$52 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Elk Grove Village O'Hare

2 stars
View map of 1925 E. Higgins Road, Elk Grove Village, IL 60007

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
265 reviews
was ok no complains

i like the price and the stuff was so much nice sorry for the later review See full review

  • Alisovic
  • May 1, 2015
Nice one night stay!

This Hotel has met my expectation. It provides good value for short time stay, especially if you... See full review

  • Pen Sir
  • Mar 26, 2015
Affordable hotel near suburban attractions with free parking and Wi-Fi

Travelers seeking affordable accommodations close to O'Hare International Airport and Rosemont Theatre will find that and more in Elk Grove Village at the Howard Johnson Inn and Suites. True to its brand, the hotel offers classic rooms with Wi-Fi access and a complimentary extended continental breakfast. Guests who drove to the property also enjoy free parking. Dining is no problem, thanks to the multiple chain restaurants nearby and inside Woodfield Mall. The hotel also boasts fitness and business centers.

Highlights
  • Near O'Hare International Airport, Woodfield Mall and Rosemont Theatre
  • Free parking and Wi-Fi (plus high-speed Internet) in all rooms
  • Extended continental breakfast at no charge to guests
  • Fitness room and business center
  • 24-hour coffee and tea in the lobby
Rooms

Guests have the choice of suites, double queen, king and smoking rooms, which are decorated in complementary tones of mauve, green and beige at the Howard Johnson Inn and Suites. Patterned bedspreads match the drapes, which in some rooms, hang above window seats. In all rooms, guests enjoy free Wi-Fi or high-speed Internet access.  

Features

When time is crunched, there's no reason to skip breakfast. Howard Johnson Inn and Suites serves a selection of cereals, pastries, coffee and juice to keep travelers going through the morning. And the best part: Snacks and drinks are free.

Transportation
  • O'Hare International Airport (7 miles)
  • Midway Airport (27 miles)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (36 minutes)
Attractions
  • Medieval Times
Business
  • Meeting space for up to 20 people
  • Business center onsite

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Elk Grove Village O'Hare also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Elk Grove Village O'Hare

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
265 out of 265
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.9

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Elk Grove Village O'Hare

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Juliejulia
Business
Illinois
Mar 5, 2014

gateway

Unhappy with the service and rooms extremely small and uncomfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Elk Grove Village O'Hare

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Refundplease
Business
henderson, nevada
May 9, 2011

Run far far away

I've stayed in everything from youth hostels to five star hotels - this was, by far, the worst place I have seen. Don't let the exterior fool you, this motel is one to skip. I stayed a little less than a week for business in a non-smoking room. The sheets were stained, torn, and cigarette burned. The bathroom had moldy, peeling wallpaper. The floors were both stained and outright filty. Free internet is provided, however, you will be asked multiple times to upgrade the internet speed - for a price. I declined, and was kicked off the internet every 20 minutes or so, having to re-enter the codes and decline the internet upgrade each time. NEITHER microwave Nor fridge are provided (though they are advertised), so be sure to either eat out or enjoy the motel's scant continental breakfast offered between 6 and 9am (hint - arrive early - I came to the eating area one morning at 08:30, all the food was already gone, save some old cereal and a couple greasy danishes.) Why didn't I leave? I actually asked to leave by my second night, with a refund for the days I would not stay. I was told I would not receive a refund as I had booked the motel through an outside company.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Elk Grove Village O'Hare

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jmitch
Business
Anchorage Alaska
Jan 25, 2012

Bed bug

Well I booked a room for two nights and woke up the first morning with a bed bug starring me in the face I checked out told the manager and was not offered a refund he did seem as though he cared and would exterminate but only time will tell if I was bitten or not I'll know in seven more days I guess

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a gay bar directly across the street if your into that type of thing

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Elk Grove Village O'Hare

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gretchen Torres
Business
Midland,Mich
Jun 5, 2012

Not the best place to stay

The room stunk of cigerette smoke, and it was a very inpleasent stay for my husband I

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Elk Grove Village O'Hare

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Naija Brazilian
Business
Maryland, USA
Jul 30, 2012

Pay a Little More

The only good thing I can say about this hotel is that it is close to the airport and the free wi-fi. We were greeted by moldy, humid odor immediately we enter the outer reception hall. In the proper reception hall, the two individuals (who appear to be manager) were at best indifferent and very unwelcoming. We are given our key without any explaining about what the hotel has to offer. Room small, with worn-out towels, bed old and too soft. Each morning woke up with back pain. Continental breakfast was terrible with little option. The front desk staff was responsible for refilling the breakfast trays. Everything (coffee cups, paper napkins, toilet paper, etc) is the lowest quality (cheapest) possible. Pay a little more for quality ammenities and services

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Elk Grove Village O'Hare

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
None Smoker
Business
Chicago
Feb 9, 2013

Smells like an Ashtray

The whole location smells like an ashtray. If you are a smoker fine, if you are a non-smoker, don't stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Elk Grove Village O'Hare

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JTGJR
Business
Boca Raton, FL
Jun 1, 2013

Mold in the room

Room smelled of mold and bleach. Towels were small and worn so much they were to thin to absorb. No price paid should have a moldy room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Elk Grove Village O'Hare

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MOTU
Business
ElkGrove Village, IL
Oct 25, 2010

2010 Chicago Sight-seeing

We only stayed for one night and asked for a refund for the following two nights. We should receive a full refund for the following reasons. 1. The room was very small even for two people. There was not room enough for two people to sit at the makeshift desk in the room. There was room enough for only one chair. 2. The volume on the cable channels faded in and out. 3. The towels in the bathroom were not clean. 4. There was loud music playing all night. 5. When I tried to call the front desk to complain, I found that the phone in the room did not work. [...] I should get a refund for that first night as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Elk Grove Village O'Hare

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Yamil San-Man
Business
Princeton, New Jersey
Dec 14, 2010

Hotel Stay in Elk Grove

I didn't realize how far this was from downtown Chicago. Also it is not close to a train stop so every time I wanted to travel anywhere I had to pay $20.00 each way. I should have rented a car. The bathroom was unclean. Also someone should make sure they have their own soaps and lotions because the ones provided are quite tragic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Elk Grove Village O'Hare

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Hampshire
Jun 27, 2011

Not my fathers Howard Johnsons!

Hotel was run down, musty smelling and bare bones accomodations. Not at all like the pictures represented. Breakfast bar was toaster waffles or bagels, orange juice tasted like Tang.There were two pillows on the queen bed, and when I called for two more they said to come down to the lobby and get them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top