$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2014 Check-out: Jul 21, 2014

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

3 stars
5420 Grand Avenue, Gurnee, IL 60031
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
67 reviews
surprisingly nice

We were delighted with our stay- breakfast was great! staff very very nice See full review

  • busy mom and grandma
  • Apr 30, 2014
surprisingly great!

we were surprised at how nice the people were, the room was and the free breakfast. The staff was... See full review

  • busy mom and grandma
  • Apr 22, 2014
100% non-smoking property. Located midway between Downtown Chicago and Milwaukee right off I94. Adjacent to Six Flags Great America, 1/2 mile from Gurnee Mills Mall and nearby the Great Lakes Naval Base. 68 comfortable rooms with amenities and services tailored to all individual needs. All rooms include complimentary wireless high speed Internet access, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hair dryer, 32 inch TV. The Hotel also serves a hot breakfast buffet, has an indoor heated swimming pool, fitness center, provides same day dry cleaning service, on property coin operated laundry facility, and daily newspaper delivered to each room. Local transportation within 7 miles based on availability. Schedule with the Front Desk. 7am-5pm Monday0Friday; 7am-3pm Saturday0Sunday. Transportation to the Naval Base based on availability. Schedule in advance with the front desk.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Golf
Tennis
Outdoor tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Security
Multilingual
Shops/Commercial services
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Brailled elevators
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Fire alarm with light
In room movies
Sofa bed
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

42.379 -87.9368
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
OHARE INTL ARPT, (ORD), 34.00, MI, SW; GENERAL MITCHELL INTL ARPT, (MKE), 46.00, MI, SW; MIDWAY, (MDW), 51.00, MI, S;
Area description
Suburban, This hotel is located in a suburban area.

Nearby points of interest

  • Six Flags Great America: 0.7 mi

Dining

Breakfast Room
Located near lobby
Lonestar
.5 miles from Hotel
Olive Garden
.5 miles from Hotel
Outback
.5 miles from Hotel
Red Lobster
1 mile from Hotel
Timothy O'Toole's
minutes away from hotel

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (67)

Ratings and reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
34 out of 67
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
busy mom and grandma
Nashville Tn
Apr 30, 2014

surprisingly nice

We were delighted with our stay- breakfast was great! staff very very nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
busy mom and grandma
Nashville Tn
Apr 22, 2014

surprisingly great!

we were surprised at how nice the people were, the room was and the free breakfast. The staff was very accommodating and helpful- will definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jim0101
Pensacola, FL
Oct 21, 2013

Recruit graduation

An overall good stay. You get what you pay for, and this is no exception. Staff employees were very friendly. Continental breakfast was so so. Not anything great, but the price (free) was right. The room had a mildew type smell to it, and the tv was one from the 90s. Location was excellent. Across from six Flags, lots of food and shopping just a few minutes away, easy to get to recruit graduation too. Looking for an inexpensive place, this is it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AK Navy Mom
SE Alaska
Feb 11, 2013

Clean & quiet

Staff was courteous & helpful.Breakfast was great, Close to shopping and highways. We went for RTC PIR; it was a little far from the activities but the drive was fairly easy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wmacgoo
Benton Harbor, Michigan
Jan 2, 2013

Good off season stay

The hotel was clean and the staff was excellent. It was not upscale but it was better than middle of the road and had all of the amenities that one could need. It was well situated near shopping and restaurants. The off season pricing was a great deal when compared with similar hotels in the area. My wife and I were happy with our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Donna proud mom
Rochester, ny
Nov 18, 2012

Sons graduation from navy boot camp

Excellent in every way! Staff pleasant and helpful in every way. Clean, comfortable, great breakfast. Would definately go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Vivi Lbs
Maryland
Oct 18, 2012

Outdated and Needs a Lot of Work

When I entered the hotel, the desk clerk was friendly and courtious. That is about all that was good about the hotel. When I entered the room the light surged with power and crackle like a bug zapper. There were cigarette burns in the ancient carpet on the floor. The furniture looked like dumpster finds. The room had a strange smell to it. I actually checked out and found another hotel. I would not recommend to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MailDiva
Tampa, FL, USA
Nov 10, 2011

Great price and Staff

Breakfast was lacking, needs an overhaul quickly. Otherwise we were pleased. The staff is excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dubuque, IA
Jul 17, 2011

Helpful and friendly

Very quick to take our reservation when other hotels in the area were "dark" because of the storm power outage. Staff was so helpful with all of our questions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Helped us locate gas station, movie theatre and restaurants.

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dubuque, IA
Jul 17, 2011

Helpful and friendly

Very quick to take our reservation when other hotels in the area were "dark" because of the storm power outage. Staff was so helpful with all of our questions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Helped us locate gas station, movie theatre and restaurants.

Back to menu Return to top