$124 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 21, 2015 Check-out: Apr 24, 2015

Carleton of Oak Park

3 stars
View map of 1110 Pleasant St., Oak Park, IL 60302

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Carleton of Oak Park

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
66 out of 66
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
buraq
Business
Turkey
Dec 5, 2012

Great place at Oak Park

The hotel is located almost mid of the Oak Park. Stayed at the Motel site with free parking, which is very close also. The heating system was a bit noisy. Room was clean and staff were helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Various shops and places to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MarkRC
Business
Springfield, IL, USA
Oct 20, 2013

Business trip

They had lost my reservation but I brought my confirmation materials. Decor was very dated. I stayed in the motor lodge part of the hotel. Poor parking and no choice of any restaurants close. Staff were not interested in providing much in the way of service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LastMinRoadtrip
Business
Houston, TX
Oct 17, 2013

Lovely location and stay

Gone are the 1980s bed covers! New white duvets/coverlets have taken their place. Gone are old, worn-out mattresses! Replaced with nice, firm mattresses that my old, tired back really appreciated . :) Gone are the front desk staff that ignores you while they play Angry Birds. They are quick to greet you with a smile and "Good morning/afternoon/evening". These were the things complained about in other reviews that made me hesitate before booking. They have been addressed. It is an older place (built in 1920s) and can be a bit of a maze inside the main hotel, but the rooms are nice: Tall ceilings, microwave, mini-fridge, cabinets stocked with utensils and plates and dishes. It's a great home base for exploring Chicago. The L is literally a block away. Jump on the Green Line, it takes you right to all the tourist hotspots downtown! Weddings due occur here so be prepared to walk by, around and through the planning of them, but there were zero problems with noise. I was on the 4th floor though. It was not a hindrance, just something to be aware of. There are two restaurants in the hotel. I did not dine at either one, but that is available if needed. The only things I would improve upon would be to replace the older chairs in the room and housekeeping needs to be more thorough. Mildew has built up in some areas of grout in the shower and noted a thick layer of dust on bedside lamp - not on the bottom of the base (where it's more noticeable), but on the top near the bulb. Perhaps more thorough training of staff needs to occur. I never felt that I was in a grossly unclean place though. They just need to improve their deep cleaning. Overall, nice stay. Great for people looking for a place that is budget friendly. I definitely plan to book this hotel again whenever I visit Chicago in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TLawtravels
Business
Ohio
Oct 9, 2013

Great boutique hotel

I enjoyed staying here. Great to not have to pay for parking. Quality amenities, tasty food in the attached restaurant, pleasant staff. I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Andrea S
Business
Michigan
Aug 23, 2013

Convenient to Downtown, clean, free parking

We were disappointed to find that with the good rate quoted that we were placed in the "motorlodge" portion of the facility, not in the hotel itself. BUT, it turned out fine. The room was very comfortable and clean (though I did buy earplugs because the walls in that part were a bit thin and our neighbor was a quiet but very early riser). The location is only one block from the subway and parking was free. The breakfast at the restaurant at its corner was great every day. The immediate area is very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Not sure if the restaurant at the corner is owned by hotel, but great service and great breakfasts there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Oak Park grandmother
Business
Indiana
Aug 19, 2013

Excellent place to while visiting family

Cab came right. Bellboy available. Television did not turn because it was in an armoir

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Quizzle
Business
Springfield
Mar 25, 2013

Nice change from downtown

About 3 minute walk to Green Line (25 min. to loop) or Metra station (15 minutes to Olgilve Center). Quiet neighborhood, but close to downtown Oak Park with many restaurants, shops, F L Wright home. Motor Inn rooms were small and a bit dated, but a nice change from bigger, more sterile new hotels. Motor inn is cheaper than Hotel, but same location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Vegetarian, Venezuelan, Chinese, sports bars, sandwich places, bread shop - full range within a short walk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
buraq
Business
Turkey
Dec 5, 2012

Great place at Oak Park

The hotel is located almost mid of the Oak Park. Stayed at the Motel site with free parking, which is very close also. The heating system was a bit noisy. Room was clean and staff were helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Various shops and places to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Parketh57
Business
Lakewood, OH
Sep 26, 2012

Worth a visit

Charming hotel/motel with nearby quaint shops, parks, Wright Studio and subway into downtown Chicago. The motel rooms are budget priced and clean. Free parking is limited and a bit complicated if you come back late and have to park on city streets. Very much a walking or biking neighborhood. On site restaurant and nearby cheese shop/restaurant are worth visiting!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Around the corner is bike rental shop managed by friendly, informative local. Bike to Frank Lloyd Wright Studio to get your timed tickets and then ride around the neighborhood before the tour starts.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sassie mom
Business
Fulton, Missouri
Aug 22, 2012

Rough start, good finish!!!

At first, the experience was a nightmare the reservation was not done correct and after an 8hoping hour drive. Rooms were separated and not the right type, plus the running around to find them then being talked down to by night staff cause rooms were changed 3 times made a rough start. But the next day I spoke Ann the manager and she was very comforting and willing to help for all the inconvenience the night before. She did wonderful. The rooms are very nice, the staff was helpful, and the location was so pretty. This is a well hidden secret i almost hate telling how happy i was so i can keep this as my perfect Chicago hideaway. Definitely would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The green line is right next to the hotel dont drive downtown take a 45great min train and save yourself the traffic which is much longer than 45minutes. If you go to the CVS down pleasant get a 1 day all ride pass for 5.95 or 3 day for 14.95 and you can ride train, bus, and subway all day as much as u want.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pennywhistle
Business
Iowa City, IA
Aug 13, 2012

Lovely hotel

We very much enjoyed this hotel and its setting in Oak Park. A quick walk to the train station, little shops and restaurants set in a pleasant neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top