$120 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 19, 2014 Check-out: Apr 20, 2014

Write Inn

2 stars
211 N Oak Park Ave, Oak Park, IL 60302
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
17 reviews
Quaint and Lovely!

Located only 2 blocks from the train and in a lovely area, this hotel had a historical and fun... See full review

  • Chalicity
  • Mar 18, 2013
Ideal location and great value

Write Inn is ideally located to downtown Oak Park and just a short distance from the Metra station... See full review

  • Good2bdan
  • Dec 26, 2012
Nestled in the Frank Lloyd Wright Historic District, this renovated hotel is 2 blocks from the Green Line Oak Park Station to the Chicago Loop and conveniently located 25 Minutes from OHare or Midway Airports. Free parking and complimentary WiFi are available to all guests along with an on site laundry facility. Choose from Hemmingways Bistro, Chef Christopher Alas French country cuisine, providing dining for breakfast, lunch and dinner within the Write Inn or a variety of ethnic and American restaurants within 2 blocks. Walk to Hemingways Birthplace, the Frank Lloyd Wright Home & Studio, and Unity Temple.

Write Inn Rooms

King Signature Suite
King Signature Suite
Pullman Rooms
Pullman Rooms
Studio Suite
Studio Suite
Traditional Room
Traditional Room

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
General
Air conditioned
Activities
Golf
Tennis
Play ground
Boating
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
Sitting area
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Write Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.8907 -87.7949
Area served
Chicago, Oak Park
Nearby airports
Midway, (MDW), 11.00, MI, N; Chicago O'hare International, (ORD), 11.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Suburban, Perfect for travelers looking for a Chicago hotel without Chic

Nearby points of interest

  • Frank Lloyd Wright Home and Studio: 0.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (17)

Ratings and reviews for Write Inn

Overall score

3.1 / 5
17 out of 17
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Write Inn

Reviewer score

2
Mddc
Washington DC
Jun 3, 2013

Price point

I didn't care much for the hotel but I really didn't spend much time at it. Its the most affordable room I could find last minute and it had everything I needed. Its walking distance from the metro which was the best feature and it is located in a really nice neighborhood with local shops and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Write Inn

Reviewer score

4
Chalicity
Indiana
Mar 18, 2013

Quaint and Lovely!

Located only 2 blocks from the train and in a lovely area, this hotel had a historical and fun feel. Very comfortable atmosphere and not a bad price! Would recommend and would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Write Inn

Reviewer score

4
Good2bdan
Chicago, IL
Dec 26, 2012

Ideal location and great value

Write Inn is ideally located to downtown Oak Park and just a short distance from the Metra station for easy access to downtown Chicago. The hotel was older but quaint. The room I booked was a little small but comfortable as I was only just needing a place to spend the the night. Although I didn't use it, the restuarant and bar located at the hotel looked like a nice place to have a drink or something to eat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Write Inn

Reviewer score

3
KLNY
Brooklyn, NY
Oct 18, 2012

Great Location

The hotel is in a nice neighborhood (Oak Park) and there were many restaurants and cafes close by. Close to the Hemingway Museum and the Frank Lloyd Wright house/studio. Close to the subway. The hotel is old and in need of a facelift, but clean and comfortable enough, considering the amount of time we spent there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Delia's Kitchen for breakfast. Fluffiest omelette I ever had. The red velvet pancakes are awesome. Great cappuccino. Contrary to some of the other reviews I've seen, our server was very attentive, friendly and helpful.

Review of Write Inn

Reviewer score

1
Sadhayam
Akron, Ohio
Jun 12, 2012

The worst hotel I have ever stayed

The evening staff made me pay additional $ 30.00 to the original rate. The morning staff said the evening staff was wrong and added another $ 10.00 to it. The manager said he would refund $ 10, instead added another $10,00 and then credited $ 10.00. The bath water was running all the time. The parking was in a lot 3 blocks away. The staff were the most unfriendly and the experience was the worst ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Write Inn

Reviewer score

5
irmahisp
milwaukee wi
May 7, 2012

great get away!!!

all staff could not have been nicer. easy to get to downtown chicago on the L train. safe and quite felt great to come back after a full day of chicago busy noisy city!!! this will be a must return place for us!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Write Inn

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Oct 17, 2011

First time in the chicago area

I got in early and they let me check in the staff were able to answers my questions and were very friendly. Close to the train which was good for me because I don't like driving. The sorrounding area was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Write Inn

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Lake Mills WI
Dec 6, 2010

Like being cooked in a Nesco?

The room we had was tiny, and the heat was on beyond hot with no thermostat control and no one working to fix it. On a Chicago night, with a low temp of 6 degrees, we had the window completely open and still slept w/o covers. We love the location, hate the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good restaurants nearby.

Review of Write Inn

Reviewer score

2
Just Ric
San Juan, PR
Nov 21, 2010

Really Small

I went there for sightseeing and experience the city... The Pullman Rooms were really small, uncomfortable beds, the bath was OK. I was disappointed by the small space in the bedroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Write Inn

Reviewer score

1
Lyubimaia
Kansas manhattan
Oct 14, 2010

The worst inn

This hotel was the worst from my experience. Yeah, the building is old and the architecture is nice but they have to make a lot of renovations to make it worth the price. The rooms are very tiny, the bathroom floor level is higher, I almost killed myself walking into the bathroom the first time. The tv has like 5 chanels and ours wasn't even working at first. The Internet is slow as hell! The parking is like 2 blocks away. During our stay they had a private party at the bistro on the ground level and we had to listen to a loud music half the night. The breakfast aperantly not included and the staff wasn't very helpful at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top