$84 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 12, 2014 Check-out: Oct 13, 2014

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

3 stars
5420 Grand Avenue, Gurnee, IL 60031
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
42 reviews
surprisingly nice

We were delighted with our stay- breakfast was great! staff very very nice See full review

  • busy mom and grandma
  • Apr 30, 2014
surprisingly great!

we were surprised at how nice the people were, the room was and the free breakfast. The staff was... See full review

  • busy mom and grandma
  • Apr 22, 2014
100% non-smoking property. Located midway between Downtown Chicago and Milwaukee right off I94. Adjacent to Six Flags Great America, 1/2 mile from Gurnee Mills Mall and nearby the Great Lakes Naval Base. 68 comfortable rooms with amenities and services tailored to all individual needs. All rooms include complimentary wireless high speed Internet access, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hair dryer, 32 inch TV. The Hotel also serves a hot breakfast buffet, has an indoor heated swimming pool, fitness center, provides same day dry cleaning service, on property coin operated laundry facility, and daily newspaper delivered to each room. Local transportation within 7 miles based on availability. Schedule with the Front Desk. 7am-5pm Monday0Friday; 7am-3pm Saturday0Sunday. Transportation to the Naval Base based on availability. Schedule in advance with the front desk.

Hotel Map

42.379 -87.9368
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
OHARE INTL ARPT, (ORD), 34.00, MI, SW; GENERAL MITCHELL INTL ARPT, (MKE), 46.00, MI, SW; MIDWAY, (MDW), 51.00, MI, S;
Area description
Suburban, This hotel is located in a suburban area.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Golf
Tennis
Outdoor tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Security
Multilingual
Shops/Commercial services
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Brailled elevators
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Fire alarm with light
In room movies
Sofa bed
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Six Flags Great America: 0.7 mi

Dining

Breakfast Room
Located near lobby
Lonestar
.5 miles from Hotel
Olive Garden
.5 miles from Hotel
Outback
.5 miles from Hotel
Red Lobster
1 mile from Hotel
Timothy O'Toole's
minutes away from hotel

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (42)

Ratings and reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
42 out of 42
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cwoo
chicago
Oct 22, 2012

Convenient Location

Located near Gurnee Mills Mall and Six Flags. Clean, and fairly quiet. No hot water on the 2nd day of our stay. Staff apologized, but did not offer to do anything else about it. Good breakfast included - several hot options as well as cold cereal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Vivi Lbs
Maryland
Oct 18, 2012

Outdated and Needs a Lot of Work

When I entered the hotel, the desk clerk was friendly and courtious. That is about all that was good about the hotel. When I entered the room the light surged with power and crackle like a bug zapper. There were cigarette burns in the ancient carpet on the floor. The furniture looked like dumpster finds. The room had a strange smell to it. I actually checked out and found another hotel. I would not recommend to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NM Hotel Hoppers
Chicago, IL
Jun 6, 2012

Comfortable stay

Stayed one night while visiting Gurnee. There was only one person at the desk, so there was a bit of a line to check in, but he was very polite and apologized to everyone who was waiting. The room was clean and the king-bed we slept in was nice and comfortable. They did have a hot breakfast, but it wasn't very big. Your standard toast, mini-muffins, english muffins, cereal, milk, juice. Then you can make your own waffles, and they have biscuits and gravy & hard boiled eggs. Like I said, basic, but enough for a good breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
stem
gurnee ill
Jun 6, 2012

room for improvement

hot tub not working, "hot" breakfast was cold other than that a nice place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wangen5
Carbondale, IL, USA
Feb 14, 2012

Great place to stay

The staff was friendly and the room was very nice and clean. I had no issues and the breakfast spread was great. Based on the price, this was an excellent deal and I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MailDiva
Tampa, FL, USA
Nov 10, 2011

Great price and Staff

Breakfast was lacking, needs an overhaul quickly. Otherwise we were pleased. The staff is excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dubuque, IA
Jul 17, 2011

Helpful and friendly

Very quick to take our reservation when other hotels in the area were "dark" because of the storm power outage. Staff was so helpful with all of our questions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Helped us locate gas station, movie theatre and restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Illinois
Jun 24, 2011

Country Inn & suites Gurnee

We were there to visit Six Flags for two nights. The desk clerks were very friendly. The breakfast was average. The beds were clean and neat. I have to say, they have the tiniest pool I've ever seen and the hot tub was very shallow. I asked if the staff could add more water and was declined.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Six Flags

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
chicago, IL
Jun 14, 2011

family getaway

It was a very pleasant stay. The air in our hotel room was not working the way it should have been....but we survived!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Indy
May 26, 2011

Not bad. WIFI broken...

Stayed here for Navy boot camp graduation. Room was nice but not huge. The breakfast was good. Fresh waffles, sausage, french toast, fruit. More than I expected based on other reviews. The only bad thing.... The wifi was down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search