$101 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 20, 2014 Check-out: Aug 21, 2014

Best Western University Plaza

3 stars
1501 Sherman Avenue, Evanston, IL 60201
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
280 reviews
Great stay

Perfect location. Close to restaurants and downtown. Good parking. Beds are really comfortable and... See full review

  • Always the mom
  • Feb 18, 2014
Quite good, but...

Great location, clean room, decent breakfast. But it would be nice if they let us know ahead of... See full review

  • dmap
  • Jul 6, 2014
Budget lodging on the North Shore

This Evanston hotel remains a go-to for the parents of Northwestern University and budget-minded visitors to Chicagoland's North Shore and beaches. The mid-rise hotel adopts the familiar look of other Best Westerns, featuring colorful bedspreads, carpeted rooms, brass lamps and wood furnishings. The smoke-free property offers onsite parking for a fee, but guests enjoy getting to know this walkable neighborhood, where tree-lined streets, charming Victorians and Prairie-style homes turn on the local charm.

Highlights
  • Close to Northwestern University and Lake Michigan
  • Complimentary continental breakfast served daily at the Sherman Street Grill
  • Parking garage (fees apply)
  • Outdoor pool open seasonally
  • Smoke-free hotel
Rooms

Spacious rooms at Best Western University Plaza overlooking downtown Evanston were styled to combine the comforts of home and office. Patterned bedspreads create coziness and coordinate with the patterned carpet, valance and framed artwork. In all rooms, guests enjoy satellite TV, desk and shower/tub combo in the bathroom. Wi-Fi and hard-wired Internet access are complimentary.

Features

Best Western University Plaza is one of the few hotels near Northwestern University and Loyola University in Chicago's Rogers Park. Location is an obvious plus, as is the neighborhood. Whether visitors are in the mood for a pint at a local pub or sampling Evanston's cuisine, the Best Western University Plaza is a strong base for any agenda.

Transportation
  • O'Hare International Airport (20 miles)         
  • Midway Airport (29 miles)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (40 minutes)
Attractions
  • Northwestern University
  • Downtown Evanston
  • Lake Michigan
  • Frank Govern Memorial Golf Course
  • Westfield Old Orchard Shopping Mall
  • Six Flags Great America
Business
  • 6,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Meeting planners available
  • Catering services

Hotel Map

42.045 -87.6817
Area served
Evanston.
Nearby airports
O'Hare International Airport.
Area description
Best Western University Plaza has proximity to Northwestern University, Loyola University, Lake Michigan beaches, Westfield Old Orchard shopping mall, Downtown Chicago, Art Institute of Chicago and Wrigley Field.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Best Western University Plaza also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Best Western University Plaza Rooms

Standard
This room offers one king or two double beds with pillow top mattresses, continental breakfast, with cable TV, air conditioning, coffee / tea maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Northwestern University: 0.9 mi
  • Ryan Field: 1,459.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (280)

Ratings and reviews for Best Western University Plaza

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
280 out of 280
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western University Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AceRimmer
Business
Champaign, IL
Jul 11, 2014

Best Deal in the Area

Not anything amazing, but it's less expensive than other hotels in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western University Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dmap
charlotte, nc
Jul 6, 2014

Quite good, but...

Great location, clean room, decent breakfast. But it would be nice if they let us know ahead of time that there will be no water (due to maintenance)...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Peet's Coffee

Review of Best Western University Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LynnWang
China
Jul 5, 2014

Overall good.

My second time. A lot good stuff. Only that the comforter is too heavy for summer, the ac fan is noisy, and dont know why so many wifi choices but non of them stable. Will still come back though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Best Western University Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Big Bad Woolf
Atlanta, GA
Jun 13, 2014

Great location

Overall, we had a nice stay at this hotel and enjoyed the convenient location. Great view from the 11th floor, too. I was a little miffed about having to pay $17/day for parking--kind of ridiculous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Best Western University Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kelloggvisitors
Boston, MA
May 27, 2014

Strongly recommend

This hotel is an excellent value. It's in a perfect location, just steps from the heart of Evanston. It's clean and comfortable and quiet and the staff was friendly and helpful and professional. Strongly recommend to anyone looking for a place to stay in Evanston and we definitely plan to stay there again. Loved being able to stay in a place where we could walk to everything we needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Loved Farmstead, Hoosier Mama, Naf Naf Grill, and Giordano's in Evanston. Also just a short walk from the Best Western.

Review of Best Western University Plaza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Always the mom
Pekin,IL
Feb 18, 2014

Great stay

Perfect location. Close to restaurants and downtown. Good parking. Beds are really comfortable and rooms well appointed. Wouldn't care to stay anywhere else when we come to visit family!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Prairie Moon. Across from hotel and discount with hotel key card. Also Pete Miller's is great.

Review of Best Western University Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Yogabonnie71
Deerfield, il
Dec 25, 2013

Great little get away

We had a lovely time just hanging! The beds were so comfortable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Best Western University Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Steve On the Go
Boston, Mass.
Dec 16, 2013

Can't ask for more

The Best Western University Plaza is ideally situated in downtown Evanston. My most recent stay was my third in 13 months. Each time, I have been impressed with the cleanliness of the rooms. Just as impressive: the affable staff. All of this, and for a stunningly reasonable rate. My only quibble: I wish something could be done to spruce up the parking garage, especially some of the dank corridors. A fresh coat of painting and improved lighting would go a long, long way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bennison's Bakery is one of the finest anywhere.

Review of Best Western University Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
School visitor 17
Washington, D.C.
Nov 15, 2013

Great for Northwesterm

Great value. Needs updating but very clean and good for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Best Western University Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
L123j
Scotland
Oct 22, 2013

L123

We booked and paid for the hotel in June. When we arrived after travelling for 23 hours they had no record of our booking. They would not give us a room unless we paid for the night. We had to wait for 2 hours until they found the booking. I had to contact your web site and eventually the booking was traced, but still they would not allow us a room until they had received the payment confirmation. It is the last time we will be booking an hotel through your company for 2 reasons. 1 the hotel should have been informed of our booking and 2 the hotel was uncooperative and insisted upon paying for an additional night when we had already paid. As you can imagine the whole situation was very distressing especially as we had been travelling for so long and also we were on a strict budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top