$55 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 24, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

3 stars
5420 Grand Avenue, Gurnee, IL 60031
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
43 reviews
Thanksgiving day

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit the night before Thanksgiving day & breakfast that morning. Staff... See full review

  • busy mom and grandma
  • Nov 29, 2014
surprisingly nice

We were delighted with our stay- breakfast was great! staff very very nice See full review

  • busy mom and grandma
  • Apr 30, 2014
100% non-smoking property. Located midway between Downtown Chicago and Milwaukee right off I94. Adjacent to Six Flags Great America, 1/2 mile from Gurnee Mills Mall and nearby the Great Lakes Naval Base. 68 comfortable rooms with amenities and services tailored to all individual needs. All rooms include complimentary wireless high speed Internet access, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hair dryer, 32 inch TV. The Hotel also serves a hot breakfast buffet, has an indoor heated swimming pool, fitness center, provides same day dry cleaning service, on property coin operated laundry facility, and daily newspaper delivered to each room.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Golf
Tennis
Outdoor tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Security
Multilingual
Shops/Commercial services
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Brailled elevators
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Fire alarm with light
In room movies
Sofa bed
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Six Flags Great America: 0.7 mi

Dining

Breakfast Room
Located near lobby
Lonestar
.5 miles from Hotel
Olive Garden
.5 miles from Hotel
Outback
.5 miles from Hotel
Red Lobster
1 mile from Hotel
Timothy O'Toole's
minutes away from hotel

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (43)

Ratings and reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
43 out of 43
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indy
May 26, 2011

Not bad. WIFI broken...

Stayed here for Navy boot camp graduation. Room was nice but not huge. The breakfast was good. Fresh waffles, sausage, french toast, fruit. More than I expected based on other reviews. The only bad thing.... The wifi was down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Medford, NY
Jan 13, 2011

Very Nice

Everything was wonderful great service Breakfast was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Just down the road not even a quarter mile

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco East Bay
Jan 3, 2011

Great value and accommodations

This hotel is well worth the relatively low price. Clean rooms, great service and friendly staff. The breakfast was better than most continental types featuring freshly made belgian waffles, eggs, bacon, ham and an assortment of juices, fruits and coffee (which as a coffee snob I have to say wasn't bad). The hotel staff and accommodations made our stay in Gurnee one of the most pleasant, easy and comfortable experiences yet. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Six Flags is a hop and skip away from Country Inn. Unfortunately Six Flags was closed during our winter visit to family.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Central Illinois
Jan 3, 2011

Just Like Home

Work different hours of the day and night, found the staff of the hotel very friendly and attentitive. Pool and spa was great after a hard days work. Breakfast in the morning same as other hotels but was not chased out of the dining room as other hotels have done.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Everything from amusement park just down the street, mall, Wal Mart, Sams Club, Ice Cream Shop and all types of restaurants within 5 to 10 minutes drive time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Illinois
Dec 28, 2010

Wonderful Christmas get away

Went to the pool & jacquzi. Relaxing quiet time together as a family

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you love seafood, must visit Joes crab shack

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dexter, MI
Dec 18, 2010

cheep but Ok for the price.

Long check in. No helpful info at check-in. Room needed to be updated(new carpet, very worn). Pool needed to have another person (total of two) for entry. Unable to use pool as traveling alone. Price was very good. Breakfest was fair to poor not much choice. I much perfer Marriott.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Great shopping near by and plenty of dinning choices as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Dec 13, 2010

Going downhill

Wanted to look up a business in the hotel room phone book but the book in the room was for 2008-2009, it's almost 2011. The bath tub faucet was loose, I fixed it, the toilet seat cover was almost falling off, I fixed that too. Overall the room was very average but I guess for what I paid it was ok. Looks to me the like place is starting to wear out. The in room refrigerator and microwave were nice to have. The complimentary breakfast selections were poor. I skipped breakfast there my second morning. Next time I'll probably book elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Findlay Ohio
Nov 22, 2010

Jans trip to Zion

The employees were so nice and accommodating and the breakfast was fabulous!! [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
East Peoria, IL
Nov 22, 2010

Great Place to stay for shopping

My daughter (23) and I go to Gurnee yearly for a shopping trip. This hotel was wonderful. They even printed out directions to the mall in Vernon Hills. It was clean and the staff was very pleasant. The rooms were spacious and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Gurnee Mills mall is only 1/2mile away and Vernon Hills is only a 15 minute drive to another very nice mall we like to shop at.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Inkjet guy
Business
VB, Florida
Nov 20, 2010

Very diminished

I ravel a lot to Gurnee. This hotel used to be pretty good but now is becoming a dump. All carpets stained, smelly room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top