$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 25, 2015

Carleton of Oak Park

3 stars
View map of 1110 Pleasant St., Oak Park, IL 60302

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
65 reviews
medical procedure trip

we were very pleased with the location and cleanliness of our room. the staff was helpful and even... See full review

  • SCOTT E.
  • Jul 9, 2015
Very comfortable

Spacious comfortable room. The staff was very accommodating and willing to help out in every way.... See full review

  • Rimac
  • Jun 3, 2014
Fans of Frank Lloyd Wright and Ernest Hemingway always return to the Carleton of Oak Park hotel, where tidy hotel rooms lie within walking distance to attractions surrounding the famous former residents. In a quiet, yet cultural, neighborhood 10 miles outside Chicago, this boutique retreat was built in 1928 as a residential hotel and retains its historic charm. Antique and reproduction furnishings fill the Carleton of Oak Park hotel, including romantic guest rooms and common areas warmed by chandeliers and fireplaces.
Rooms
Cozy with a touch of traditional formality, 153 non-smoking guest rooms and suites rooms at the Carleton of Oak Park hotel offer the conveniences of home. Enjoy a kitchen with a coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator, plus a room service menu during dinner hours. Catch up on the news with cable TV or send e-mails care of free high-speed wireless Internet access, which is available throughout the Carleton of Oak Park hotel. Upgrade to soak in a Jacuzzi tub or lounge in a separate living room.
Property features
Shake off a busy day in the city in the residential historic district that envelops the Carleton of Oak Park hotel. The restful convenience of this local landmark combines with an evening of classic cuisine at on-site Barclay's American Grille. Oak Park has the largest concentration of Frank Lloyd Wright-designed structures. Tour his home and studio, which is within walking distance. Three parks, the Hemingway Museum and other attractions are a stroll away. Parking is free at the Carleton of Oak Park hotel.
Highlights
  • Complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
  • American grill restaurant offers seasonal outdoor dining
  • Full kitchens
  • Reach downtown Chicago in just minutes on the nearby trains
  • Near downtown Oak Park, Frank Lloyd Wright homes and birth place of Hemingway
Nearby attractions
  • Frank Lloyd Wright Unity Temple (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Frank Lloyd Wright Home and Studio (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Ernest Hemingway birth place (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Millennium Park (10.7 mi/17.2 km)
  • Navy Pier (12.1 mi/19.4 km)
  • Willis Tower (10.2 mi/16.4 km)
  • McCormick Place (13 mi/20.9 km)
Business
  • Complementary high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
  • Fax and copy services (fees apply)
  • Meeting space accommodates up to 200 people
Transportation
  • O'Hare International Airport (15.8 mi/25.5 km)
  • Midway International Airport (16.4 mi/26.4 km)
  • Green Line CTA train and Metra/Union Pacific west line (0.1 mi/0.1 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Carleton of Oak Park also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Carleton of Oak Park Rooms

Deluxe Double Hotel
Room with two double beds includes wireless internet access - complimentary, cable TV, microwave, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, premium bedding, hair dryer, iron/ironing board and complimentary toiletries.
Motel Room
located next door to main hotel, newly renovated rooms with 2 double beds. Rooms are equipped with microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Standard Hotel Room
Room with one queen bed includes wireless internet access - complimentary, cable TV, microwave, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, premium bedding, hair dryer, iron/ironing board and complimentary toiletries.
Deluxe King Hotel
Room with one king bed includes wireless internet access - complimentary, cable TV, microwave, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, premium bedding, hair dryer, iron/ironing board and complimentary toiletries.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Frank Lloyd Wright Home and Studio: 0.6 mi

Dining

Barclay's American Grille
Featuring Classic American Cuisine with a twist. Signature burgers, BBQ ribs, fresh seafood and an array of steaks and chops are prepared on our wood burning grill and served with our amazing homemade BBQ sauces and creative toppings. Opened November 2009
Poor Phil's
Serving breakfast, lunch and dinner is a sports bar atmosphere.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Carleton of Oak Park

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
65 out of 65
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SCOTT E.
Business
BALTIMORE
Jul 9, 2015

medical procedure trip

we were very pleased with the location and cleanliness of our room. the staff was helpful and even gave us a coupon to dinner at a local restaurant in which we happened to be interested. The local stores and coffee shops were very appealing and satisfying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BillyJoeBob MacEntyre
Business
N/A
May 9, 2015

The boys form Shanghai

I recently had the pleasure of spending 3 nights at the Carleton with four gentlemen from China. They were impressed with the hotel. They had no negative comments and enjoyed their stay. We had dinner at Barclay's and breakfast in the Cafe. All in all it was a good stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rusty
Business
Brooklyn
Jan 28, 2015

Ok.

I'd probably airbnb next time. It felt lackluster. Dated and not particularly comfortable. Needs a renovation, and the staff needs to cheer it bit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
On the interview road
Business
Richmond, Virginia
Nov 19, 2014

Great for a stay in Oak Park

Stayed at Carleton one night for an interview at Oak Park. Staff was wonderful and main hotel was very nice. The motel attached to the main hotel is more standard, but did the job just fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jeanne C
Business
Sedona, AZ
Nov 17, 2014

Great Location

Walking distance and very convenient to my visit. Knowledgable staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BillyJoeBob MacEntyre
Business
Auburn, Alabama
Nov 14, 2014

3rd review of Hotel

This is my third review of this particular property and this time around I'd like to mention something that usually goes unnoticed by guests. It a little thing but can make a large difference in the comfort of your stay. I'm talking about the HVAC system the hotel uses. It's old fashioned hot water radiators! The rooms are heat balanced and very pleasant to spend a night in. You don't wake up with the feeling that someone blew the Sahara desert up your nasal cavities or spend the night shivering and then having a wall HVAC system blast furnace your body.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The in hotel cafe has 100's of beers available, a good basic hamburger, popcorn and you can catch the Bears/Hawks/Bulls/Cubs/Sox playing most nights.

Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cranky Maggie
Business
Petersburg, Illinois
Nov 3, 2014

Lovely older hotel

The Carleton is a gem in a great neighborhood. Our room was actually a suite with a small dining room and a galley kitchen. While we chose to eat all of our meals out, it would be great for families looking to save a few dollars having lunch or breakfast in the room.. While not upscale and glitzy, the hotel is charming, the staff are great, and the breakfast at Poor Phil's on site can't be beat. The downtown shopping area of Oak Park is an easy walk. We will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BillyJoeBob MacEntyre
Business
Auburn Alabama
Oct 15, 2014

Learned more

My previous review was from a one shot experience with the property. I'd like to amend some of my impressions after experiencing more of the Carleton's amenities. My corporate lodging policy requires us to avail ourselves of the most frugal lodging choices. After weighing the choices in the Chicago west side the Carleton is a good value. There is plenty to do and the neighborhood is safe for after work hours strolling around. The main hotel has lots of charm and the rooms there are very nice. I stay at the motor lodge and it is growing on me but the main hotel would be my preferred abode.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bar Louie's has 1$ hamburgers on Tuesday nights. The Book Table is an old school hole in the wall book store. I waste a lot of excellent time in there. You can't swing a dead cat in Oak Park without hitting a Frank Loyd Wright architectural delight. Bring comfortable walking shoes.

Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BillyJoeBob MacEntyre
Business
Auburn Alabama
Sep 25, 2014

Motor lodge at hotel price

I got to stay not int he hotel but the motor lodge next door. That's where people who book room's off of discount sites get to stay, intoned the night desk clerk. I thought i was staying at the hotel. Nope sonny boy you're at the motor lodge down the street across the alley. Room closest to the street too. The room itself does not match the pictures as it is done in early Eisenhower decor. When was the last time you saw linoleum on a hotel floor? There were two twin beds done up in early Kmart. Bathroom had no counter space just a 3 inch wide shelf over the commode. Had to be careful or you would be fishing for you toiletries. Commode also had plumbing more often found in a bus station. I also ate in the pub/cafe/restaurant. Second worst crab cake sandwich I've ever had and what I swear had to be Kraft macaroni and cheese. I've eaten in the regular linen table cloth restaurant and the food was very good. I wouldn't recommend the pub for fine dining. Lots of eclectic beer choices though. All in all not 3 star experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at Il Vocolo's (Northern/Southern Italian school of cooking) is east about a third of a mile on Oak Park Blvd just south of Lake street. Dinner fare is to die for but coffee and dessert not to good but you will be so full from the meal you won't care. Good prices and value.

Review of Carleton of Oak Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MGWV
Business
Weirton, West Virginia
Aug 4, 2014

Great Visit to the Windy City

The staff at the Carleton was outstanding. We were visiting our niece and could not have been treated better during our five days. Oak Park was a great community to visit. The restaurant at the Carleton had an outstanding sea food menu plus great breakfast choices. We were able to get to the CTA green line train with a two minute walk. While we were not in the room very much, we were totally surprised by the size and comfort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the Oak Park restaurants. Many are only a block or two away. There are many types of ethnic food available!!

Back to menu Return to top