$124 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 29, 2015

Carleton of Oak Park

3 stars
View map of 1110 Pleasant St., Oak Park, IL 60302

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Carleton of Oak Park

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
66 out of 66
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jacjon
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Aug 9, 2011

"Good value"

The motel is so close to the transit system. It does take awhile to get downtown. We could hear people talking at night. Not sure if they were in the next room or not. Otherwise a nice place to stay in a safe area. The room was very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dayton, OH
May 2, 2009

May Day 2009 Stay

Great hotel for Oak Park home base. Very quiet area, yet a block away from a very happening area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Marion Street Cheese Market - great wine and cheese bar down the street from the Carleton. Fantastic wine, international cheeses, flatbread, and specialty meat appetizers.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Athens, GA
Nov 14, 2010

Perfect for what we needed

My sister and I went to Chicago for a weekend trip and the Carleton was a great price option for us. It's two blocks from the end of the Green Line so it was super convenient for what we wanted. A place where we could simply sleep at night. The only complaint (and not really a complaint) was that the site didn't really explain that when you rent a room from the Motor Home option, that your room isn't actually inside the quaint building in the main photo - but those rooms are actually inside the smaller buildings next door - which look more like the exterior of a days inn. The interior was still fabulous; clean and modern. One last thing, our TV only got one channel, but I think that had more to do with a bad hookup ... my sister and I didn't really care enough to try and get anyone to fix it - like I said, we only used the place to sleep and shower essentially.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit Michigan
Dec 1, 2010

Carleton Hotel Oak Park

Friendly staff and only 25 min by cta green line to downtown Chicago! Also walking distance from the famous Frank Loyd Wright architect houses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
grap, mi
May 11, 2010

my stay at the carleton

The hotel was perfect. The staff was friendly. The location was nice. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ga
Aug 17, 2010

Good suburban location

Staff was good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Creole Queen
Business
New Orleans, LA
Aug 10, 2009

I LOVE this town!!!!

The hotel is located in the most quaint little city right outside of Chicago. It is the best of both worlds. You can enjoy the festivities of the "big city" and enjoy the peace and quiet of Oak Park, when you are done. This trip was a birthday gift to my mother from me. She LOVED the decor of the room so much that it was a bit difficult to get her out of there :) I wanted to show her downtown Chicago, but she was more than content with staying in the surrounding area. All of the cute shops and just about anything you may want is within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Aug 13, 2010

Jewel in the rough

WE were upgraded from the motor lodge due to overbooking and had a beautiful room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Amazing amount of shopping in easy walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
G&K
Business
Germany
Oct 25, 2010

great place to stay

clean, neat,nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nyc
Jun 16, 2011

good value, great location

Good spot, nice setting and rooms, great location one block from the green line train.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

side alley passage goes direct to the green line stop, a three minute walk away...great !

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top