$38 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 2, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Elk Grove Village O'Hare

2 stars
1925 E. Higgins Road, Elk Grove Village, IL 60007
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
233 reviews
You won't get better for the price!!

Friendly staff, clean rooms and an extremely reasonable price. See full review

  • Uk visitor
  • Sep 12, 2013
Good value for the money

Stayed here for a day. The hotel is located in a pretty convenient location close to restaurants .... See full review

  • Deps
  • Dec 5, 2014
Affordable hotel near suburban attractions with free parking and Wi-Fi

Travelers seeking affordable accommodations close to O'Hare International Airport and Rosemont Theatre will find that and more in Elk Grove Village at the Howard Johnson Inn and Suites. True to its brand, the hotel offers classic rooms with Wi-Fi access and a complimentary extended continental breakfast. Guests who drove to the property also enjoy free parking. Dining is no problem, thanks to the multiple chain restaurants nearby and inside Woodfield Mall. The hotel also boasts fitness and business centers.

Highlights
  • Near O'Hare International Airport, Woodfield Mall and Rosemont Theatre
  • Free parking and Wi-Fi (plus high-speed Internet) in all rooms
  • Extended continental breakfast at no charge to guests
  • Fitness room and business center
  • 24-hour coffee and tea in the lobby
Rooms

Guests have the choice of suites, double queen, king and smoking rooms, which are decorated in complementary tones of mauve, green and beige at the Howard Johnson Inn and Suites. Patterned bedspreads match the drapes, which in some rooms, hang above window seats. In all rooms, guests enjoy free Wi-Fi or high-speed Internet access.  

Features

When time is crunched, there's no reason to skip breakfast. Howard Johnson Inn and Suites serves a selection of cereals, pastries, coffee and juice to keep travelers going through the morning. And the best part: Snacks and drinks are free.

Transportation
  • O'Hare International Airport (7 miles)
  • Midway Airport (27 miles)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (36 minutes)
Attractions
  • Medieval Times
Business
  • Meeting space for up to 20 people
  • Business center onsite

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Elk Grove Village O'Hare also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (233)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Elk Grove Village O'Hare

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
233 out of 233
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.9

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Elk Grove Village O'Hare

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Refundplease
Business
henderson, nevada
May 9, 2011

Run far far away

I've stayed in everything from youth hostels to five star hotels - this was, by far, the worst place I have seen. Don't let the exterior fool you, this motel is one to skip. I stayed a little less than a week for business in a non-smoking room. The sheets were stained, torn, and cigarette burned. The bathroom had moldy, peeling wallpaper. The floors were both stained and outright filty. Free internet is provided, however, you will be asked multiple times to upgrade the internet speed - for a price. I declined, and was kicked off the internet every 20 minutes or so, having to re-enter the codes and decline the internet upgrade each time. NEITHER microwave Nor fridge are provided (though they are advertised), so be sure to either eat out or enjoy the motel's scant continental breakfast offered between 6 and 9am (hint - arrive early - I came to the eating area one morning at 08:30, all the food was already gone, save some old cereal and a couple greasy danishes.) Why didn't I leave? I actually asked to leave by my second night, with a refund for the days I would not stay. I was told I would not receive a refund as I had booked the motel through an outside company.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Elk Grove Village O'Hare

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jmitch
Business
Anchorage Alaska
Jan 25, 2012

Bed bug

Well I booked a room for two nights and woke up the first morning with a bed bug starring me in the face I checked out told the manager and was not offered a refund he did seem as though he cared and would exterminate but only time will tell if I was bitten or not I'll know in seven more days I guess

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a gay bar directly across the street if your into that type of thing

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Elk Grove Village O'Hare

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gretchen Torres
Business
Midland,Mich
Jun 5, 2012

Not the best place to stay

The room stunk of cigerette smoke, and it was a very inpleasent stay for my husband I

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Elk Grove Village O'Hare

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Naija Brazilian
Business
Maryland, USA
Jul 30, 2012

Pay a Little More

The only good thing I can say about this hotel is that it is close to the airport and the free wi-fi. We were greeted by moldy, humid odor immediately we enter the outer reception hall. In the proper reception hall, the two individuals (who appear to be manager) were at best indifferent and very unwelcoming. We are given our key without any explaining about what the hotel has to offer. Room small, with worn-out towels, bed old and too soft. Each morning woke up with back pain. Continental breakfast was terrible with little option. The front desk staff was responsible for refilling the breakfast trays. Everything (coffee cups, paper napkins, toilet paper, etc) is the lowest quality (cheapest) possible. Pay a little more for quality ammenities and services

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Elk Grove Village O'Hare

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
None Smoker
Business
Chicago
Feb 9, 2013

Smells like an Ashtray

The whole location smells like an ashtray. If you are a smoker fine, if you are a non-smoker, don't stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Elk Grove Village O'Hare

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JTGJR
Business
Boca Raton, FL
Jun 1, 2013

Mold in the room

Room smelled of mold and bleach. Towels were small and worn so much they were to thin to absorb. No price paid should have a moldy room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Elk Grove Village O'Hare

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Juliejulia
Business
Illinois
Mar 5, 2014

gateway

Unhappy with the service and rooms extremely small and uncomfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Elk Grove Village O'Hare

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ariaceliz
Business
NJ
Oct 15, 2009

Asthma and allergy trigger

one treadmill + one stationary bike = fitness room one 1997 computer + broken chair = internet room one tissue box with two tissues in it 3 sample toiletries (disgusting) towels hems were coming apart stains on bedspread + hard matress old muffins/bagels for continental breakfast Rugs had old iron mark burned in it (room 315) THEY DO NOT STEAM CLEAN RUGS. If you have allergy, asthma, or any respiratory issues BRING your inhaler or nebulizer machine because this place is asthma central .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Long drive to chicago downtown with many delays and detours. Take train instead for $4. Taxes are outrageous.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Elk Grove Village O'Hare

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MN
Mar 1, 2011

Airport Hotel

This was supposed to be an "airport" hotel. It was NOT. They offered no ground transportation, which ended up costing about $40, as they were a good 20 minutes from the airport and near NOTHING. We could have literally stayed at the airport for less money, by having no transportation costs, and having dinner right there. I'd never come here again....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

LONG DRIVE

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Elk Grove Village O'Hare

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Quiet Ranger
Business
Cumberland, IN
May 15, 2010

Missed the mark

While on this trip we were taking care of a lot of personal business. The bed in our room was subpar and most likely should have been replaced 2 or 3 years ago and this made for an uncomfortable night's sleep. Couple this with the smell of stale cigarette smoke and you now have a rough night's rest. This trip is one for the worse trips book for us. Regrettably this was worse than some of the training exercises I went on during my time in the Military.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

there isn't anything close to this place except a McDonalds that can be found easily.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top