$118 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Carleton of Oak Park

3 stars
1110 Pleasant St., Oak Park, IL 60302
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
65 reviews
Very comfortable

Spacious comfortable room. The staff was very accommodating and willing to help out in every way.... See full review

  • Rimac
  • Jun 3, 2014
Oasis

The service was excellent. I got lost everyday. I would call the front desk and the they would tell... See full review

  • Xylem
  • May 21, 2014
Residential serenity in cultural neighborhood near downtown Chicago
Fans of Frank Lloyd Wright and Ernest Hemingway always return to the Carleton of Oak Park hotel, where tidy hotel rooms lie within walking distance to attractions surrounding the famous former residents. In a quiet, yet cultural, neighborhood 10 miles outside Chicago, this boutique retreat was built in 1928 as a residential hotel and retains its historic charm. Antique and reproduction furnishings fill the Carleton of Oak Park hotel, including romantic guest rooms and common areas warmed by chandeliers and fireplaces.
Highlights
  • Complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
  • American grill restaurant offers seasonal outdoor dining
  • Full kitchens
  • Reach downtown Chicago in just minutes on the nearby trains
  • Near downtown Oak Park, Frank Lloyd Wright homes and birth place of Hemingway
Rooms
Cozy with a touch of traditional formality, 153 non-smoking guest rooms and suites rooms at the Carleton of Oak Park hotel offer the conveniences of home. Enjoy a kitchen with a coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator, plus a room service menu during dinner hours. Catch up on the news with cable TV or send e-mails care of free high-speed wireless Internet access, which is available throughout the Carleton of Oak Park hotel. Upgrade to soak in a Jacuzzi tub or lounge in a separate living room.
Features
Shake off a busy day in the city in the residential historic district that envelops the Carleton of Oak Park hotel. The restful convenience of this local landmark combines with an evening of classic cuisine at on-site Barclay's American Grille. Oak Park has the largest concentration of Frank Lloyd Wright-designed structures. Tour his home and studio, which is within walking distance. Three parks, the Hemingway Museum and other attractions are a stroll away. Parking is free at the Carleton of Oak Park hotel.
Transportation
  • O'Hare International Airport (15.8 mi/25.5 km)
  • Midway International Airport (16.4 mi/26.4 km)
  • Green Line CTA train and Metra/Union Pacific west line (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
Attractions
  • Frank Lloyd Wright Unity Temple (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Frank Lloyd Wright Home and Studio (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Ernest Hemingway birth place (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Millennium Park (10.7 mi/17.2 km)
  • Navy Pier (12.1 mi/19.4 km)
  • Willis Tower (10.2 mi/16.4 km)
  • McCormick Place (13 mi/20.9 km)
Business
  • Complementary high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
  • Fax and copy services (fees apply)
  • Meeting space accommodates up to 200 people

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Carleton of Oak Park also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Carleton of Oak Park Rooms

Deluxe Double Hotel
Room with two double beds includes wireless internet access - complimentary, cable TV, microwave, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, premium bedding, hair dryer, iron/ironing board and complimentary toiletries.
Motel Room
located next door to main hotel, newly renovated rooms with 2 double beds. Rooms are equipped with microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Standard Hotel Room
Room with one queen bed includes wireless internet access - complimentary, cable TV, microwave, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, premium bedding, hair dryer, iron/ironing board and complimentary toiletries.
Deluxe King Hotel
Room with one king bed includes wireless internet access - complimentary, cable TV, microwave, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, premium bedding, hair dryer, iron/ironing board and complimentary toiletries.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Frank Lloyd Wright Home and Studio: 0.6 mi

Dining

Barclay's American Grille
Featuring Classic American Cuisine with a twist. Signature burgers, BBQ ribs, fresh seafood and an array of steaks and chops are prepared on our wood burning grill and served with our amazing homemade BBQ sauces and creative toppings. Opened November 2009
Poor Phil's
Serving breakfast, lunch and dinner is a sports bar atmosphere.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (65)

Ratings and reviews for Carleton of Oak Park

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 65
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kalev
Business
Scarsdale, NY
Nov 8, 2011

Be careful of this one!

Look at picture of beautiful Hotel building and lobby. However, when I checked in, they sent me to a very nondescript Motel they have next door. I was expecting a Hotel, since I like having two doors between myself and the great outdoors, and that's what the picture offered. I'm not a fan of motels. The motel was OK, nothing special. Cost was only $98. However, I'll stay elsewhere next time. Also, the front desk originally put me into a room that was already occupied! Very disorganized place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Stay elsewhere, save your money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Coach Smoke
Business
Erie, PA
Jul 25, 2014

decent clean olf fashioned

Good location, good food, a little pricey for no pool or exercise room. Staff polite but not real friendly. Nice flat screen cable tv. comfortable bed. maids cleaned up the room every day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Poor Phils for breakfast and lunch. The other in house restaurant for dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Parketh57
Business
Lakewood, OH
Sep 26, 2012

Worth a visit

Charming hotel/motel with nearby quaint shops, parks, Wright Studio and subway into downtown Chicago. The motel rooms are budget priced and clean. Free parking is limited and a bit complicated if you come back late and have to park on city streets. Very much a walking or biking neighborhood. On site restaurant and nearby cheese shop/restaurant are worth visiting!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Around the corner is bike rental shop managed by friendly, informative local. Bike to Frank Lloyd Wright Studio to get your timed tickets and then ride around the neighborhood before the tour starts.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Jul 31, 2010

A quiet, gracious hotel

Room was large and clean. Had a small kitchen, although not luxurious, it was very comfortable for a long stay (two weeks).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ga
Aug 17, 2010

Good suburban location

Staff was good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nyc
Jun 16, 2011

good value, great location

Good spot, nice setting and rooms, great location one block from the green line train.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

side alley passage goes direct to the green line stop, a three minute walk away...great !

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
philadelphia, PA
Mar 17, 2010

Great hotel...incredible price.

Went to Chicago for 1st time. Wanted to stay in Oak Park for the Frank Lloyd Wright houses...but loved being 1 block from the Green Line "L" so I could easily also check out downtown Chicago. Got a fantastic off-season deal, including great room & airfare.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of choices!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kennewick, WA
May 16, 2011

Boutique Goodness

Great location. Fantastic part of town. This hotel was a happening place but when you got up to your room it was calm and peaceful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Quick drive to Logan Square where my son lives. Then off on the Blue Line to the Cubs game.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Xylem
Business
Cordova
May 21, 2014

Oasis

The service was excellent. I got lost everyday. I would call the front desk and the they would tell me which street to take to get to my destination. If you are a problem child like me this is your hotel. The antique furniture and the architectural details of the Carleton of Oak Park hotel reminded me of visiting my grandmother house. I was very impressed with my bedroom. The only thing missing from the wooden, full size, two poster bed were the tassels on the bedspread. All this and free, convent parking in Chicago. I really enjoyed my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top