$124 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

Carleton of Oak Park

3 stars
1110 Pleasant St., Oak Park, IL 60302
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
65 reviews
Very comfortable

Spacious comfortable room. The staff was very accommodating and willing to help out in every way.... See full review

  • Rimac
  • Jun 3, 2014
Oasis

The service was excellent. I got lost everyday. I would call the front desk and the they would tell... See full review

  • Xylem
  • May 21, 2014
Residential serenity in cultural neighborhood near downtown Chicago
Fans of Frank Lloyd Wright and Ernest Hemingway always return to the Carleton of Oak Park hotel, where tidy hotel rooms lie within walking distance to attractions surrounding the famous former residents. In a quiet, yet cultural, neighborhood 10 miles outside Chicago, this boutique retreat was built in 1928 as a residential hotel and retains its historic charm. Antique and reproduction furnishings fill the Carleton of Oak Park hotel, including romantic guest rooms and common areas warmed by chandeliers and fireplaces.
Highlights
  • Complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
  • American grill restaurant offers seasonal outdoor dining
  • Full kitchens
  • Reach downtown Chicago in just minutes on the nearby trains
  • Near downtown Oak Park, Frank Lloyd Wright homes and birth place of Hemingway
Rooms
Cozy with a touch of traditional formality, 153 non-smoking guest rooms and suites rooms at the Carleton of Oak Park hotel offer the conveniences of home. Enjoy a kitchen with a coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator, plus a room service menu during dinner hours. Catch up on the news with cable TV or send e-mails care of free high-speed wireless Internet access, which is available throughout the Carleton of Oak Park hotel. Upgrade to soak in a Jacuzzi tub or lounge in a separate living room.
Features
Shake off a busy day in the city in the residential historic district that envelops the Carleton of Oak Park hotel. The restful convenience of this local landmark combines with an evening of classic cuisine at on-site Barclay's American Grille. Oak Park has the largest concentration of Frank Lloyd Wright-designed structures. Tour his home and studio, which is within walking distance. Three parks, the Hemingway Museum and other attractions are a stroll away. Parking is free at the Carleton of Oak Park hotel.
Transportation
  • O'Hare International Airport (15.8 mi/25.5 km)
  • Midway International Airport (16.4 mi/26.4 km)
  • Green Line CTA train and Metra/Union Pacific west line (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
Attractions
  • Frank Lloyd Wright Unity Temple (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Frank Lloyd Wright Home and Studio (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Ernest Hemingway birth place (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Millennium Park (10.7 mi/17.2 km)
  • Navy Pier (12.1 mi/19.4 km)
  • Willis Tower (10.2 mi/16.4 km)
  • McCormick Place (13 mi/20.9 km)
Business
  • Complementary high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
  • Fax and copy services (fees apply)
  • Meeting space accommodates up to 200 people

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Carleton of Oak Park also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Carleton of Oak Park Rooms

Deluxe Double Hotel
Room with two double beds includes wireless internet access - complimentary, cable TV, microwave, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, premium bedding, hair dryer, iron/ironing board and complimentary toiletries.
Motel Room
located next door to main hotel, newly renovated rooms with 2 double beds. Rooms are equipped with microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Standard Hotel Room
Room with one queen bed includes wireless internet access - complimentary, cable TV, microwave, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, premium bedding, hair dryer, iron/ironing board and complimentary toiletries.
Deluxe King Hotel
Room with one king bed includes wireless internet access - complimentary, cable TV, microwave, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, premium bedding, hair dryer, iron/ironing board and complimentary toiletries.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Frank Lloyd Wright Home and Studio: 0.6 mi

Dining

Barclay's American Grille
Featuring Classic American Cuisine with a twist. Signature burgers, BBQ ribs, fresh seafood and an array of steaks and chops are prepared on our wood burning grill and served with our amazing homemade BBQ sauces and creative toppings. Opened November 2009
Poor Phil's
Serving breakfast, lunch and dinner is a sports bar atmosphere.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (65)

Ratings and reviews for Carleton of Oak Park

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
65 out of 65
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
buraq
Business
Turkey
Dec 5, 2012

Great place at Oak Park

The hotel is located almost mid of the Oak Park. Stayed at the Motel site with free parking, which is very close also. The heating system was a bit noisy. Room was clean and staff were helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Various shops and places to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
thelauralynn
Business
Chicago, Il
May 9, 2012

Carleton

Would not stay here again. The room smelt and I could hear everything from the rooms next door. Also- heater was very loud and right by the bed so every time it would kick on it would wake me up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Chirag.modi
Business
Denver, Pa
Aug 3, 2014

Not a business friendly location

All downtown hotels were full and therefore I had to venture in Oak Park. Oak Park downtown is cozy but getting there is a pain from downtown Chicago. Staff could not find my reservation for some time. Room was okay but lacked that extra edge. Pricing wasn't so cheap and therefore my below average rating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Wine and cheese place across the bike shop, less than a minute walk from Hotel is fantastic.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Maybe Not
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Dec 6, 2011

Quirky, Not Comfortable

While I enjoy quaint properties while on vacation, they don't always lend themselves to productivity for business trips. This hotel is very old, but through several remodels (an another coming, according to the poster in the lobby) the facility has lost its charm while retaining its fairly primitive accommodations. For instance, the heat is (supposed to be) provided by an old metal radiator. There was a dial to control it, which seemed to make no difference at all in its output. The hotel was close to where I was working, but I wouldn't stay there again. The restaurant was fine. Few other amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The downtown had varied shopping and was pretty in the holiday season.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MarkRC
Business
Springfield, IL, USA
Oct 20, 2013

Business trip

They had lost my reservation but I brought my confirmation materials. Decor was very dated. I stayed in the motor lodge part of the hotel. Poor parking and no choice of any restaurants close. Staff were not interested in providing much in the way of service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jdeghart
Business
Atlanta
Mar 24, 2014

Disappointed

Staff was not friendly, at check in, the person at the desk seemed annoyed that we had interrupted her dinner. My wife went to the front desk for an extra roll of toilet paper and they treated her like a thief. Room was hot, low water pressure, bed was against one wall, so I had to climb on from the foot of the bed. Lobby reeked of fish from the restaurant, not just on Friday, but also Saturday. One of our two rooms was missing a towel and the iron didn't work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Several stores and eating establishments a short walk from hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jdeghart
Business
Atlanta
Mar 28, 2014

Disappointing

Hotel was very convenient to shopping and restaurants. Staff was rude, my wife went to the desk to get a roll of toilet paper and they made her go back and look through the room again before sending someone up. Restaurant was only open for dinner, and the hotel lobby had a strong fish smell. Room was not laid out well, with one side of the bed up against a wall. It was also hot in the room, and shower had poor water pressure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several good places to eat and shop within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BillyJoeBob MacEntyre
Business
Auburn Alabama
Sep 25, 2014

Motor lodge at hotel price

I got to stay not int he hotel but the motor lodge next door. That's where people who book room's off of discount sites get to stay, intoned the night desk clerk. I thought i was staying at the hotel. Nope sonny boy you're at the motor lodge down the street across the alley. Room closest to the street too. The room itself does not match the pictures as it is done in early Eisenhower decor. When was the last time you saw linoleum on a hotel floor? There were two twin beds done up in early Kmart. Bathroom had no counter space just a 3 inch wide shelf over the commode. Had to be careful or you would be fishing for you toiletries. Commode also had plumbing more often found in a bus station. I also ate in the pub/cafe/restaurant. Second worst crab cake sandwich I've ever had and what I swear had to be Kraft macaroni and cheese. I've eaten in the regular linen table cloth restaurant and the food was very good. I wouldn't recommend the pub for fine dining. Lots of eclectic beer choices though. All in all not 3 star experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at Il Vocolo's (Northern/Southern Italian school of cooking) is east about a third of a mile on Oak Park Blvd just south of Lake street. Dinner fare is to die for but coffee and dessert not to good but you will be so full from the meal you won't care. Good prices and value.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kalev
Business
Scarsdale, NY
Nov 8, 2011

Be careful of this one!

Look at picture of beautiful Hotel building and lobby. However, when I checked in, they sent me to a very nondescript Motel they have next door. I was expecting a Hotel, since I like having two doors between myself and the great outdoors, and that's what the picture offered. I'm not a fan of motels. The motel was OK, nothing special. Cost was only $98. However, I'll stay elsewhere next time. Also, the front desk originally put me into a room that was already occupied! Very disorganized place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Stay elsewhere, save your money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Quizzle
Business
Springfield
Mar 25, 2013

Nice change from downtown

About 3 minute walk to Green Line (25 min. to loop) or Metra station (15 minutes to Olgilve Center). Quiet neighborhood, but close to downtown Oak Park with many restaurants, shops, F L Wright home. Motor Inn rooms were small and a bit dated, but a nice change from bigger, more sterile new hotels. Motor inn is cheaper than Hotel, but same location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Vegetarian, Venezuelan, Chinese, sports bars, sandwich places, bread shop - full range within a short walk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bget13
Business
chicago, il
Aug 11, 2010

carleton oak park review

The location is great, rooms are pretty small but nice. A few ants in the bathroom and the fan is pretty loud. Other than that, decent quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fuji Grill..good japanese.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top