$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 24, 2015 Check-out: Jun 26, 2015

Carleton of Oak Park

3 stars
View map of 1110 Pleasant St., Oak Park, IL 60302

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Carleton of Oak Park

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
69 out of 69
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Oak Park grandmother
Business
Indiana
Aug 19, 2013

Excellent place to while visiting family

Cab came right. Bellboy available. Television did not turn because it was in an armoir

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Andrea S
Business
Michigan
Aug 23, 2013

Convenient to Downtown, clean, free parking

We were disappointed to find that with the good rate quoted that we were placed in the "motorlodge" portion of the facility, not in the hotel itself. BUT, it turned out fine. The room was very comfortable and clean (though I did buy earplugs because the walls in that part were a bit thin and our neighbor was a quiet but very early riser). The location is only one block from the subway and parking was free. The breakfast at the restaurant at its corner was great every day. The immediate area is very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Not sure if the restaurant at the corner is owned by hotel, but great service and great breakfasts there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TLawtravels
Business
Ohio
Oct 9, 2013

Great boutique hotel

I enjoyed staying here. Great to not have to pay for parking. Quality amenities, tasty food in the attached restaurant, pleasant staff. I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LastMinRoadtrip
Business
Houston, TX
Oct 17, 2013

Lovely location and stay

Gone are the 1980s bed covers! New white duvets/coverlets have taken their place. Gone are old, worn-out mattresses! Replaced with nice, firm mattresses that my old, tired back really appreciated . :) Gone are the front desk staff that ignores you while they play Angry Birds. They are quick to greet you with a smile and "Good morning/afternoon/evening". These were the things complained about in other reviews that made me hesitate before booking. They have been addressed. It is an older place (built in 1920s) and can be a bit of a maze inside the main hotel, but the rooms are nice: Tall ceilings, microwave, mini-fridge, cabinets stocked with utensils and plates and dishes. It's a great home base for exploring Chicago. The L is literally a block away. Jump on the Green Line, it takes you right to all the tourist hotspots downtown! Weddings due occur here so be prepared to walk by, around and through the planning of them, but there were zero problems with noise. I was on the 4th floor though. It was not a hindrance, just something to be aware of. There are two restaurants in the hotel. I did not dine at either one, but that is available if needed. The only things I would improve upon would be to replace the older chairs in the room and housekeeping needs to be more thorough. Mildew has built up in some areas of grout in the shower and noted a thick layer of dust on bedside lamp - not on the bottom of the base (where it's more noticeable), but on the top near the bulb. Perhaps more thorough training of staff needs to occur. I never felt that I was in a grossly unclean place though. They just need to improve their deep cleaning. Overall, nice stay. Great for people looking for a place that is budget friendly. I definitely plan to book this hotel again whenever I visit Chicago in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cinta
Business
Burnsville, MN
Aug 2, 2010

Excellent Customer Service

Great customer service. Good location for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Jul 31, 2010

A quiet, gracious hotel

Room was large and clean. Had a small kitchen, although not luxurious, it was very comfortable for a long stay (two weeks).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Do I have a nick name
Business
Redmond
Sep 11, 2011

my trip

Quiet comfortable, Quiet clean, Oldish and Quiet place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lot of restaurants around in 2 blocks distance and a nice bar in the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Standbys
Business
Central, Illinois
May 3, 2010

Handy for Dominican U parents

We very much like the location for us as visitors to the area and our sons school. The hotel rooms are very spacious and comfortable and the motor lodge rooms are kind of cool in a retro sort of way. The motor lodge is usually a good value and the new flat-screen tvs are great. We visit frequently as baseball parents. Which brings up the one negative that we experience - checking in in our baseball park jeans appears to not sit well with the stiffs (guys) that work the front desk. The woman or the guy who works Sunday morning (checkout) are very pleasant and helpful. Overall, a good location for visiting the Oak Park area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler by Air
Business
Delray Beach, Florida
Aug 15, 2009

A Great Overnight @ Carleton of Oak Park

We were there overnight because we had dinner with family members and wanted to have breakfast with other famly members. The hotel was perfect for our purposes. We enjoyed our stay with you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
fort lauderdale, fl
Mar 4, 2010

Nice Hotel

Nice Hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top