$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 30, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Chicago Hillside

3 stars
4400 Frontage Road, Hillside, IL 60162-1734
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
170 reviews
I don't usually fill these out, but this time I must!

I really don't do the survey thing, but this time I feel that I would be doing the Best Western at... See full review

  • International Father
  • Mar 28, 2014
Great family place

We had a great time at Best Western Chicago Hillside. The food was good at the breakfast buffet and... See full review

  • Lizzyanco
  • Dec 2, 2013
Experience all that Chicago has to offer from this convenient Hillside, IL hotel near O'Hare International Airport, Frank Lloyd Wright homes and Loyola University Hospital. Discover Hillside and the surrounding area when you stay at the convenient and affordable BEST WESTERN PLUS Chicago Hillside, just 12 miles from Chicago. Perfect for business and leisure travelers alike, this Hillside hotel is close to the area's most popular attractions, like the Brookfield Zoo, the Field Museum, Adler Planetarium, Shedd Aquarium, Willis Tower and more. Sports fans are just a short drive away from watching the Chicago Bulls, Bears, Cubs and White Sox play at home - plus, the United Center, home to the Chicago Bulls, also hosts year-round concerts and events. This Hillside hotel is also close to the Oakbrook Shopping Mall for all your shopping needs. Corporate travelers appreciate that this Oakbrook area hotel offers convenient access to downtown Chicago and local businesses, such as the Oakbrook Center, Loyola University Medical Center and the Edward Hines VA Hospital. Additional amenities that include a 24-hour shuttle to O'Hare International Airport, a business center, full service ballroom and conference facilities accommodating up to 800 people make the BEST WESTERN PLUS Chicago Hillside a premiere event space in Hillside. This full-service and pet-friendly Chicago BEST WESTERN offers upgraded, spaciously-appointed guest rooms, each complete with a microwave, refrigerator, cable satellite television and high-speed Internet access. Guests are invited to make themselves at home while enjoying our seasonal outdoor heated swimming pool, onsite restaurant and 24-hour fitness center. For superior customer service, a convenient location and rates that can't be beat, make a reservation at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Chicago Hillside today!

Hotel Map

41.872 -87.8937
Area served
Berwyn, River Forest, Brookfield, Melrose Park, Addison, Schaumburg, Stone Park, Westchester, Downers Grove, North Riverside, Oakbrook, Maywood, Bellwood, Chicago, Berkeley, Northlake, Oak Park, Broadview, Forest Park, LA Grange Park, Elmhurst, Cicero
Nearby airports
(ORD), 8.00, MI, N;
Area description
Airport

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Chicago Hillside also booked these hotels.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Chicago Hillside Rooms

2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,SMOK,PILLOW,MICROFRIDGE,DESK,HISPD
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,PILLOWTOP MATTRESS,MICROFRIDGE,HISD
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,SMOK,PILLOW,MICROFRIDGE,DESK,HISPD
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,PILLOWTOP MATTRESS,MICROFRIDGE,HISD
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,NSMK
1 DOUBLE BED
1 DOUBLE BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,NSMK
1 DOUBLE BED
1 DOUBLE BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,NSMK

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Turndown service
Cribs available
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Dining

Giordano's Pizza
2.00 mile(s) from Giordano's Pizza, Full Service, Italian, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner,
Uncle Julio's Hacienda
6.00 mile(s) from Uncle Julio's Hacienda, Bar/Lounge, Mexican, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner,
Buona Beef
1.00 mile(s) from Buona Beef, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
McDonald's
1.00 mile(s) from McDonald's, Fast Food, American, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner,
Maggiano's
5.00 mile(s) from Maggiano's, Bar/Lounge, Italian, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Cheescake Factory
4.00 mile(s) from Cheescake Factory, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Old Country Buffet
4.00 mile(s) from Old Country Buffet, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Oberweis Dairy
3.00 mile(s) from Oberweis Dairy, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
IHOP
1.00 mile(s) from IHOP, Full Service, American, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner,
Pappadeux Seafood
5.00 mile(s) from Pappadeux Seafood, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: dinner,

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (170)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Chicago Hillside

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
170 out of 170
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.7
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Chicago Hillside

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Manteca
Aug 21, 2008

No Backing of Staff Promise

I booked this hotel, Best Western, Hillside, because it has a shuttle that runs 24 hours/day. My family's flight was arriving about 1am. We wanted to be certain we would get to the hotel quickly and safely since we are unfamiliar with the greater Chicago area. I called the hotel 7 hours prior to our arrival to schedule the pick-up from the airport specifically stating the airline, the time of arrival, and the airport where we were landing. The clerk promised to have the shuttle at door 2 at 1:15am. He made a point of telling us to be sure to be there at that time. Our flight arrived early, so we were at the appointed pick-up spot by 1:08am. At 1:20am my family urged me to call the Best Western Hillside because the shuttle had not arrived. When I called, the clerk said, Our shuttle does not pick up from Midway Airport. You will have to take a taxi. The hotel refused to follow through on the other clerk's promise to pick us up. A taxi was not in our budget and the hotel representative said sorry, that was too bad for us and there was nothing they could do about it. They absolutely refused to send their shuttle, leaving us stranded at Midway Airport in the middle of the night. We were not able to get a taxi for our family of five until 2:00am. It was after 2:30am and at a cost of over $55 when we finally arrived at the hotel. The rooms were alright for the short time we were there. We were scheduled to get our rental car at 10am that morning. We tried repeatedly to get the situation resolved with the manager, but he was still unavailable when we needed to check out even though we waited at the front desk and in the lobby for over 30 minutes. Hotels are a service industry and good ones do anything they can to make it right if there is a service problem. Best Western Hillside does not have that philosophy. The best they could do is reimburse us for half the cost of the taxi. Even at that, it would have been cheaper to send the shuttle as promised and have customers who were better serviced and happy. My advice is do NOT stay at Best Western Chicago Hillside if you want a hotel that believes in true customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Chicago Hillside

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
fred the man
minneapolis
Oct 22, 2013

visiting

the first night I got there they gave me room 201 the hvac was making aloud noise and refrigerator as well could not sleep to well the noise from the hvac and fridge was annoying, around 7am I went down and talked to the manager about the issue and he was very rude and up notches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Chicago Hillside

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Aug 3, 2010

Dirty room! Rude staff!

My check in time for the hotel was at 3:00PM, but I did not arrive until 9:00PM. When I got there, I got my room key and walked to the room... I walked in, and it was a complete disaster. There were towels on the floor, the bed was a mess and it just wasn't clean. The lady at the front desk was very apologetic, but I arrived 6 hours later than check in time. There is no excuse as to why my room was a mess. The next day when I asked to speak with the manager, the front desk staff was very rude. The manager lied to my face about the hotel policy and didn't even care that the first room was a mess. AND! they didn't even provide a complimentary breakfast! It was like $10.00 a plate I would never recommend this hotel to anybody- even those going there for business purposes. There is a hotel right next to it, which I'm sure, provides much better service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Chicago Hillside

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Manteca
Aug 21, 2008

No Backing of Staff Promise

I booked this hotel, Best Western, Hillside, because it has a shuttle that runs 24 hours/day. My family's flight was arriving about 1am. We wanted to be certain we would get to the hotel quickly and safely since we are unfamiliar with the greater Chicago area. I called the hotel 7 hours prior to our arrival to schedule the pick-up from the airport specifically stating the airline, the time of arrival, and the airport where we were landing. The clerk promised to have the shuttle at door 2 at 1:15am. He made a point of telling us to be sure to be there at that time. Our flight arrived early, so we were at the appointed pick-up spot by 1:08am. At 1:20am my family urged me to call the Best Western Hillside because the shuttle had not arrived. When I called, the clerk said, Our shuttle does not pick up from Midway Airport. You will have to take a taxi. The hotel refused to follow through on the other clerk's promise to pick us up. A taxi was not in our budget and the hotel representative said sorry, that was too bad for us and there was nothing they could do about it. They absolutely refused to send their shuttle, leaving us stranded at Midway Airport in the middle of the night. We were not able to get a taxi for our family of five until 2:00am. It was after 2:30am and at a cost of over $55 when we finally arrived at the hotel. The rooms were alright for the short time we were there. We were scheduled to get our rental car at 10am that morning. We tried repeatedly to get the situation resolved with the manager, but he was still unavailable when we needed to check out even though we waited at the front desk and in the lobby for over 30 minutes. Hotels are a service industry and good ones do anything they can to make it right if there is a service problem. Best Western Hillside does not have that philosophy. The best they could do is reimburse us for half the cost of the taxi. Even at that, it would have been cheaper to send the shuttle as promised and have customers who were better serviced and happy. My advice is do NOT stay at Best Western Chicago Hillside if you want a hotel that believes in true customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Chicago Hillside

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Aug 3, 2010

Dirty room! Rude staff!

My check in time for the hotel was at 3:00PM, but I did not arrive until 9:00PM. When I got there, I got my room key and walked to the room... I walked in, and it was a complete disaster. There were towels on the floor, the bed was a mess and it just wasn't clean. The lady at the front desk was very apologetic, but I arrived 6 hours later than check in time. There is no excuse as to why my room was a mess. The next day when I asked to speak with the manager, the front desk staff was very rude. The manager lied to my face about the hotel policy and didn't even care that the first room was a mess. AND! they didn't even provide a complimentary breakfast! It was like $10.00 a plate I would never recommend this hotel to anybody- even those going there for business purposes. There is a hotel right next to it, which I'm sure, provides much better service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Chicago Hillside

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Union, MO
Aug 8, 2011

Could Have Been Better

This is a horrible place to stay if you commuting to and from Chicago. We ended up leaving and didnt stay, we had to get home due to personal reasons and were beyond the deadline for refund.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

TAKE PUBLIC TRANSPORTATION OR SHUTTLE

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Chicago Hillside

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Wood pushing cheass player
Crete, IL
Jul 20, 2010

Front desk overloas; no complimentary br

faster service at check in; complimentary breakfastn (other motels in the area offer this) (example Comfort Suites.)_

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Chicago Hillside

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Wood pushing cheass player
Crete, IL
Jul 20, 2010

Front desk overloas; no complimentary br

faster service at check in; complimentary breakfastn (other motels in the area offer this) (example Comfort Suites.)_

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Chicago Hillside

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RWOR
Business
Seattle, WA
Jun 13, 2013

Way out of the way!

The website is deceptive about its distance from O'Hare and downtown Chicago. The shuttle bus from the airport took 55 minutes to show up, at midnight. It then took 20 minutes to get to the hotel. In the morning it took 30 minutes to shuttle us to the nearest train station where we took a 35 minute train ride into downtown. Insane. The website says "a mere 12 miles from downtown." You'll pay the difference in cost with cab fares and train fairs if you get a more conveniently located hotel. The lobby and elevators are sauna hot. Pillows old. Not the best maid service. Backwater and dank.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Chicago Hillside

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Paulina0000
Spartanburg, SC
Nov 7, 2011

Below Average

I felt that the hotel was below par for the price. The front desk manager, an Indian fellow, was wonderful, but the staff in the breakfast buffet was horrible. They had no personality, no customer service and the worst attitudes. I have never seen such disrespect for guests and I have stayed at MANY hotels! (In fact, I used to be a general manager of a hotel). The manger at the front desk gave us a free breakfast buffet one day, but it was still unpleasant with 2 different staff members.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top