$57 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 29, 2014 Check-out: Dec 30, 2014

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

3 stars
5420 Grand Avenue, Gurnee, IL 60031
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
43 reviews
Thanksgiving day

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit the night before Thanksgiving day & breakfast that morning. Staff... See full review

  • busy mom and grandma
  • Nov 29, 2014
surprisingly nice

We were delighted with our stay- breakfast was great! staff very very nice See full review

  • busy mom and grandma
  • Apr 30, 2014
100% non-smoking property. Located midway between Downtown Chicago and Milwaukee right off I94. Adjacent to Six Flags Great America, 1/2 mile from Gurnee Mills Mall and nearby the Great Lakes Naval Base. 68 comfortable rooms with amenities and services tailored to all individual needs. All rooms include complimentary wireless high speed Internet access, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hair dryer, 32 inch TV. The Hotel also serves a hot breakfast buffet, has an indoor heated swimming pool, fitness center, provides same day dry cleaning service, on property coin operated laundry facility, and daily newspaper delivered to each room.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Golf
Tennis
Outdoor tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Security
Multilingual
Shops/Commercial services
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Brailled elevators
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Fire alarm with light
In room movies
Sofa bed
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Six Flags Great America: 0.7 mi

Dining

Breakfast Room
Located near lobby
Lonestar
.5 miles from Hotel
Olive Garden
.5 miles from Hotel
Outback
.5 miles from Hotel
Red Lobster
1 mile from Hotel
Timothy O'Toole's
minutes away from hotel

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (43)

Ratings and reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
43 out of 43
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wangen5
Business
Carbondale, IL, USA
Feb 14, 2012

Great place to stay

The staff was friendly and the room was very nice and clean. I had no issues and the breakfast spread was great. Based on the price, this was an excellent deal and I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NM Hotel Hoppers
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 6, 2012

Comfortable stay

Stayed one night while visiting Gurnee. There was only one person at the desk, so there was a bit of a line to check in, but he was very polite and apologized to everyone who was waiting. The room was clean and the king-bed we slept in was nice and comfortable. They did have a hot breakfast, but it wasn't very big. Your standard toast, mini-muffins, english muffins, cereal, milk, juice. Then you can make your own waffles, and they have biscuits and gravy & hard boiled eggs. Like I said, basic, but enough for a good breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Donna proud mom
Business
Rochester, ny
Nov 18, 2012

Sons graduation from navy boot camp

Excellent in every way! Staff pleasant and helpful in every way. Clean, comfortable, great breakfast. Would definately go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
busy mom and grandma
Business
Nashville Tn
Apr 22, 2014

surprisingly great!

we were surprised at how nice the people were, the room was and the free breakfast. The staff was very accommodating and helpful- will definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
busy mom and grandma
Business
Nashville Tn
Apr 30, 2014

surprisingly nice

We were delighted with our stay- breakfast was great! staff very very nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Findlay Ohio
Nov 22, 2010

Jans trip to Zion

The employees were so nice and accommodating and the breakfast was fabulous!! [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Medford, NY
Jan 13, 2011

Very Nice

Everything was wonderful great service Breakfast was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Just down the road not even a quarter mile

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Navy Mom X 2
Business
Pensacola, FL
Jul 12, 2010

Very Happy Visit

This was the perfect place to stay for our purposes. We were there to see my son graduate from Navy Boot Camp. Last year, when my daughter graduated, we stayed closer to RTC and it was horrible. Very noisy and not nearly as nice and clean. Here, we were far enough away to be clear of the revelers and very close to the Mall, Six Flags, the Interstate, Movie Theaters and a Sam's/Wal Mart for supplies and snacks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There is an outlet mall, several restaurants, a gigantic movie theater and several grocery stores. Everyone had access to the things they needed and wanted to do/have while we were there... and its far enough off the main road that the noise of cars and people was not heard when we rested during the night or day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Saint Loius, Mo.
Jul 26, 2010

Family Visit

Visited Chicago and Six Flags, and family. Did a little shopping and also relaxed at the at the hotel pool and spa.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chicago Red Hots restuarant next to hotel. Lots to choose from on menu, and all food is excellent! The burgers and pizza top the list.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dubuque, IA
Jul 17, 2011

Helpful and friendly

Very quick to take our reservation when other hotels in the area were "dark" because of the storm power outage. Staff was so helpful with all of our questions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Helped us locate gas station, movie theatre and restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top