$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2015 Check-out: Sep 4, 2015

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

3 stars
View map of 5420 Grand Avenue, Gurnee, IL 60031

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
42 out of 42
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Donna proud mom
Family
Rochester, ny
Nov 18, 2012

Sons graduation from navy boot camp

Excellent in every way! Staff pleasant and helpful in every way. Clean, comfortable, great breakfast. Would definately go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Apache Tomcat
Couples
Appleton, WI
Nov 5, 2012

Served it's purpose.

We stayed at this hotel for a weekend and overall it was fine. Good parking available, great location near shopping and other amenities, nice continental breakfast. The lights were confusing (the bedroom had a light switch that didn't turn on the lamps), the remote for the TV seemed low on batteries and the suite had 3 chairs in it instead of a couch, which we thought was strange. Overall, good for what we needed it for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cwoo
Friends
chicago
Oct 22, 2012

Convenient Location

Located near Gurnee Mills Mall and Six Flags. Clean, and fairly quiet. No hot water on the 2nd day of our stay. Staff apologized, but did not offer to do anything else about it. Good breakfast included - several hot options as well as cold cereal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Vivi Lbs
Family
Maryland
Oct 18, 2012

Outdated and Needs a Lot of Work

When I entered the hotel, the desk clerk was friendly and courtious. That is about all that was good about the hotel. When I entered the room the light surged with power and crackle like a bug zapper. There were cigarette burns in the ancient carpet on the floor. The furniture looked like dumpster finds. The room had a strange smell to it. I actually checked out and found another hotel. I would not recommend to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NM Hotel Hoppers
Couples
Chicago, IL
Jun 6, 2012

Comfortable stay

Stayed one night while visiting Gurnee. There was only one person at the desk, so there was a bit of a line to check in, but he was very polite and apologized to everyone who was waiting. The room was clean and the king-bed we slept in was nice and comfortable. They did have a hot breakfast, but it wasn't very big. Your standard toast, mini-muffins, english muffins, cereal, milk, juice. Then you can make your own waffles, and they have biscuits and gravy & hard boiled eggs. Like I said, basic, but enough for a good breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
stem
Couples
gurnee ill
Jun 6, 2012

room for improvement

hot tub not working, "hot" breakfast was cold other than that a nice place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wangen5
Single
Carbondale, IL, USA
Feb 14, 2012

Great place to stay

The staff was friendly and the room was very nice and clean. I had no issues and the breakfast spread was great. Based on the price, this was an excellent deal and I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Dubuque, IA
Jul 17, 2011

Helpful and friendly

Very quick to take our reservation when other hotels in the area were "dark" because of the storm power outage. Staff was so helpful with all of our questions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Helped us locate gas station, movie theatre and restaurants.

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Illinois
Jun 24, 2011

Country Inn & suites Gurnee

We were there to visit Six Flags for two nights. The desk clerks were very friendly. The breakfast was average. The beds were clean and neat. I have to say, they have the tiniest pool I've ever seen and the hot tub was very shallow. I asked if the staff could add more water and was declined.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Six Flags

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee, IL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
chicago, IL
Jun 14, 2011

family getaway

It was a very pleasant stay. The air in our hotel room was not working the way it should have been....but we survived!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top