$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 14, 2015 Check-out: Jul 17, 2015

Carleton of Oak Park

3 stars
View map of 1110 Pleasant St., Oak Park, IL 60302

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
69 reviews
Very comfortable

Spacious comfortable room. The staff was very accommodating and willing to help out in every way.... See full review

  • Rimac
  • Jun 3, 2014
Oasis

The service was excellent. I got lost everyday. I would call the front desk and the they would tell... See full review

  • Xylem
  • May 21, 2014
A boutique European-style decor hotel with antique and reproduction furnishing. Located just 10 miles from downtown Chicago and 12 miles from O'Hare International Airport. The Carleton offers complimentary wireless internet access throughout the hotel, meeting and banquet facilities. Metra Commuter train, which leads into Downtown is one block from the hotel. Self-parking is complimentary. Room service is available during limited hours. Wireless available in all rooms.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Carleton of Oak Park also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Carleton of Oak Park Rooms

Deluxe Double Hotel
Room with two double beds includes wireless internet access - complimentary, cable TV, microwave, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, premium bedding, hair dryer, iron/ironing board and complimentary toiletries.
Motel Room
located next door to main hotel, newly renovated rooms with 2 double beds. Rooms are equipped with microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Standard Hotel Room
Room with one queen bed includes wireless internet access - complimentary, cable TV, microwave, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, premium bedding, hair dryer, iron/ironing board and complimentary toiletries.
Deluxe King Hotel
Room with one king bed includes wireless internet access - complimentary, cable TV, microwave, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, premium bedding, hair dryer, iron/ironing board and complimentary toiletries.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Frank Lloyd Wright Home and Studio: 0.6 mi

Dining

Barclay's American Grille
Featuring Classic American Cuisine with a twist. Signature burgers, BBQ ribs, fresh seafood and an array of steaks and chops are prepared on our wood burning grill and served with our amazing homemade BBQ sauces and creative toppings. Opened November 2009
Poor Phil's
Serving breakfast, lunch and dinner is a sports bar atmosphere.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Carleton of Oak Park

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
14 out of 69
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.1

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BillyJoeBob MacEntyre
Business
N/A
May 9, 2015

The boys form Shanghai

I recently had the pleasure of spending 3 nights at the Carleton with four gentlemen from China. They were impressed with the hotel. They had no negative comments and enjoyed their stay. We had dinner at Barclay's and breakfast in the Cafe. All in all it was a good stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
On the interview road
Business
Richmond, Virginia
Nov 19, 2014

Great for a stay in Oak Park

Stayed at Carleton one night for an interview at Oak Park. Staff was wonderful and main hotel was very nice. The motel attached to the main hotel is more standard, but did the job just fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BillyJoeBob MacEntyre
Business
Auburn, Alabama
Nov 14, 2014

3rd review of Hotel

This is my third review of this particular property and this time around I'd like to mention something that usually goes unnoticed by guests. It a little thing but can make a large difference in the comfort of your stay. I'm talking about the HVAC system the hotel uses. It's old fashioned hot water radiators! The rooms are heat balanced and very pleasant to spend a night in. You don't wake up with the feeling that someone blew the Sahara desert up your nasal cavities or spend the night shivering and then having a wall HVAC system blast furnace your body.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The in hotel cafe has 100's of beers available, a good basic hamburger, popcorn and you can catch the Bears/Hawks/Bulls/Cubs/Sox playing most nights.

Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BillyJoeBob MacEntyre
Business
Auburn Alabama
Oct 15, 2014

Learned more

My previous review was from a one shot experience with the property. I'd like to amend some of my impressions after experiencing more of the Carleton's amenities. My corporate lodging policy requires us to avail ourselves of the most frugal lodging choices. After weighing the choices in the Chicago west side the Carleton is a good value. There is plenty to do and the neighborhood is safe for after work hours strolling around. The main hotel has lots of charm and the rooms there are very nice. I stay at the motor lodge and it is growing on me but the main hotel would be my preferred abode.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bar Louie's has 1$ hamburgers on Tuesday nights. The Book Table is an old school hole in the wall book store. I waste a lot of excellent time in there. You can't swing a dead cat in Oak Park without hitting a Frank Loyd Wright architectural delight. Bring comfortable walking shoes.

Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BillyJoeBob MacEntyre
Business
Auburn Alabama
Sep 25, 2014

Motor lodge at hotel price

I got to stay not int he hotel but the motor lodge next door. That's where people who book room's off of discount sites get to stay, intoned the night desk clerk. I thought i was staying at the hotel. Nope sonny boy you're at the motor lodge down the street across the alley. Room closest to the street too. The room itself does not match the pictures as it is done in early Eisenhower decor. When was the last time you saw linoleum on a hotel floor? There were two twin beds done up in early Kmart. Bathroom had no counter space just a 3 inch wide shelf over the commode. Had to be careful or you would be fishing for you toiletries. Commode also had plumbing more often found in a bus station. I also ate in the pub/cafe/restaurant. Second worst crab cake sandwich I've ever had and what I swear had to be Kraft macaroni and cheese. I've eaten in the regular linen table cloth restaurant and the food was very good. I wouldn't recommend the pub for fine dining. Lots of eclectic beer choices though. All in all not 3 star experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at Il Vocolo's (Northern/Southern Italian school of cooking) is east about a third of a mile on Oak Park Blvd just south of Lake street. Dinner fare is to die for but coffee and dessert not to good but you will be so full from the meal you won't care. Good prices and value.

Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Chirag.modi
Business
Denver, Pa
Aug 3, 2014

Not a business friendly location

All downtown hotels were full and therefore I had to venture in Oak Park. Oak Park downtown is cozy but getting there is a pain from downtown Chicago. Staff could not find my reservation for some time. Room was okay but lacked that extra edge. Pricing wasn't so cheap and therefore my below average rating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Wine and cheese place across the bike shop, less than a minute walk from Hotel is fantastic.

Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tuner
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Jul 11, 2014

very nice stay

I booked a room thinking it was in the hotel but it was in the motel. A couple of the lights did not work but it was a last minute decision to stay because of work near by. The bed was very comfortable and the room immaculate. There was a bible in the bed stand which was appreciated. I would love to try the hotel the next time. The motel was overpriced for what it was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MarkRC
Business
Springfield, IL, USA
Oct 20, 2013

Business trip

They had lost my reservation but I brought my confirmation materials. Decor was very dated. I stayed in the motor lodge part of the hotel. Poor parking and no choice of any restaurants close. Staff were not interested in providing much in the way of service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
buraq
Business
Turkey
Dec 5, 2012

Great place at Oak Park

The hotel is located almost mid of the Oak Park. Stayed at the Motel site with free parking, which is very close also. The heating system was a bit noisy. Room was clean and staff were helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Various shops and places to eat.

Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
thelauralynn
Business
Chicago, Il
May 9, 2012

Carleton

Would not stay here again. The room smelt and I could hear everything from the rooms next door. Also- heater was very loud and right by the bed so every time it would kick on it would wake me up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top