, 2013

Quaint and Lovely!

Located only 2 blocks from the train and in a lovely area, this hotel had a historical and fun feel. Very comfortable atmosphere and not a bad price! Would recommend and would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Write Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Good2bdan
Chicago, IL
Dec 26, 2012

Ideal location and great value

Write Inn is ideally located to downtown Oak Park and just a short distance from the Metra station for easy access to downtown Chicago. The hotel was older but quaint. The room I booked was a little small but comfortable as I was only just needing a place to spend the the night. Although I didn't use it, the restuarant and bar located at the hotel looked like a nice place to have a drink or something to eat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Write Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KLNY
Brooklyn, NY
Oct 18, 2012

Great Location

The hotel is in a nice neighborhood (Oak Park) and there were many restaurants and cafes close by. Close to the Hemingway Museum and the Frank Lloyd Wright house/studio. Close to the subway. The hotel is old and in need of a facelift, but clean and comfortable enough, considering the amount of time we spent there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Delia's Kitchen for breakfast. Fluffiest omelette I ever had. The red velvet pancakes are awesome. Great cappuccino. Contrary to some of the other reviews I've seen, our server was very attentive, friendly and helpful.

Review of Write Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sadhayam
Akron, Ohio
Jun 12, 2012

The worst hotel I have ever stayed

The evening staff made me pay additional $ 30.00 to the original rate. The morning staff said the evening staff was wrong and added another $ 10.00 to it. The manager said he would refund $ 10, instead added another $10,00 and then credited $ 10.00. The bath water was running all the time. The parking was in a lot 3 blocks away. The staff were the most unfriendly and the experience was the worst ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Write Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
irmahisp
milwaukee wi
May 7, 2012

great get away!!!

all staff could not have been nicer. easy to get to downtown chicago on the L train. safe and quite felt great to come back after a full day of chicago busy noisy city!!! this will be a must return place for us!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Write Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Oct 17, 2011

First time in the chicago area

I got in early and they let me check in the staff were able to answers my questions and were very friendly. Close to the train which was good for me because I don't like driving. The sorrounding area was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search