$103 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2015 Check-out: Aug 22, 2015

Courtyard by Marriott Chicago O'Hare

3 stars
View map of 2950, S. River Road, Des Plaines, IL 60018

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Chicago O'Hare

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
65 out of 65
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chicago O'Hare

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joe & Carol
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Oct 24, 2010

Nice place to stay

It was a nice hotel, although we didn't spend hardly any time there. Really only one issue - the first morning there, the shower was only lukewarm. After a call to the front desk, it was quickly repaired and the water was good & hot. They even dropped off a small gift back with a note apologizing for the inconvenience. Only other matter was that the hotel participates in the program to not change your towels if you hang them back up. We chose to do that, but like many hotels, the staff just seems to overlook that. We were perfectly happy with re-use the towels. Why tout this program if your staff isn't going to take part? For our part, the hotel wasn't terribly close to our daughter, but it was the most affordable we could find on short notice. I hate driving in Chicago, to say the least.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chicago O'Hare

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fargo
Oct 21, 2010

Chicago 2010

Good experience, nice place Had a noisy couple next to us for 2 nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chicago O'Hare

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ST. Louis MO
Oct 19, 2010

very clean, helpful staff

Very quiet, helpful staff, housekeeping extremely good; my only comment is the traffic situation coming and going into the city

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chicago O'Hare

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas City, MO
Oct 6, 2010

Great for short stay

Rooms were clean, but there was no refrigerator or microwave or minibar. Every time we wanted some water or hot tea, we had to go all the way to the hotel bistro 5 floors down. There is a new casino being built right next to the Courtyard. That adds to the highway noise. Shuttle schedule is unpredictable. Plus they don't usually wait for you. You literally have to jump out of the shuttle waiting area at the airport into the second lane and hijack it. If you plan to travel to the downtown, the trip might take more than 1 hour 30 minutes. The hotel shuttle doesn't stop at the nearest train station, you have to take it all the way back to the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Because of the buisy travellers, hotel pool and hot tub are always empty. Use your chance to relax after a long day!

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chicago O'Hare

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, FL
Aug 9, 2010

Very good price/quality ratio.

Very friendly staff, not much to do around the hotel, but very quiet and restful. Only complaint is that there's no restaurant/room service available/open for lunch. Great indoor pool. In summary, good airport hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chicago O'Hare

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Aug 9, 2010

Review August 5-9

It would have been nice to have a Continental Breakfast that most "lower end" hotels offer today.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chicago O'Hare

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas, Nevada
Jul 13, 2010

My trip to the Marriott [...]

It was clean and quiet. I really liked the size of the room and it even had a small balcony. The staff was courteous and the price was right. Compared to most downtown hotels, it wasn't lacking anything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chicago O'Hare

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
colton, ca
Jun 22, 2010

clean comfortable and cozy

friendly staff, close to o'hare airport

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

giordano's deep dish pizza was delicious

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chicago O'Hare

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California
Jun 20, 2010

Courtyard by Marriott Chicago O'Hare

Bed were not as comfortable as previous experiences. Hotel front desk remodel looks like a grocery store set up. Difficult time obtaining contact with front desk from the room. Lots of broken/nonworking components of the hotel (telephone, door locks, computer, access). The staff wasn't particularly rude, just seemed like they were always doing three things at once (understaffed or undertrained)?? We were also on the freeway side, which was really noisy. It sounded like the window was open, but it wasn't ~ maybe through the AirCon. I've stayed at many Marriotts and this one was not very impressive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hyatt is across the street and has a much nicer bar/restaurant.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chicago O'Hare

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
College Station, TX
Jun 14, 2010

OK for an Airport Hotel

My wife and I went to Chicago to attend a graduation over the weekend. We mistakenly took a cab from the airport (~ $12.50 + tip), but later learned that the hotel has a shuttle service. The lobby was nice enough, but they placed us in a room towards the back of the hotel, which was right next to the highway. It was very noisy all night long. The staff were generally friendly, but I tried calling several times between 10pm-midnight from the room and never reached anyone. There is really nothing along the River Road where the hotel is located other then a couple more hotels. I would probably stay elsewhere next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top