$52 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Elk Grove Village O'Hare

2 stars
View map of 1925 E. Higgins Road, Elk Grove Village, IL 60007

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Elk Grove Village O'Hare

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
265 out of 265
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.9

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Elk Grove Village O'Hare

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
lilyclairwell
Business
Michigan
Sep 11, 2012

Not So Relaxing

At first, everything looked fine. The room was clean, the basic requirements were there. But when we started settling in, we realized there were several things wrong. The hot and cold water was mislabeled on the shower, and there was no note to warn you of that before your first cold shower. The towels feel like sandpaper, and frequently had permanent stains. The toilet seat won't stay up because of the counter overtop of it. You have to hold the seat up if you want to keep it clean. The mattress doesn't have a fitted sheet. They use a regular sheet tucked under the mattress, which comes off every night after sleeping on it. Also, I wouldn't recommend this hotel for someone hoping to take the train into the city, because you will have to drive to the nearest station with parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

For Chicago city travelers, pick a hotel that is within walking distance of a train station. You will save tons on parking and gas.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Elk Grove Village O'Hare

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chef boy R Dee
Business
Elk Grove Village
Sep 5, 2012

Very Close to business

I liked the room. I had a room perfect for one to two people. It was very clean, the staff was very friendly and helpful. The big mirror behind the bed made me a little nervous at first but other than that I had no complaints. I was very close to where I needed to do business and the room rates were very reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Elk Grove Village O'Hare

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Naija Brazilian
Business
Maryland, USA
Jul 30, 2012

Pay a Little More

The only good thing I can say about this hotel is that it is close to the airport and the free wi-fi. We were greeted by moldy, humid odor immediately we enter the outer reception hall. In the proper reception hall, the two individuals (who appear to be manager) were at best indifferent and very unwelcoming. We are given our key without any explaining about what the hotel has to offer. Room small, with worn-out towels, bed old and too soft. Each morning woke up with back pain. Continental breakfast was terrible with little option. The front desk staff was responsible for refilling the breakfast trays. Everything (coffee cups, paper napkins, toilet paper, etc) is the lowest quality (cheapest) possible. Pay a little more for quality ammenities and services

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Elk Grove Village O'Hare

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Your Fav.
Business
Michigan
Jul 24, 2012

Not to shabby!

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The room was very clean. I must note however, that the hotel itself smelled of smoke. I'd suggest a full scrub down from top to bottom. It wasn't unbearable, and my hotel room was fresh and clean. Amenities were fair, no fridge or microwave in the room, although there was a microwave in the lobby. Staff were very friendly. Internet worked VERY well, and was free. Location is pretty much unbeatable, quiet and safe. Make sure to visit Hibachi Grill/Buffet when you stay, the food was incredible. Now, for the price it was WELL WORTH IT. You won't find a better hotel for the price in this area. Directly across the street is another mid-priced ranged hotel, which I'm sure is double, that is attached by parking lot to White Castle. Imagine the traffic there! Stay at HoJo and relax. Enjoy~!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

HIBACHI GRILL! Literally 2 minutes away with phenomenal food. Sushi, etc. MMMMM!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Elk Grove Village O'Hare

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
chemi89pr
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 9, 2012

Again no microwave, no fridge in the room...

The room was clean, although quite small. I had a big issue with the room not having a fridge or a microwave in it. I guess that I got what I paid for...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Elk Grove Village O'Hare

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
chemi89pr
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 9, 2012

No microwave, no fridge in the room...

The room was clean, although quite small. I had a real issue with the room not having a fridge or a microwave in it. I guess that I got what I paid for...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Elk Grove Village O'Hare

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
atvman
Business
waynesville, nc
Jun 13, 2012

motel

staff was friendly, helpful. motel was quiet, no problems getting to or from

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Elk Grove Village O'Hare

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wei bing
Business
beijing ,china
Jun 9, 2012

very good hotel

good location near by airport . It't high value hotel for short stay .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Elk Grove Village O'Hare

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gretchen Torres
Business
Midland,Mich
Jun 5, 2012

Not the best place to stay

The room stunk of cigerette smoke, and it was a very inpleasent stay for my husband I

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Elk Grove Village O'Hare

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bentherdonedat
Business
Southern New England
May 30, 2012

Good Enough

Had come back to the area, for an early morning flight out of ORD (O hare). Never was a HoJo hotel fan. This one from the pictures on the outside looked better. Hotel is a little hard to find even for Google. Room with King bed very small. Bed very soft and sunken, no head board. Bathroom very clean and functional. Not a big fan of elevated TV over closet space. Staff friendly enough. Near malls, restaurants and airport. Just way to easy to get lost or turned around. It was an ok stay. No real negatives except for small sleeping area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Malls and many restaurants near by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top