$118 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 29, 2014

Carleton of Oak Park

3 stars
1110 Pleasant St., Oak Park, IL 60302
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
65 reviews
Very comfortable

Spacious comfortable room. The staff was very accommodating and willing to help out in every way.... See full review

  • Rimac
  • Jun 3, 2014
Oasis

The service was excellent. I got lost everyday. I would call the front desk and the they would tell... See full review

  • Xylem
  • May 21, 2014
Residential serenity in cultural neighborhood near downtown Chicago
Fans of Frank Lloyd Wright and Ernest Hemingway always return to the Carleton of Oak Park hotel, where tidy hotel rooms lie within walking distance to attractions surrounding the famous former residents. In a quiet, yet cultural, neighborhood 10 miles outside Chicago, this boutique retreat was built in 1928 as a residential hotel and retains its historic charm. Antique and reproduction furnishings fill the Carleton of Oak Park hotel, including romantic guest rooms and common areas warmed by chandeliers and fireplaces.
Highlights
  • Complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
  • American grill restaurant offers seasonal outdoor dining
  • Full kitchens
  • Reach downtown Chicago in just minutes on the nearby trains
  • Near downtown Oak Park, Frank Lloyd Wright homes and birth place of Hemingway
Rooms
Cozy with a touch of traditional formality, 153 non-smoking guest rooms and suites rooms at the Carleton of Oak Park hotel offer the conveniences of home. Enjoy a kitchen with a coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator, plus a room service menu during dinner hours. Catch up on the news with cable TV or send e-mails care of free high-speed wireless Internet access, which is available throughout the Carleton of Oak Park hotel. Upgrade to soak in a Jacuzzi tub or lounge in a separate living room.
Features
Shake off a busy day in the city in the residential historic district that envelops the Carleton of Oak Park hotel. The restful convenience of this local landmark combines with an evening of classic cuisine at on-site Barclay's American Grille. Oak Park has the largest concentration of Frank Lloyd Wright-designed structures. Tour his home and studio, which is within walking distance. Three parks, the Hemingway Museum and other attractions are a stroll away. Parking is free at the Carleton of Oak Park hotel.
Transportation
  • O'Hare International Airport (15.8 mi/25.5 km)
  • Midway International Airport (16.4 mi/26.4 km)
  • Green Line CTA train and Metra/Union Pacific west line (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
Attractions
  • Frank Lloyd Wright Unity Temple (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Frank Lloyd Wright Home and Studio (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Ernest Hemingway birth place (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Millennium Park (10.7 mi/17.2 km)
  • Navy Pier (12.1 mi/19.4 km)
  • Willis Tower (10.2 mi/16.4 km)
  • McCormick Place (13 mi/20.9 km)
Business
  • Complementary high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
  • Fax and copy services (fees apply)
  • Meeting space accommodates up to 200 people

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Carleton of Oak Park also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Carleton of Oak Park Rooms

Deluxe Double Hotel
Room with two double beds includes wireless internet access - complimentary, cable TV, microwave, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, premium bedding, hair dryer, iron/ironing board and complimentary toiletries.
Motel Room
located next door to main hotel, newly renovated rooms with 2 double beds. Rooms are equipped with microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Standard Hotel Room
Room with one queen bed includes wireless internet access - complimentary, cable TV, microwave, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, premium bedding, hair dryer, iron/ironing board and complimentary toiletries.
Deluxe King Hotel
Room with one king bed includes wireless internet access - complimentary, cable TV, microwave, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, premium bedding, hair dryer, iron/ironing board and complimentary toiletries.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Frank Lloyd Wright Home and Studio: 0.6 mi

Dining

Barclay's American Grille
Featuring Classic American Cuisine with a twist. Signature burgers, BBQ ribs, fresh seafood and an array of steaks and chops are prepared on our wood burning grill and served with our amazing homemade BBQ sauces and creative toppings. Opened November 2009
Poor Phil's
Serving breakfast, lunch and dinner is a sports bar atmosphere.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (65)

Ratings and reviews for Carleton of Oak Park

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
65 out of 65
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TLawtravels
Business
Ohio
Oct 9, 2013

Great boutique hotel

I enjoyed staying here. Great to not have to pay for parking. Quality amenities, tasty food in the attached restaurant, pleasant staff. I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LastMinRoadtrip
Business
Houston, TX
Oct 17, 2013

Lovely location and stay

Gone are the 1980s bed covers! New white duvets/coverlets have taken their place. Gone are old, worn-out mattresses! Replaced with nice, firm mattresses that my old, tired back really appreciated . :) Gone are the front desk staff that ignores you while they play Angry Birds. They are quick to greet you with a smile and "Good morning/afternoon/evening". These were the things complained about in other reviews that made me hesitate before booking. They have been addressed. It is an older place (built in 1920s) and can be a bit of a maze inside the main hotel, but the rooms are nice: Tall ceilings, microwave, mini-fridge, cabinets stocked with utensils and plates and dishes. It's a great home base for exploring Chicago. The L is literally a block away. Jump on the Green Line, it takes you right to all the tourist hotspots downtown! Weddings due occur here so be prepared to walk by, around and through the planning of them, but there were zero problems with noise. I was on the 4th floor though. It was not a hindrance, just something to be aware of. There are two restaurants in the hotel. I did not dine at either one, but that is available if needed. The only things I would improve upon would be to replace the older chairs in the room and housekeeping needs to be more thorough. Mildew has built up in some areas of grout in the shower and noted a thick layer of dust on bedside lamp - not on the bottom of the base (where it's more noticeable), but on the top near the bulb. Perhaps more thorough training of staff needs to occur. I never felt that I was in a grossly unclean place though. They just need to improve their deep cleaning. Overall, nice stay. Great for people looking for a place that is budget friendly. I definitely plan to book this hotel again whenever I visit Chicago in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
coupleofus
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Jan 1, 2014

Go to place in Oak Park

great location, great staff. we stay at outdoor rooms, which are less luxurious Nice they had a Christmas day continental breakfas

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cinta
Business
Burnsville, MN
Aug 2, 2010

Excellent Customer Service

Great customer service. Good location for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Jul 31, 2010

A quiet, gracious hotel

Room was large and clean. Had a small kitchen, although not luxurious, it was very comfortable for a long stay (two weeks).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Do I have a nick name
Business
Redmond
Sep 11, 2011

my trip

Quiet comfortable, Quiet clean, Oldish and Quiet place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lot of restaurants around in 2 blocks distance and a nice bar in the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Standbys
Business
Central, Illinois
May 3, 2010

Handy for Dominican U parents

We very much like the location for us as visitors to the area and our sons school. The hotel rooms are very spacious and comfortable and the motor lodge rooms are kind of cool in a retro sort of way. The motor lodge is usually a good value and the new flat-screen tvs are great. We visit frequently as baseball parents. Which brings up the one negative that we experience - checking in in our baseball park jeans appears to not sit well with the stiffs (guys) that work the front desk. The woman or the guy who works Sunday morning (checkout) are very pleasant and helpful. Overall, a good location for visiting the Oak Park area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler by Air
Business
Delray Beach, Florida
Aug 15, 2009

A Great Overnight @ Carleton of Oak Park

We were there overnight because we had dinner with family members and wanted to have breakfast with other famly members. The hotel was perfect for our purposes. We enjoyed our stay with you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
fort lauderdale, fl
Mar 4, 2010

Nice Hotel

Nice Hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jacjon
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Aug 9, 2011

"Good value"

The motel is so close to the transit system. It does take awhile to get downtown. We could hear people talking at night. Not sure if they were in the next room or not. Otherwise a nice place to stay in a safe area. The room was very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top