$42 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 31, 2015 Check-out: Feb 3, 2015

Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Elk Grove Village O'Hare

2 stars
1925 E. Higgins Road, Elk Grove Village, IL 60007
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
234 reviews
You won't get better for the price!!

Friendly staff, clean rooms and an extremely reasonable price. See full review

  • Uk visitor
  • Sep 12, 2013
First time to Chicago

while the hotel staff was very nice and the rooms were clean and comfortable, It is a ways away... See full review

  • Codee T.
  • Jan 15, 2015
Affordable hotel near suburban attractions with free parking and Wi-Fi

Travelers seeking affordable accommodations close to O'Hare International Airport and Rosemont Theatre will find that and more in Elk Grove Village at the Howard Johnson Inn and Suites. True to its brand, the hotel offers classic rooms with Wi-Fi access and a complimentary extended continental breakfast. Guests who drove to the property also enjoy free parking. Dining is no problem, thanks to the multiple chain restaurants nearby and inside Woodfield Mall. The hotel also boasts fitness and business centers.

Highlights
  • Near O'Hare International Airport, Woodfield Mall and Rosemont Theatre
  • Free parking and Wi-Fi (plus high-speed Internet) in all rooms
  • Extended continental breakfast at no charge to guests
  • Fitness room and business center
  • 24-hour coffee and tea in the lobby
Rooms

Guests have the choice of suites, double queen, king and smoking rooms, which are decorated in complementary tones of mauve, green and beige at the Howard Johnson Inn and Suites. Patterned bedspreads match the drapes, which in some rooms, hang above window seats. In all rooms, guests enjoy free Wi-Fi or high-speed Internet access.  

Features

When time is crunched, there's no reason to skip breakfast. Howard Johnson Inn and Suites serves a selection of cereals, pastries, coffee and juice to keep travelers going through the morning. And the best part: Snacks and drinks are free.

Transportation
  • O'Hare International Airport (7 miles)
  • Midway Airport (27 miles)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (36 minutes)
Attractions
  • Medieval Times
Business
  • Meeting space for up to 20 people
  • Business center onsite

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Elk Grove Village O'Hare also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (234)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Elk Grove Village O'Hare

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
234 out of 234
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.9

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Elk Grove Village O'Hare

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
G&G
Business
The Villages, Florida
Jun 21, 2011

Good location

The Elk Grove location was perfect for all the activities we had planned. The entire staff was very friendly and the hotel was very,very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Wellingtons in Arlington Heights is an excellent restrauant. Visited there after a day at the races at Arlington Park Race Course.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Elk Grove Village O'Hare

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Two Sisters Who Walked
Business
Florida and Virginia
Jun 8, 2011

Outstanding

All of the hotel employees at this hotel were so helpful with directions, calling us a cab and pointing out restaurants that were close to us. Also providing some sissors to make some emergency foot repairs after walking 39.3 miles in the Avon In It To End It walk. Couldn't have asked for more!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Elk Grove Village O'Hare

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Springfield Mo
May 25, 2011

Review of Howard Johnson hotel

Being a classical music fan, I spent most of the time listening to this music. The radio was in good condition so I was able to access the station whenever I wanted.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

I often eat at Macy's in the lower level where they have complete meals.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Elk Grove Village O'Hare

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Refundplease
Business
henderson, nevada
May 9, 2011

Run far far away

I've stayed in everything from youth hostels to five star hotels - this was, by far, the worst place I have seen. Don't let the exterior fool you, this motel is one to skip. I stayed a little less than a week for business in a non-smoking room. The sheets were stained, torn, and cigarette burned. The bathroom had moldy, peeling wallpaper. The floors were both stained and outright filty. Free internet is provided, however, you will be asked multiple times to upgrade the internet speed - for a price. I declined, and was kicked off the internet every 20 minutes or so, having to re-enter the codes and decline the internet upgrade each time. NEITHER microwave Nor fridge are provided (though they are advertised), so be sure to either eat out or enjoy the motel's scant continental breakfast offered between 6 and 9am (hint - arrive early - I came to the eating area one morning at 08:30, all the food was already gone, save some old cereal and a couple greasy danishes.) Why didn't I leave? I actually asked to leave by my second night, with a refund for the days I would not stay. I was told I would not receive a refund as I had booked the motel through an outside company.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Elk Grove Village O'Hare

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Spain
Apr 25, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price

We chose this hotel because we lived in the area a few years ago and we though this would be a good location. Forty five minutes driving to downtown Chicago and close enough to Northwest suburbs and Metra station. The hotel is pretty close to the airport but planes won't bother you. You'll need a car and a GPS, though. The facilities are clean and the price, unbeatable. The staff is friendly and the breakfast is just fine for the price. The costumers I could see were families, workers and other tourists. Woodfield Mall and all the shops and restaurants are 15 minutes drive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Woodfield Mall

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Elk Grove Village O'Hare

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte, NC
Apr 25, 2011

Nice business Hotel

Nice, clean place. Quiet, friendly people. Very affordable and in the heart of business district. Nice restaurants nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Manettis was great

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Elk Grove Village O'Hare

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Decatur, IL
Apr 24, 2011

good deal

The hotel was clean and had a very nice room. The area looked to be safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

I like the Chicago night life, but could not find a job close. It's nice to find nice clean affordable hotels the night before. I'm guessing that I'm getting lucky and booking on weekends with low demand!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Elk Grove Village O'Hare

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kirkwood, Mo
Apr 16, 2011

nice price, clean & free internet

Nice newish place with parking very near the front door. Very happy with the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Elk Grove Village O'Hare

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minnesota
Apr 1, 2011

Price and location acceptable

We were greeted with smiles. Very accomodating with answers to questions and even an extra blanket was no trouble.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

The restaurant flyers in the hotel were great. The restaurant said 45 minute delivery but showed up in 15, hot and fresh. free delivery, bonus

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Elk Grove Village O'Hare

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kts
Business
Overland Park, KS
Mar 29, 2011

dissapointed with hotel

I wanted to stay at the Red Roof Inn in Deerfield but it was full so I picked this one for the value. The hotel was noisy, and the heater in the room did not work very well. I wasn't too uncomfortable, but it was irritating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top