$75 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 24, 2014

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

3 stars
5420 Grand Avenue, Gurnee, IL 60031
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
42 reviews
surprisingly nice

We were delighted with our stay- breakfast was great! staff very very nice See full review

  • busy mom and grandma
  • Apr 30, 2014
surprisingly great!

we were surprised at how nice the people were, the room was and the free breakfast. The staff was... See full review

  • busy mom and grandma
  • Apr 22, 2014
100% non-smoking property. Located midway between Downtown Chicago and Milwaukee right off I94. Adjacent to Six Flags Great America, 1/2 mile from Gurnee Mills Mall and nearby the Great Lakes Naval Base. 68 comfortable rooms with amenities and services tailored to all individual needs. All rooms include complimentary wireless high speed Internet access, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hair dryer, 32 inch TV. The Hotel also serves a hot breakfast buffet, has an indoor heated swimming pool, fitness center, provides same day dry cleaning service, on property coin operated laundry facility, and daily newspaper delivered to each room.

Hotel Map

42.379 -87.9368
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
OHARE INTL ARPT, (ORD), 34.00, MI, SW; GENERAL MITCHELL INTL ARPT, (MKE), 46.00, MI, SW; MIDWAY, (MDW), 51.00, MI, S;
Area description
Suburban, This hotel is located in a suburban area.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Golf
Tennis
Outdoor tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Security
Multilingual
Shops/Commercial services
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Brailled elevators
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Fire alarm with light
In room movies
Sofa bed
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Six Flags Great America: 0.7 mi

Dining

Breakfast Room
Located near lobby
Lonestar
.5 miles from Hotel
Olive Garden
.5 miles from Hotel
Outback
.5 miles from Hotel
Red Lobster
1 mile from Hotel
Timothy O'Toole's
minutes away from hotel

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (42)

Ratings and reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
4 out of 42
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.8
Sort by:
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Blackbird 71 Mom
Business
Illinois
Aug 19, 2013

Close to shopping and entertainment

The good: breakfast, cookies, room temp, shower temp and water flow were acceptable. The bad: traffic pattern near a busy amusement park, major interstate. Could be somewhat problematic getting into and out of the property. The ugly: wrinkled bedding lent impression linens were dirty, mattress did not appear to be clean, no fridge/microwave as listed in property amenities, stickiness to top of desk, dresser and nightstand. All in all, I'd stay again...if the price were right. By no means the worst property at which I've stayed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Near Gurnee Mills shopping center (and 6 Flags Great America amusement park).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wangen5
Business
Carbondale, IL, USA
Feb 14, 2012

Great place to stay

The staff was friendly and the room was very nice and clean. I had no issues and the breakfast spread was great. Based on the price, this was an excellent deal and I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Dec 13, 2010

Going downhill

Wanted to look up a business in the hotel room phone book but the book in the room was for 2008-2009, it's almost 2011. The bath tub faucet was loose, I fixed it, the toilet seat cover was almost falling off, I fixed that too. Overall the room was very average but I guess for what I paid it was ok. Looks to me the like place is starting to wear out. The in room refrigerator and microwave were nice to have. The complimentary breakfast selections were poor. I skipped breakfast there my second morning. Next time I'll probably book elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gurnee, Il
Nov 15, 2010

OK for the price

I was in town on a family matter. Needed an inexpensive place to stay for 5 days. The price was right for the hotel. It was clean, the staff was friendly and helpful and my room was adequate. It's 1 of those hotels that make you put the card on the pillow if you want clean sheets every day. On my second day, I put the card out, and no clean sheets. Same thing happened on day 3 -- no clean sheets. On day 4, I stripped the bed completely before leaving and I placed the card on the pillow. Only then did I get clean sheets. For this reason, I probably wouldn't recommend the hotel to others. If they are waiting 4 days to change sheets -- I have to wonder just how long it's been since they changed the comforter and blankets. I hate to think....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just across the street is a nice array of dining options, from Outback Steakhouse to Joe's Crab Shack to Cracker Barrell and McDonalds. It's centrally located and close to everything, shopping, movies, even Great America.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top