$92 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2014 Check-out: Sep 8, 2014

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

3 stars
5420 Grand Avenue, Gurnee, IL 60031
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
42 reviews
surprisingly nice

We were delighted with our stay- breakfast was great! staff very very nice See full review

  • busy mom and grandma
  • Apr 30, 2014
surprisingly great!

we were surprised at how nice the people were, the room was and the free breakfast. The staff was... See full review

  • busy mom and grandma
  • Apr 22, 2014
100% non-smoking property. Located midway between Downtown Chicago and Milwaukee right off I94. Adjacent to Six Flags Great America, 1/2 mile from Gurnee Mills Mall and nearby the Great Lakes Naval Base. 68 comfortable rooms with amenities and services tailored to all individual needs. All rooms include complimentary wireless high speed Internet access, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hair dryer, 32 inch TV. The Hotel also serves a hot breakfast buffet, has an indoor heated swimming pool, fitness center, provides same day dry cleaning service, on property coin operated laundry facility, and daily newspaper delivered to each room. Local transportation within 7 miles based on availability. Schedule with the Front Desk. 7am-5pm Monday0Friday; 7am-3pm Saturday0Sunday. Transportation to the Naval Base based on availability. Schedule in advance with the front desk.

Hotel Map

42.379 -87.9368
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
OHARE INTL ARPT, (ORD), 34.00, MI, SW; GENERAL MITCHELL INTL ARPT, (MKE), 46.00, MI, SW; MIDWAY, (MDW), 51.00, MI, S;
Area description
Suburban, This hotel is located in a suburban area.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Golf
Tennis
Outdoor tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Security
Multilingual
Shops/Commercial services
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Brailled elevators
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Fire alarm with light
In room movies
Sofa bed
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Six Flags Great America: 0.7 mi

Dining

Breakfast Room
Located near lobby
Lonestar
.5 miles from Hotel
Olive Garden
.5 miles from Hotel
Outback
.5 miles from Hotel
Red Lobster
1 mile from Hotel
Timothy O'Toole's
minutes away from hotel

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (42)

Ratings and reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 42
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.6

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chuck A
Lafayette,IN
Mar 28, 2013

SHORT GETAWAY

EVERYTHING WAS ACCEPTABLE AND ABOVE AVERAGE EXCEPT FOR INDOOR POOL AREA WHICH WAS FREEZING IT WAS TO COLD TO ENJOY

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Apache Tomcat
Appleton, WI
Nov 5, 2012

Served it's purpose.

We stayed at this hotel for a weekend and overall it was fine. Good parking available, great location near shopping and other amenities, nice continental breakfast. The lights were confusing (the bedroom had a light switch that didn't turn on the lamps), the remote for the TV seemed low on batteries and the suite had 3 chairs in it instead of a couch, which we thought was strange. Overall, good for what we needed it for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NM Hotel Hoppers
Chicago, IL
Jun 6, 2012

Comfortable stay

Stayed one night while visiting Gurnee. There was only one person at the desk, so there was a bit of a line to check in, but he was very polite and apologized to everyone who was waiting. The room was clean and the king-bed we slept in was nice and comfortable. They did have a hot breakfast, but it wasn't very big. Your standard toast, mini-muffins, english muffins, cereal, milk, juice. Then you can make your own waffles, and they have biscuits and gravy & hard boiled eggs. Like I said, basic, but enough for a good breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
stem
gurnee ill
Jun 6, 2012

room for improvement

hot tub not working, "hot" breakfast was cold other than that a nice place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco East Bay
Jan 3, 2011

Great value and accommodations

This hotel is well worth the relatively low price. Clean rooms, great service and friendly staff. The breakfast was better than most continental types featuring freshly made belgian waffles, eggs, bacon, ham and an assortment of juices, fruits and coffee (which as a coffee snob I have to say wasn't bad). The hotel staff and accommodations made our stay in Gurnee one of the most pleasant, easy and comfortable experiences yet. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Six Flags is a hop and skip away from Country Inn. Unfortunately Six Flags was closed during our winter visit to family.

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Parma, Ohio
Nov 16, 2010

Served it's purpose

Adequate enough for an overnight stay, I guess. The beds were lumpy and pillows had nothing left in them. TV's are the old style big box. Funny thing, the beside lamp had been wiped clean of dust on the front side but the back side was covered in dust. Make me wonder what else was half cleaned in the room? The location is good if your there to visit Six Flags and also plenty of restaurants within walking distance. The hotels little continental breakfast is your typical spread for a pit stop hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk over to Timothy O'Tooles for some fish n chips and a cold one. Or try Ichiban Japanese Steakhouse. Order their golden sauce on anything. Heaven!! For breakfast, head about 1 mile east on Grand Ave and visit the Avalon for the most fabulous and inexpensive breakfast. It's an authentic Greek diner. Not to be missed!!!

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wisconsin
Oct 19, 2010

short stay

Good quality hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
best BF alive
Rockford, IL
Oct 11, 2010

Six Flags Trip 10/10/10

arrived at 10p to check in which in itself was nice. Since i wanted to get the most out of the day at Six Flags. [...] I appreciate the no hassle process. I also like how close this hotel is to the park.I wish i would've known the hotel was literally as close as it is since i wouldve checked in early just to avoid the extra $20 parking but when you walk all day driving at any point is better then walking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

park at hotel and walk to Six Flags save $20 if you like to weather.

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Spot Free cleaning
Milwaukee WI
May 8, 2010

country inn

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jun 17, 2007

nice place to stay

very nice room and bath with comfortable bed. Easy to locate facility. However, history Channel was not carried on room TV. My wife and I will continue to stay at other Country Inns & Suites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good Italian Restaurant and ice cream parlor located adjoining parking lot, Good place to grab a quick bite.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search