$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 20, 2015 Check-out: Sep 23, 2015

Carleton of Oak Park

3 stars
View map of 1110 Pleasant St., Oak Park, IL 60302

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
68 reviews
Comfortable and Convienient - I'll be rebooking!

Surroundings: The Carleton is fittingly located on the corner of Pleasant Street and Marion Street.... See full review

  • Emily R.
  • Aug 5, 2015
medical procedure trip

we were very pleased with the location and cleanliness of our room. the staff was helpful and even... See full review

  • SCOTT E.
  • Jul 9, 2015
Fans of Frank Lloyd Wright and Ernest Hemingway always return to the Carleton of Oak Park hotel, where tidy hotel rooms lie within walking distance to attractions surrounding the famous former residents. In a quiet, yet cultural, neighborhood 10 miles outside Chicago, this boutique retreat was built in 1928 as a residential hotel and retains its historic charm. Antique and reproduction furnishings fill the Carleton of Oak Park hotel, including romantic guest rooms and common areas warmed by chandeliers and fireplaces.
Rooms
Cozy with a touch of traditional formality, 153 non-smoking guest rooms and suites rooms at the Carleton of Oak Park hotel offer the conveniences of home. Enjoy a kitchen with a coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator, plus a room service menu during dinner hours. Catch up on the news with cable TV or send e-mails care of free high-speed wireless Internet access, which is available throughout the Carleton of Oak Park hotel. Upgrade to soak in a Jacuzzi tub or lounge in a separate living room.
Property features
Shake off a busy day in the city in the residential historic district that envelops the Carleton of Oak Park hotel. The restful convenience of this local landmark combines with an evening of classic cuisine at on-site Barclay's American Grille. Oak Park has the largest concentration of Frank Lloyd Wright-designed structures. Tour his home and studio, which is within walking distance. Three parks, the Hemingway Museum and other attractions are a stroll away. Parking is free at the Carleton of Oak Park hotel.
Highlights
  • Complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
  • American grill restaurant offers seasonal outdoor dining
  • Full kitchens
  • Reach downtown Chicago in just minutes on the nearby trains
  • Near downtown Oak Park, Frank Lloyd Wright homes and birth place of Hemingway
Nearby attractions
  • Frank Lloyd Wright Unity Temple (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Frank Lloyd Wright Home and Studio (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Ernest Hemingway birth place (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Millennium Park (10.7 mi/17.2 km)
  • Navy Pier (12.1 mi/19.4 km)
  • Willis Tower (10.2 mi/16.4 km)
  • McCormick Place (13 mi/20.9 km)
Business
  • Complementary high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
  • Fax and copy services (fees apply)
  • Meeting space accommodates up to 200 people
Transportation
  • O'Hare International Airport (15.8 mi/25.5 km)
  • Midway International Airport (16.4 mi/26.4 km)
  • Green Line CTA train and Metra/Union Pacific west line (0.1 mi/0.1 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Carleton of Oak Park also booked these hotels.

★★★
$95
3.7 / 5 118 reviews
★★
$132
3.2 / 5 22 reviews
★★★
$125
3.3 / 5 1,174 reviews
★★★
$87
4.1 / 5 65 reviews
★★★★
$129
4.1 / 5 705 reviews
★★★
$109
4.0 / 5 28 reviews
★★★
$87
3.5 / 5 258 reviews
★★
$69
3.5 / 5 99 reviews
★★★★
$84
3.9 / 5 91 reviews

Carleton of Oak Park Rooms

Deluxe Double Hotel
Room with two double beds includes wireless internet access - complimentary, cable TV, microwave, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, premium bedding, hair dryer, iron/ironing board and complimentary toiletries.
Motel Room
located next door to main hotel, newly renovated rooms with 2 double beds. Rooms are equipped with microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Standard Hotel Room
Room with one queen bed includes wireless internet access - complimentary, cable TV, microwave, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, premium bedding, hair dryer, iron/ironing board and complimentary toiletries.
Deluxe King Hotel
Room with one king bed includes wireless internet access - complimentary, cable TV, microwave, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, premium bedding, hair dryer, iron/ironing board and complimentary toiletries.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Frank Lloyd Wright Home and Studio: 0.6 mi

Dining

Barclay's American Grille
Featuring Classic American Cuisine with a twist. Signature burgers, BBQ ribs, fresh seafood and an array of steaks and chops are prepared on our wood burning grill and served with our amazing homemade BBQ sauces and creative toppings. Opened November 2009
Poor Phil's
Serving breakfast, lunch and dinner is a sports bar atmosphere.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Carleton of Oak Park

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
68 out of 68
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
buraq
Business
Turkey
Dec 5, 2012

Great place at Oak Park

The hotel is located almost mid of the Oak Park. Stayed at the Motel site with free parking, which is very close also. The heating system was a bit noisy. Room was clean and staff were helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Various shops and places to eat.

Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
El Neilo
Couples
N/A
Aug 12, 2015

Perfect FOR US

Had a room with sitting room and kitchenette. Clean. Less than a mile from the folks we were visiting. Right in downtown OP. We didn't use WiFI so can't speak to that. Access to the Y down the street was a bonus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Emily R.
Couples
N/A
Aug 5, 2015

Comfortable and Convienient - I'll be rebooking!

Surroundings: The Carleton is fittingly located on the corner of Pleasant Street and Marion Street. Marion Street is a cute little downtown street that has many different cafes, restaurants, and boutiques. Most of the cafes and restaurants have outdoor seating, which gave the area a very welcoming and vibrant air. The hotel is nestled in a safe and clean area. Rooms and Amenities: The room was basic but clean and comfortable. My husband and I shared a room with another couple we had enough space to move around. The room included a fridge and single serve coffee maker. It also had a decently sized closet with a full size ironing board and iron. The wireless internet worked but my phone kept disconnecting from it if I wasn't actively using it. The only thing I wish the hotel had was a pool! :o) Convenience: For people wanting to go into the city, the Green Line is located a block and a half from the hotel. We were first time users of the public transportation system (CTA) and had NO problems. It was about a 15 minute ride into Chicago. I will definitely book a room at the Carleton any time I will be visiting Chicago, and I have already recommended it to friends and family!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
coupleofus
Couples
OAK PARK
Aug 1, 2015

Great location smack in the middle of Oak Park

Hotel is lovely. Biggest problem is that it is booked up so often. Staff is always super helpful. Nice boutique hotel with so many great places to go within a few blocks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SCOTT E.
Family
BALTIMORE
Jul 9, 2015

medical procedure trip

we were very pleased with the location and cleanliness of our room. the staff was helpful and even gave us a coupon to dinner at a local restaurant in which we happened to be interested. The local stores and coffee shops were very appealing and satisfying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BillyJoeBob MacEntyre
Business
N/A
May 9, 2015

The boys form Shanghai

I recently had the pleasure of spending 3 nights at the Carleton with four gentlemen from China. They were impressed with the hotel. They had no negative comments and enjoyed their stay. We had dinner at Barclay's and breakfast in the Cafe. All in all it was a good stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rusty
Friends
Brooklyn
Jan 28, 2015

Ok.

I'd probably airbnb next time. It felt lackluster. Dated and not particularly comfortable. Needs a renovation, and the staff needs to cheer it bit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
On the interview road
Business
Richmond, Virginia
Nov 19, 2014

Great for a stay in Oak Park

Stayed at Carleton one night for an interview at Oak Park. Staff was wonderful and main hotel was very nice. The motel attached to the main hotel is more standard, but did the job just fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jeanne C
Family
Sedona, AZ
Nov 17, 2014

Great Location

Walking distance and very convenient to my visit. Knowledgable staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BillyJoeBob MacEntyre
Business
Auburn, Alabama
Nov 14, 2014

3rd review of Hotel

This is my third review of this particular property and this time around I'd like to mention something that usually goes unnoticed by guests. It a little thing but can make a large difference in the comfort of your stay. I'm talking about the HVAC system the hotel uses. It's old fashioned hot water radiators! The rooms are heat balanced and very pleasant to spend a night in. You don't wake up with the feeling that someone blew the Sahara desert up your nasal cavities or spend the night shivering and then having a wall HVAC system blast furnace your body.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The in hotel cafe has 100's of beers available, a good basic hamburger, popcorn and you can catch the Bears/Hawks/Bulls/Cubs/Sox playing most nights.

Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cranky Maggie
Couples
Petersburg, Illinois
Nov 3, 2014

Lovely older hotel

The Carleton is a gem in a great neighborhood. Our room was actually a suite with a small dining room and a galley kitchen. While we chose to eat all of our meals out, it would be great for families looking to save a few dollars having lunch or breakfast in the room.. While not upscale and glitzy, the hotel is charming, the staff are great, and the breakfast at Poor Phil's on site can't be beat. The downtown shopping area of Oak Park is an easy walk. We will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top