$38 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 2, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Elk Grove Village O'Hare

2 stars
1925 E. Higgins Road, Elk Grove Village, IL 60007
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
232 reviews
You won't get better for the price!!

Friendly staff, clean rooms and an extremely reasonable price. See full review

  • Uk visitor
  • Sep 12, 2013
Good value for the money

Stayed here for a day. The hotel is located in a pretty convenient location close to restaurants .... See full review

  • Deps
  • Dec 5, 2014
Affordable hotel near suburban attractions with free parking and Wi-Fi

Travelers seeking affordable accommodations close to O'Hare International Airport and Rosemont Theatre will find that and more in Elk Grove Village at the Howard Johnson Inn and Suites. True to its brand, the hotel offers classic rooms with Wi-Fi access and a complimentary extended continental breakfast. Guests who drove to the property also enjoy free parking. Dining is no problem, thanks to the multiple chain restaurants nearby and inside Woodfield Mall. The hotel also boasts fitness and business centers.

Highlights
  • Near O'Hare International Airport, Woodfield Mall and Rosemont Theatre
  • Free parking and Wi-Fi (plus high-speed Internet) in all rooms
  • Extended continental breakfast at no charge to guests
  • Fitness room and business center
  • 24-hour coffee and tea in the lobby
Rooms

Guests have the choice of suites, double queen, king and smoking rooms, which are decorated in complementary tones of mauve, green and beige at the Howard Johnson Inn and Suites. Patterned bedspreads match the drapes, which in some rooms, hang above window seats. In all rooms, guests enjoy free Wi-Fi or high-speed Internet access.  

Features

When time is crunched, there's no reason to skip breakfast. Howard Johnson Inn and Suites serves a selection of cereals, pastries, coffee and juice to keep travelers going through the morning. And the best part: Snacks and drinks are free.

Transportation
  • O'Hare International Airport (7 miles)
  • Midway Airport (27 miles)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (36 minutes)
Attractions
  • Medieval Times
Business
  • Meeting space for up to 20 people
  • Business center onsite

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Elk Grove Village O'Hare also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (232)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Elk Grove Village O'Hare

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
232 out of 232
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.9

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Elk Grove Village O'Hare

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Honest Me
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Feb 14, 2012

great place

Although this location is a bit far,the staff is amazing and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Elk Grove Village O'Hare

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ges22
Business
Chicago
Oct 22, 2012

Good room for a night

I liked my stay, I wish there was a pool and jacuzzi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Elk Grove Village O'Hare

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Benjalex
Business
Rochester, NY
Oct 16, 2012

great place to spend the night

my friend and i recently spent the weekend in chicago, and this was a great hotel to stay at for the price. it's a short drive from downtown, so it wasn't an issue with us and our car. however, if you had to rely on public transportation, it would have been difficult to get to the city. the hotel had free wifi, free parking, and free breakfast, as well as helpful staff that were at the desk whenever we came in. if you want a cheap, comfortable place to stay for the night, this is the right hotel. there are more expensive ones closer to the city and ones with bigger rooms, but after a full day of walking through downtown chicago, the bed was just as comfortable as any other. and when you just want a place to sleep, that's all that matters.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

chicago has a great underground music scene. before your trip, check online to find all the shows playing on a certain night, then just pick one. we picked a band we had never heard of, went to the show in the back of a bar, and for ten dollars, saw one of the wildest and most unforgettable shows i'll probably ever see. it's a great way to make your chicago experience one of a kind.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Elk Grove Village O'Hare

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
orlando1990
Business
new york
Oct 14, 2012

Howard johnson inn & suites

The hotel is good for it's price. The staff is friendly and very helpful. The room was clean, neat, have no complains about the room. My cons about this hotel is. that the breakfest was not that good and the location is far from everything that was basically it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Elk Grove Village O'Hare

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Moon skylight
Business
miami, florida
Sep 25, 2012

Hotel experience

We requested a non smoking room however, we did not get it. Rooms are small. Kids running on hallway earlier on the morning. We could not sleep. The building outside was re done nicely. But the inside was not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Elk Grove Village O'Hare

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
lilyclairwell
Business
Michigan
Sep 11, 2012

Not So Relaxing

At first, everything looked fine. The room was clean, the basic requirements were there. But when we started settling in, we realized there were several things wrong. The hot and cold water was mislabeled on the shower, and there was no note to warn you of that before your first cold shower. The towels feel like sandpaper, and frequently had permanent stains. The toilet seat won't stay up because of the counter overtop of it. You have to hold the seat up if you want to keep it clean. The mattress doesn't have a fitted sheet. They use a regular sheet tucked under the mattress, which comes off every night after sleeping on it. Also, I wouldn't recommend this hotel for someone hoping to take the train into the city, because you will have to drive to the nearest station with parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

For Chicago city travelers, pick a hotel that is within walking distance of a train station. You will save tons on parking and gas.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Elk Grove Village O'Hare

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chef boy R Dee
Business
Elk Grove Village
Sep 5, 2012

Very Close to business

I liked the room. I had a room perfect for one to two people. It was very clean, the staff was very friendly and helpful. The big mirror behind the bed made me a little nervous at first but other than that I had no complaints. I was very close to where I needed to do business and the room rates were very reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Elk Grove Village O'Hare

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Naija Brazilian
Business
Maryland, USA
Jul 30, 2012

Pay a Little More

The only good thing I can say about this hotel is that it is close to the airport and the free wi-fi. We were greeted by moldy, humid odor immediately we enter the outer reception hall. In the proper reception hall, the two individuals (who appear to be manager) were at best indifferent and very unwelcoming. We are given our key without any explaining about what the hotel has to offer. Room small, with worn-out towels, bed old and too soft. Each morning woke up with back pain. Continental breakfast was terrible with little option. The front desk staff was responsible for refilling the breakfast trays. Everything (coffee cups, paper napkins, toilet paper, etc) is the lowest quality (cheapest) possible. Pay a little more for quality ammenities and services

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Elk Grove Village O'Hare

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Your Fav.
Business
Michigan
Jul 24, 2012

Not to shabby!

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The room was very clean. I must note however, that the hotel itself smelled of smoke. I'd suggest a full scrub down from top to bottom. It wasn't unbearable, and my hotel room was fresh and clean. Amenities were fair, no fridge or microwave in the room, although there was a microwave in the lobby. Staff were very friendly. Internet worked VERY well, and was free. Location is pretty much unbeatable, quiet and safe. Make sure to visit Hibachi Grill/Buffet when you stay, the food was incredible. Now, for the price it was WELL WORTH IT. You won't find a better hotel for the price in this area. Directly across the street is another mid-priced ranged hotel, which I'm sure is double, that is attached by parking lot to White Castle. Imagine the traffic there! Stay at HoJo and relax. Enjoy~!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

HIBACHI GRILL! Literally 2 minutes away with phenomenal food. Sushi, etc. MMMMM!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Elk Grove Village O'Hare

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
chemi89pr
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 9, 2012

Again no microwave, no fridge in the room...

The room was clean, although quite small. I had a big issue with the room not having a fridge or a microwave in it. I guess that I got what I paid for...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Elk Grove Village O'Hare

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
chemi89pr
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 9, 2012

No microwave, no fridge in the room...

The room was clean, although quite small. I had a real issue with the room not having a fridge or a microwave in it. I guess that I got what I paid for...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top