$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 26, 2015

Carleton of Oak Park

3 stars
View map of 1110 Pleasant St., Oak Park, IL 60302

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Carleton of Oak Park

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
65 out of 65
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sassie mom
Business
Fulton, Missouri
Aug 22, 2012

Rough start, good finish!!!

At first, the experience was a nightmare the reservation was not done correct and after an 8hoping hour drive. Rooms were separated and not the right type, plus the running around to find them then being talked down to by night staff cause rooms were changed 3 times made a rough start. But the next day I spoke Ann the manager and she was very comforting and willing to help for all the inconvenience the night before. She did wonderful. The rooms are very nice, the staff was helpful, and the location was so pretty. This is a well hidden secret i almost hate telling how happy i was so i can keep this as my perfect Chicago hideaway. Definitely would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The green line is right next to the hotel dont drive downtown take a 45great min train and save yourself the traffic which is much longer than 45minutes. If you go to the CVS down pleasant get a 1 day all ride pass for 5.95 or 3 day for 14.95 and you can ride train, bus, and subway all day as much as u want.

Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
thelauralynn
Business
Chicago, Il
May 9, 2012

Carleton

Would not stay here again. The room smelt and I could hear everything from the rooms next door. Also- heater was very loud and right by the bed so every time it would kick on it would wake me up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Maybe Not
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Dec 6, 2011

Quirky, Not Comfortable

While I enjoy quaint properties while on vacation, they don't always lend themselves to productivity for business trips. This hotel is very old, but through several remodels (an another coming, according to the poster in the lobby) the facility has lost its charm while retaining its fairly primitive accommodations. For instance, the heat is (supposed to be) provided by an old metal radiator. There was a dial to control it, which seemed to make no difference at all in its output. The hotel was close to where I was working, but I wouldn't stay there again. The restaurant was fine. Few other amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The downtown had varied shopping and was pretty in the holiday season.

Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kalev
Business
Scarsdale, NY
Nov 8, 2011

Be careful of this one!

Look at picture of beautiful Hotel building and lobby. However, when I checked in, they sent me to a very nondescript Motel they have next door. I was expecting a Hotel, since I like having two doors between myself and the great outdoors, and that's what the picture offered. I'm not a fan of motels. The motel was OK, nothing special. Cost was only $98. However, I'll stay elsewhere next time. Also, the front desk originally put me into a room that was already occupied! Very disorganized place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Stay elsewhere, save your money.

Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Do I have a nick name
Business
Redmond
Sep 11, 2011

my trip

Quiet comfortable, Quiet clean, Oldish and Quiet place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lot of restaurants around in 2 blocks distance and a nice bar in the hotel

Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LJDenver
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Aug 27, 2011

Great place to stay

Hotel was great, loved the design inside the room. Free parking and just blocks from the train.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jacjon
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Aug 9, 2011

"Good value"

The motel is so close to the transit system. It does take awhile to get downtown. We could hear people talking at night. Not sure if they were in the next room or not. Otherwise a nice place to stay in a safe area. The room was very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nyc
Jun 16, 2011

good value, great location

Good spot, nice setting and rooms, great location one block from the green line train.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

side alley passage goes direct to the green line stop, a three minute walk away...great !

Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kennewick, WA
May 16, 2011

Boutique Goodness

Great location. Fantastic part of town. This hotel was a happening place but when you got up to your room it was calm and peaceful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Quick drive to Logan Square where my son lives. Then off on the Blue Line to the Cubs game.

Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jo mamma
Business
Maumee, OH
May 16, 2011

Nice boutique hotel room was very clean

Visited family near by. Walked to downtown Oak Park. Room was a little stuffie the a/c did not cool the room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top