$123 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2015 Check-out: Jul 23, 2015

Carleton of Oak Park

3 stars
View map of 1110 Pleasant St., Oak Park, IL 60302

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Carleton of Oak Park

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
69 out of 69
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Chirag.modi
Business
Denver, Pa
Aug 3, 2014

Not a business friendly location

All downtown hotels were full and therefore I had to venture in Oak Park. Oak Park downtown is cozy but getting there is a pain from downtown Chicago. Staff could not find my reservation for some time. Room was okay but lacked that extra edge. Pricing wasn't so cheap and therefore my below average rating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Wine and cheese place across the bike shop, less than a minute walk from Hotel is fantastic.

Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Coach Smoke
Business
Erie, PA
Jul 25, 2014

decent clean olf fashioned

Good location, good food, a little pricey for no pool or exercise room. Staff polite but not real friendly. Nice flat screen cable tv. comfortable bed. maids cleaned up the room every day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Poor Phils for breakfast and lunch. The other in house restaurant for dinner.

Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tuner
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Jul 11, 2014

very nice stay

I booked a room thinking it was in the hotel but it was in the motel. A couple of the lights did not work but it was a last minute decision to stay because of work near by. The bed was very comfortable and the room immaculate. There was a bible in the bed stand which was appreciated. I would love to try the hotel the next time. The motel was overpriced for what it was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CMick
Business
Phoenix, Az
Jun 12, 2014

Just the two of us...

Carleton of Oak Park is a quaint hotel in a nice location if you don't want to be too close to Chicago. The elevated train is about one block away, but it is a fairly long ride to get to the city. However, if you simply want to hang out in a pretty little place and check out Frank Lloyd Wright architecture, then this is a great spot. The hotel breakfast restaurant was too pricey. Front desk staff were very helpful with assisting us with directions, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of restaurants within walking distance...check them out.

Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Boerst
Business
Dallas tx
Jun 11, 2014

Gorgeous hotel

We loved it-made me want to stay more than one night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the L to downtown and back. Much cheaper than parking!

Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rimac
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Jun 3, 2014

Very comfortable

Spacious comfortable room. The staff was very accommodating and willing to help out in every way. The locations is in a lovely area of Oak Park with lots of shops and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Xylem
Business
Cordova
May 21, 2014

Oasis

The service was excellent. I got lost everyday. I would call the front desk and the they would tell me which street to take to get to my destination. If you are a problem child like me this is your hotel. The antique furniture and the architectural details of the Carleton of Oak Park hotel reminded me of visiting my grandmother house. I was very impressed with my bedroom. The only thing missing from the wooden, full size, two poster bed were the tassels on the bedspread. All this and free, convent parking in Chicago. I really enjoyed my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
chuckyy
Business
virginia
May 20, 2014

awesome place

very good neighborhood and the price is worth spending

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jdeghart
Business
Atlanta
Mar 28, 2014

Disappointing

Hotel was very convenient to shopping and restaurants. Staff was rude, my wife went to the desk to get a roll of toilet paper and they made her go back and look through the room again before sending someone up. Restaurant was only open for dinner, and the hotel lobby had a strong fish smell. Room was not laid out well, with one side of the bed up against a wall. It was also hot in the room, and shower had poor water pressure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several good places to eat and shop within walking distance.

Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jdeghart
Business
Atlanta
Mar 24, 2014

Disappointed

Staff was not friendly, at check in, the person at the desk seemed annoyed that we had interrupted her dinner. My wife went to the front desk for an extra roll of toilet paper and they treated her like a thief. Room was hot, low water pressure, bed was against one wall, so I had to climb on from the foot of the bed. Lobby reeked of fish from the restaurant, not just on Friday, but also Saturday. One of our two rooms was missing a towel and the iron didn't work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Several stores and eating establishments a short walk from hotel

Back to menu Return to top