$84 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 28, 2014 Check-out: Apr 29, 2014

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

3 stars
5420 Grand Avenue, Gurnee, IL 60031
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
40 reviews
Sons graduation from navy boot camp

Excellent in every way! Staff pleasant and helpful in every way. Clean, comfortable, great... See full review

  • Donna proud mom
  • Nov 18, 2012
SHORT GETAWAY

EVERYTHING WAS ACCEPTABLE AND ABOVE AVERAGE EXCEPT FOR INDOOR POOL AREA WHICH WAS FREEZING IT WAS... See full review

  • Chuck A
  • Mar 28, 2013
100% non-smoking property. Located midway between Downtown Chicago and Milwaukee right off I94. Adjacent to Six Flags Great America, 1/2 mile from Gurnee Mills Mall and nearby the Great Lakes Naval Base. 68 comfortable rooms with amenities and services tailored to all individual needs. All rooms include complimentary wireless high speed Internet access, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hair dryer, 32 inch TV. The Hotel also serves a hot breakfast buffet, has an indoor heated swimming pool, fitness center, provides same day dry cleaning service, on property coin operated laundry facility, and daily newspaper delivered to each room. Local transportation within 7 miles based on availability. Schedule with the Front Desk. 7am-5pm Monday0Friday; 7am-3pm Saturday0Sunday. Transportation to the Naval Base based on availability. Schedule in advance with the front desk.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Golf
Tennis
Outdoor tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Security
Multilingual
Shops/Commercial services
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Brailled elevators
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Fire alarm with light
In room movies
Sofa bed
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

42.379 -87.9368
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
OHARE INTL ARPT, (ORD), 34.00, MI, SW; GENERAL MITCHELL INTL ARPT, (MKE), 46.00, MI, SW; MIDWAY, (MDW), 51.00, MI, S;
Area description
Suburban, This hotel is located in a suburban area.

Nearby points of interest

  • Six Flags Great America: 0.7 mi

Dining

Breakfast Room
Located near lobby
Lonestar
.5 miles from Hotel
Olive Garden
.5 miles from Hotel
Outback
.5 miles from Hotel
Red Lobster
1 mile from Hotel
Timothy O'Toole's
minutes away from hotel

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (40)

Ratings and reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Overall score

3.5 / 5
40 out of 40
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Business
Central Illinois
Jan 3, 2011

Just Like Home

Work different hours of the day and night, found the staff of the hotel very friendly and attentitive. Pool and spa was great after a hard days work. Breakfast in the morning same as other hotels but was not chased out of the dining room as other hotels have done.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Everything from amusement park just down the street, mall, Wal Mart, Sams Club, Ice Cream Shop and all types of restaurants within 5 to 10 minutes drive time.

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Illinois
Dec 28, 2010

Wonderful Christmas get away

Went to the pool & jacquzi. Relaxing quiet time together as a family

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you love seafood, must visit Joes crab shack

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Business
Dexter, MI
Dec 18, 2010

cheep but Ok for the price.

Long check in. No helpful info at check-in. Room needed to be updated(new carpet, very worn). Pool needed to have another person (total of two) for entry. Unable to use pool as traveling alone. Price was very good. Breakfest was fair to poor not much choice. I much perfer Marriott.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Great shopping near by and plenty of dinning choices as well.

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Texas
Dec 13, 2010

Going downhill

Wanted to look up a business in the hotel room phone book but the book in the room was for 2008-2009, it's almost 2011. The bath tub faucet was loose, I fixed it, the toilet seat cover was almost falling off, I fixed that too. Overall the room was very average but I guess for what I paid it was ok. Looks to me the like place is starting to wear out. The in room refrigerator and microwave were nice to have. The complimentary breakfast selections were poor. I skipped breakfast there my second morning. Next time I'll probably book elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
East Peoria, IL
Nov 22, 2010

Great Place to stay for shopping

My daughter (23) and I go to Gurnee yearly for a shopping trip. This hotel was wonderful. They even printed out directions to the mall in Vernon Hills. It was clean and the staff was very pleasant. The rooms were spacious and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Gurnee Mills mall is only 1/2mile away and Vernon Hills is only a 15 minute drive to another very nice mall we like to shop at.

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Business
Findlay Ohio
Nov 22, 2010

Jans trip to Zion

The employees were so nice and accommodating and the breakfast was fabulous!! [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

1
Inkjet guy
Business
VB, Florida
Nov 20, 2010

Very diminished

I ravel a lot to Gurnee. This hotel used to be pretty good but now is becoming a dump. All carpets stained, smelly room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Parma, Ohio
Nov 16, 2010

Served it's purpose

Adequate enough for an overnight stay, I guess. The beds were lumpy and pillows had nothing left in them. TV's are the old style big box. Funny thing, the beside lamp had been wiped clean of dust on the front side but the back side was covered in dust. Make me wonder what else was half cleaned in the room? The location is good if your there to visit Six Flags and also plenty of restaurants within walking distance. The hotels little continental breakfast is your typical spread for a pit stop hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk over to Timothy O'Tooles for some fish n chips and a cold one. Or try Ichiban Japanese Steakhouse. Order their golden sauce on anything. Heaven!! For breakfast, head about 1 mile east on Grand Ave and visit the Avalon for the most fabulous and inexpensive breakfast. It's an authentic Greek diner. Not to be missed!!!

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Gurnee, Il
Nov 15, 2010

OK for the price

I was in town on a family matter. Needed an inexpensive place to stay for 5 days. The price was right for the hotel. It was clean, the staff was friendly and helpful and my room was adequate. It's 1 of those hotels that make you put the card on the pillow if you want clean sheets every day. On my second day, I put the card out, and no clean sheets. Same thing happened on day 3 -- no clean sheets. On day 4, I stripped the bed completely before leaving and I placed the card on the pillow. Only then did I get clean sheets. For this reason, I probably wouldn't recommend the hotel to others. If they are waiting 4 days to change sheets -- I have to wonder just how long it's been since they changed the comforter and blankets. I hate to think....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just across the street is a nice array of dining options, from Outback Steakhouse to Joe's Crab Shack to Cracker Barrell and McDonalds. It's centrally located and close to everything, shopping, movies, even Great America.

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Wisconsin
Oct 19, 2010

short stay

Good quality hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top