$118 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 14, 2014 Check-out: Jul 16, 2014

Carleton of Oak Park

3 stars
1110 Pleasant St., Oak Park, IL 60302
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
85 reviews
Very comfortable

Spacious comfortable room. The staff was very accommodating and willing to help out in every way.... See full review

  • Rimac
  • Jun 3, 2014
Oasis

The service was excellent. I got lost everyday. I would call the front desk and the they would tell... See full review

  • Xylem
  • May 21, 2014
Residential serenity in cultural neighborhood near downtown Chicago
Fans of Frank Lloyd Wright and Ernest Hemingway always return to the Carleton of Oak Park hotel, where tidy hotel rooms lie within walking distance to attractions surrounding the famous former residents. In a quiet, yet cultural, neighborhood 10 miles outside Chicago, this boutique retreat was built in 1928 as a residential hotel and retains its historic charm. Antique and reproduction furnishings fill the Carleton of Oak Park hotel, including romantic guest rooms and common areas warmed by chandeliers and fireplaces.
Highlights
  • Complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
  • American grill restaurant offers seasonal outdoor dining
  • Full kitchens
  • Reach downtown Chicago in just minutes on the nearby trains
  • Near downtown Oak Park, Frank Lloyd Wright homes and birth place of Hemingway
Rooms
Cozy with a touch of traditional formality, 153 non-smoking guest rooms and suites rooms at the Carleton of Oak Park hotel offer the conveniences of home. Enjoy a kitchen with a coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator, plus a room service menu during dinner hours. Catch up on the news with cable TV or send e-mails care of free high-speed wireless Internet access, which is available throughout the Carleton of Oak Park hotel. Upgrade to soak in a Jacuzzi tub or lounge in a separate living room.
Features
Shake off a busy day in the city in the residential historic district that envelops the Carleton of Oak Park hotel. The restful convenience of this local landmark combines with an evening of classic cuisine at on-site Barclay's American Grille. Oak Park has the largest concentration of Frank Lloyd Wright-designed structures. Tour his home and studio, which is within walking distance. Three parks, the Hemingway Museum and other attractions are a stroll away. Parking is free at the Carleton of Oak Park hotel.
Transportation
  • O'Hare International Airport (15.8 mi/25.5 km)
  • Midway International Airport (16.4 mi/26.4 km)
  • Green Line CTA train and Metra/Union Pacific west line (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
Attractions
  • Frank Lloyd Wright Unity Temple (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Frank Lloyd Wright Home and Studio (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Ernest Hemingway birth place (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Millennium Park (10.7 mi/17.2 km)
  • Navy Pier (12.1 mi/19.4 km)
  • Willis Tower (10.2 mi/16.4 km)
  • McCormick Place (13 mi/20.9 km)
Business
  • Complementary high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
  • Fax and copy services (fees apply)
  • Meeting space accommodates up to 200 people

Hotel Map

41.8856 -87.8028
Area served
Oak Park.
Nearby airports
O'Hare International Airport and Midway Airport.
Area description
The Carleton of Oak Park is located just 10 miles west of Chicago in Oak Park, Illinois. Take the Eisenhower Expressway west to Harlem Ave go north to Pleasant Street and turn left. We are 2 blocks down on the left.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Carleton of Oak Park also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Carleton of Oak Park Rooms

Deluxe Double Hotel
Room with two double beds includes wireless internet access - complimentary, cable TV, microwave, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, premium bedding, hair dryer, iron/ironing board and complimentary toiletries.
Motel Room
located next door to main hotel, newly renovated rooms with 2 double beds. Rooms are equipped with microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Standard Hotel Room
Room with one queen bed includes wireless internet access - complimentary, cable TV, microwave, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, premium bedding, hair dryer, iron/ironing board and complimentary toiletries.
Deluxe King Hotel
Room with one king bed includes wireless internet access - complimentary, cable TV, microwave, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, premium bedding, hair dryer, iron/ironing board and complimentary toiletries.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Frank Lloyd Wright Home and Studio: 0.6 mi

Dining

Barclay's American Grille
Featuring Classic American Cuisine with a twist. Signature burgers, BBQ ribs, fresh seafood and an array of steaks and chops are prepared on our wood burning grill and served with our amazing homemade BBQ sauces and creative toppings. Opened November 2009
Poor Phil's
Serving breakfast, lunch and dinner is a sports bar atmosphere.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (85)

Ratings and reviews for Carleton of Oak Park

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
85 out of 85
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LJDenver
Denver, CO, USA
Aug 27, 2011

Great place to stay

Hotel was great, loved the design inside the room. Free parking and just blocks from the train.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CMick
Phoenix, Az
Jun 12, 2014

Just the two of us...

Carleton of Oak Park is a quaint hotel in a nice location if you don't want to be too close to Chicago. The elevated train is about one block away, but it is a fairly long ride to get to the city. However, if you simply want to hang out in a pretty little place and check out Frank Lloyd Wright architecture, then this is a great spot. The hotel breakfast restaurant was too pricey. Front desk staff were very helpful with assisting us with directions, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of restaurants within walking distance...check them out.

Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Boerst
Dallas tx
Jun 11, 2014

Gorgeous hotel

We loved it-made me want to stay more than one night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the L to downtown and back. Much cheaper than parking!

Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rimac
Boston, MA, USA
Jun 3, 2014

Very comfortable

Spacious comfortable room. The staff was very accommodating and willing to help out in every way. The locations is in a lovely area of Oak Park with lots of shops and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Xylem
Cordova
May 21, 2014

Oasis

The service was excellent. I got lost everyday. I would call the front desk and the they would tell me which street to take to get to my destination. If you are a problem child like me this is your hotel. The antique furniture and the architectural details of the Carleton of Oak Park hotel reminded me of visiting my grandmother house. I was very impressed with my bedroom. The only thing missing from the wooden, full size, two poster bed were the tassels on the bedspread. All this and free, convent parking in Chicago. I really enjoyed my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
chuckyy
virginia
May 20, 2014

awesome place

very good neighborhood and the price is worth spending

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jdeghart
Atlanta
Mar 28, 2014

Disappointing

Hotel was very convenient to shopping and restaurants. Staff was rude, my wife went to the desk to get a roll of toilet paper and they made her go back and look through the room again before sending someone up. Restaurant was only open for dinner, and the hotel lobby had a strong fish smell. Room was not laid out well, with one side of the bed up against a wall. It was also hot in the room, and shower had poor water pressure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several good places to eat and shop within walking distance.

Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jdeghart
Atlanta
Mar 24, 2014

Disappointed

Staff was not friendly, at check in, the person at the desk seemed annoyed that we had interrupted her dinner. My wife went to the front desk for an extra roll of toilet paper and they treated her like a thief. Room was hot, low water pressure, bed was against one wall, so I had to climb on from the foot of the bed. Lobby reeked of fish from the restaurant, not just on Friday, but also Saturday. One of our two rooms was missing a towel and the iron didn't work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Several stores and eating establishments a short walk from hotel

Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
coupleofus
Chicago, IL, USA
Jan 1, 2014

Go to place in Oak Park

great location, great staff. we stay at outdoor rooms, which are less luxurious Nice they had a Christmas day continental breakfas

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MarkRC
Business
Springfield, IL, USA
Oct 20, 2013

Business trip

They had lost my reservation but I brought my confirmation materials. Decor was very dated. I stayed in the motor lodge part of the hotel. Poor parking and no choice of any restaurants close. Staff were not interested in providing much in the way of service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LastMinRoadtrip
Houston, TX
Oct 17, 2013

Lovely location and stay

Gone are the 1980s bed covers! New white duvets/coverlets have taken their place. Gone are old, worn-out mattresses! Replaced with nice, firm mattresses that my old, tired back really appreciated . :) Gone are the front desk staff that ignores you while they play Angry Birds. They are quick to greet you with a smile and "Good morning/afternoon/evening". These were the things complained about in other reviews that made me hesitate before booking. They have been addressed. It is an older place (built in 1920s) and can be a bit of a maze inside the main hotel, but the rooms are nice: Tall ceilings, microwave, mini-fridge, cabinets stocked with utensils and plates and dishes. It's a great home base for exploring Chicago. The L is literally a block away. Jump on the Green Line, it takes you right to all the tourist hotspots downtown! Weddings due occur here so be prepared to walk by, around and through the planning of them, but there were zero problems with noise. I was on the 4th floor though. It was not a hindrance, just something to be aware of. There are two restaurants in the hotel. I did not dine at either one, but that is available if needed. The only things I would improve upon would be to replace the older chairs in the room and housekeeping needs to be more thorough. Mildew has built up in some areas of grout in the shower and noted a thick layer of dust on bedside lamp - not on the bottom of the base (where it's more noticeable), but on the top near the bulb. Perhaps more thorough training of staff needs to occur. I never felt that I was in a grossly unclean place though. They just need to improve their deep cleaning. Overall, nice stay. Great for people looking for a place that is budget friendly. I definitely plan to book this hotel again whenever I visit Chicago in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top