$118 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 26, 2014 Check-out: Aug 27, 2014

Carleton of Oak Park

3 stars
1110 Pleasant St., Oak Park, IL 60302
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
60 reviews
Very comfortable

Spacious comfortable room. The staff was very accommodating and willing to help out in every way.... See full review

  • Rimac
  • Jun 3, 2014
Oasis

The service was excellent. I got lost everyday. I would call the front desk and the they would tell... See full review

  • Xylem
  • May 21, 2014
Residential serenity in cultural neighborhood near downtown Chicago
Fans of Frank Lloyd Wright and Ernest Hemingway always return to the Carleton of Oak Park hotel, where tidy hotel rooms lie within walking distance to attractions surrounding the famous former residents. In a quiet, yet cultural, neighborhood 10 miles outside Chicago, this boutique retreat was built in 1928 as a residential hotel and retains its historic charm. Antique and reproduction furnishings fill the Carleton of Oak Park hotel, including romantic guest rooms and common areas warmed by chandeliers and fireplaces.
Highlights
  • Complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
  • American grill restaurant offers seasonal outdoor dining
  • Full kitchens
  • Reach downtown Chicago in just minutes on the nearby trains
  • Near downtown Oak Park, Frank Lloyd Wright homes and birth place of Hemingway
Rooms
Cozy with a touch of traditional formality, 153 non-smoking guest rooms and suites rooms at the Carleton of Oak Park hotel offer the conveniences of home. Enjoy a kitchen with a coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator, plus a room service menu during dinner hours. Catch up on the news with cable TV or send e-mails care of free high-speed wireless Internet access, which is available throughout the Carleton of Oak Park hotel. Upgrade to soak in a Jacuzzi tub or lounge in a separate living room.
Features
Shake off a busy day in the city in the residential historic district that envelops the Carleton of Oak Park hotel. The restful convenience of this local landmark combines with an evening of classic cuisine at on-site Barclay's American Grille. Oak Park has the largest concentration of Frank Lloyd Wright-designed structures. Tour his home and studio, which is within walking distance. Three parks, the Hemingway Museum and other attractions are a stroll away. Parking is free at the Carleton of Oak Park hotel.
Transportation
  • O'Hare International Airport (15.8 mi/25.5 km)
  • Midway International Airport (16.4 mi/26.4 km)
  • Green Line CTA train and Metra/Union Pacific west line (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
Attractions
  • Frank Lloyd Wright Unity Temple (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Frank Lloyd Wright Home and Studio (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Ernest Hemingway birth place (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Millennium Park (10.7 mi/17.2 km)
  • Navy Pier (12.1 mi/19.4 km)
  • Willis Tower (10.2 mi/16.4 km)
  • McCormick Place (13 mi/20.9 km)
Business
  • Complementary high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
  • Fax and copy services (fees apply)
  • Meeting space accommodates up to 200 people

Hotel Map

41.8856 -87.8028
Area served
Oak Park.
Nearby airports
O'Hare International Airport and Midway Airport.
Area description
The Carleton of Oak Park is located just 10 miles west of Chicago in Oak Park, Illinois. Take the Eisenhower Expressway west to Harlem Ave go north to Pleasant Street and turn left. We are 2 blocks down on the left.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Carleton of Oak Park also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Carleton of Oak Park Rooms

Deluxe Double Hotel
Room with two double beds includes wireless internet access - complimentary, cable TV, microwave, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, premium bedding, hair dryer, iron/ironing board and complimentary toiletries.
Motel Room
located next door to main hotel, newly renovated rooms with 2 double beds. Rooms are equipped with microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Standard Hotel Room
Room with one queen bed includes wireless internet access - complimentary, cable TV, microwave, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, premium bedding, hair dryer, iron/ironing board and complimentary toiletries.
Deluxe King Hotel
Room with one king bed includes wireless internet access - complimentary, cable TV, microwave, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, premium bedding, hair dryer, iron/ironing board and complimentary toiletries.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Frank Lloyd Wright Home and Studio: 0.6 mi

Dining

Barclay's American Grille
Featuring Classic American Cuisine with a twist. Signature burgers, BBQ ribs, fresh seafood and an array of steaks and chops are prepared on our wood burning grill and served with our amazing homemade BBQ sauces and creative toppings. Opened November 2009
Poor Phil's
Serving breakfast, lunch and dinner is a sports bar atmosphere.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (60)

Ratings and reviews for Carleton of Oak Park

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 60
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rimac
Boston, MA, USA
Jun 3, 2014

Very comfortable

Spacious comfortable room. The staff was very accommodating and willing to help out in every way. The locations is in a lovely area of Oak Park with lots of shops and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Baker Butterfly
St. Louis, MO
Apr 20, 2010

A Gem in Oak Park

I was nervous about staying in the "motel" part of the hotel and in a west suburb of Chicago, but I was pleasantly relieved to find our room very updated, clean and in a great neighborhood. We ended up staying in Oak Park one full day because there was so much within walking distance of the hotel. The staff were friendly. Our toilet overflowed and someone was there almost immediately to fix it. The train to downtown was 1-2 blocks away-very handy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great spots to try: Bleeding Hearts Bakery (unique cupcakes), Venezuelan restaurant, also the bagel shop was very good and you can watch them make the bagels.

Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
coupleofus
Chicago, IL, USA
Jan 1, 2014

Go to place in Oak Park

great location, great staff. we stay at outdoor rooms, which are less luxurious Nice they had a Christmas day continental breakfas

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Central Illinois
Aug 8, 2011

Family weekend

The hotel was fantastic, accommodating, clean and well air conditioned. The whole of Chicagoland was sold out that weekend and we appreciated the service. It is perfectly located in Oak Park and very convenient to public transportation to Downtown. I will stay there again. Service was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sassie mom
Fulton, Missouri
Aug 22, 2012

Rough start, good finish!!!

At first, the experience was a nightmare the reservation was not done correct and after an 8hoping hour drive. Rooms were separated and not the right type, plus the running around to find them then being talked down to by night staff cause rooms were changed 3 times made a rough start. But the next day I spoke Ann the manager and she was very comforting and willing to help for all the inconvenience the night before. She did wonderful. The rooms are very nice, the staff was helpful, and the location was so pretty. This is a well hidden secret i almost hate telling how happy i was so i can keep this as my perfect Chicago hideaway. Definitely would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The green line is right next to the hotel dont drive downtown take a 45great min train and save yourself the traffic which is much longer than 45minutes. If you go to the CVS down pleasant get a 1 day all ride pass for 5.95 or 3 day for 14.95 and you can ride train, bus, and subway all day as much as u want.

Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Andrea S
Michigan
Aug 23, 2013

Convenient to Downtown, clean, free parking

We were disappointed to find that with the good rate quoted that we were placed in the "motorlodge" portion of the facility, not in the hotel itself. BUT, it turned out fine. The room was very comfortable and clean (though I did buy earplugs because the walls in that part were a bit thin and our neighbor was a quiet but very early riser). The location is only one block from the subway and parking was free. The breakfast at the restaurant at its corner was great every day. The immediate area is very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Not sure if the restaurant at the corner is owned by hotel, but great service and great breakfasts there.

Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TLawtravels
Ohio
Oct 9, 2013

Great boutique hotel

I enjoyed staying here. Great to not have to pay for parking. Quality amenities, tasty food in the attached restaurant, pleasant staff. I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Standbys
Central, Illinois
May 3, 2010

Handy for Dominican U parents

We very much like the location for us as visitors to the area and our sons school. The hotel rooms are very spacious and comfortable and the motor lodge rooms are kind of cool in a retro sort of way. The motor lodge is usually a good value and the new flat-screen tvs are great. We visit frequently as baseball parents. Which brings up the one negative that we experience - checking in in our baseball park jeans appears to not sit well with the stiffs (guys) that work the front desk. The woman or the guy who works Sunday morning (checkout) are very pleasant and helpful. Overall, a good location for visiting the Oak Park area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jacjon
Cleveland, Ohio
Aug 9, 2011

"Good value"

The motel is so close to the transit system. It does take awhile to get downtown. We could hear people talking at night. Not sure if they were in the next room or not. Otherwise a nice place to stay in a safe area. The room was very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Athens, GA
Nov 14, 2010

Perfect for what we needed

My sister and I went to Chicago for a weekend trip and the Carleton was a great price option for us. It's two blocks from the end of the Green Line so it was super convenient for what we wanted. A place where we could simply sleep at night. The only complaint (and not really a complaint) was that the site didn't really explain that when you rent a room from the Motor Home option, that your room isn't actually inside the quaint building in the main photo - but those rooms are actually inside the smaller buildings next door - which look more like the exterior of a days inn. The interior was still fabulous; clean and modern. One last thing, our TV only got one channel, but I think that had more to do with a bad hookup ... my sister and I didn't really care enough to try and get anyone to fix it - like I said, we only used the place to sleep and shower essentially.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search