Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

3 stars
5420 Grand Avenue, Gurnee, IL 60031
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
43 reviews
Thanksgiving day

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit the night before Thanksgiving day & breakfast that morning. Staff... See full review

  • busy mom and grandma
  • Nov 29, 2014
surprisingly nice

We were delighted with our stay- breakfast was great! staff very very nice See full review

  • busy mom and grandma
  • Apr 30, 2014
100% non-smoking property. Located midway between Downtown Chicago and Milwaukee right off I94. Adjacent to Six Flags Great America, 1/2 mile from Gurnee Mills Mall and nearby the Great Lakes Naval Base. 68 comfortable rooms with amenities and services tailored to all individual needs. All rooms include complimentary wireless high speed Internet access, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hair dryer, 32 inch TV. The Hotel also serves a hot breakfast buffet, has an indoor heated swimming pool, fitness center, provides same day dry cleaning service, on property coin operated laundry facility, and daily newspaper delivered to each room.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Golf
Tennis
Outdoor tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Security
Multilingual
Shops/Commercial services
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Brailled elevators
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Fire alarm with light
In room movies
Sofa bed
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Hotel Map

42.379 -87.9368
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
OHARE INTL ARPT, (ORD), 34.00, MI, SW; GENERAL MITCHELL INTL ARPT, (MKE), 46.00, MI, SW; MIDWAY, (MDW), 51.00, MI, S;
Area description
Suburban, This hotel is located in a suburban area.

Nearby points of interest

  • Six Flags Great America: 0.7 mi

Dining

Breakfast Room
Located near lobby
Lonestar
.5 miles from Hotel
Olive Garden
.5 miles from Hotel
Outback
.5 miles from Hotel
Red Lobster
1 mile from Hotel
Timothy O'Toole's
minutes away from hotel

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (43)

Ratings and reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
43 out of 43
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Parma, Ohio
Nov 16, 2010

Served it's purpose

Adequate enough for an overnight stay, I guess. The beds were lumpy and pillows had nothing left in them. TV's are the old style big box. Funny thing, the beside lamp had been wiped clean of dust on the front side but the back side was covered in dust. Make me wonder what else was half cleaned in the room? The location is good if your there to visit Six Flags and also plenty of restaurants within walking distance. The hotels little continental breakfast is your typical spread for a pit stop hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk over to Timothy O'Tooles for some fish n chips and a cold one. Or try Ichiban Japanese Steakhouse. Order their golden sauce on anything. Heaven!! For breakfast, head about 1 mile east on Grand Ave and visit the Avalon for the most fabulous and inexpensive breakfast. It's an authentic Greek diner. Not to be missed!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gurnee, Il
Nov 15, 2010

OK for the price

I was in town on a family matter. Needed an inexpensive place to stay for 5 days. The price was right for the hotel. It was clean, the staff was friendly and helpful and my room was adequate. It's 1 of those hotels that make you put the card on the pillow if you want clean sheets every day. On my second day, I put the card out, and no clean sheets. Same thing happened on day 3 -- no clean sheets. On day 4, I stripped the bed completely before leaving and I placed the card on the pillow. Only then did I get clean sheets. For this reason, I probably wouldn't recommend the hotel to others. If they are waiting 4 days to change sheets -- I have to wonder just how long it's been since they changed the comforter and blankets. I hate to think....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just across the street is a nice array of dining options, from Outback Steakhouse to Joe's Crab Shack to Cracker Barrell and McDonalds. It's centrally located and close to everything, shopping, movies, even Great America.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wisconsin
Oct 19, 2010

short stay

Good quality hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
best BF alive
Business
Rockford, IL
Oct 11, 2010

Six Flags Trip 10/10/10

arrived at 10p to check in which in itself was nice. Since i wanted to get the most out of the day at Six Flags. [...] I appreciate the no hassle process. I also like how close this hotel is to the park.I wish i would've known the hotel was literally as close as it is since i wouldve checked in early just to avoid the extra $20 parking but when you walk all day driving at any point is better then walking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

park at hotel and walk to Six Flags save $20 if you like to weather.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lakeland, FL
Aug 16, 2010

Great location is what I wanted and got

It was in a good location and exactly just what I wanted. Very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Illinois
Aug 3, 2010

Nice, clean hotel with friendly staff.

While the pool is very small it was perfect for our 2 children 6 & 8 yrs. The depth was 3 and 4 ft. Great for small children. The free continental breakfast was wonderful with hot waffles, sausage and eggs. Best continental breakfast I've had in a long time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Saint Loius, Mo.
Jul 26, 2010

Family Visit

Visited Chicago and Six Flags, and family. Did a little shopping and also relaxed at the at the hotel pool and spa.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chicago Red Hots restuarant next to hotel. Lots to choose from on menu, and all food is excellent! The burgers and pizza top the list.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Navy Mom X 2
Business
Pensacola, FL
Jul 12, 2010

Very Happy Visit

This was the perfect place to stay for our purposes. We were there to see my son graduate from Navy Boot Camp. Last year, when my daughter graduated, we stayed closer to RTC and it was horrible. Very noisy and not nearly as nice and clean. Here, we were far enough away to be clear of the revelers and very close to the Mall, Six Flags, the Interstate, Movie Theaters and a Sam's/Wal Mart for supplies and snacks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There is an outlet mall, several restaurants, a gigantic movie theater and several grocery stores. Everyone had access to the things they needed and wanted to do/have while we were there... and its far enough off the main road that the noise of cars and people was not heard when we rested during the night or day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago il
Jun 17, 2010

hotel review

It was ok, small pool and the rooms are old, but friendly people and a nice breakfast

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

next to 6 flags

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Spot Free cleaning
Business
Milwaukee WI
May 8, 2010

country inn

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top