$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 23, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

dana hotel and spa

4 stars
660 N State St, Chicago, IL 60654
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
224 reviews
Couldn't have found a better place

The hotel rooms are very clean, comfortable and luxury! It's very close to a subway station and has... See full review

  • Gabriela Santos
  • Nov 17, 2014
Excellent business experience

I was here on business for three days and had an excellent stay. The staff was extremely friendly... See full review

  • Dedham Mark
  • Oct 27, 2014
Modern retreat for healthy living in downtown Chicago
The dana hotel and spa in Chicago's River North neighborhood balances the beauty of natural elements with the latest technology to create a modern retreat for healthy living. From the progressive health center to the Zeppelin MP3 media system in each room, the dana's core philosophy of wellness and individuality is expressed in all elements of the hotel. Bathed in natural light, the dana is an oasis of serene relaxation in a bustling city.
Highlights
  • Sweeping views at Vertigo Sky Lounge
  • Spa at dana and 24-hour fitness center
  • Enjoy American favorites with a global twist at freestyle food + drink
      Rooms
      Sleekly decorated with hints of Asian influence, standard rooms at the dana hotel and spa feature a half wall of floor-to-ceiling windows and walkout balconies. Serenity is infused in everything from the natural, sustainable floors to the 300-thread count Egyptian cotton sheets over pillow-top mattresses. Glass separates bath from boudoir and illuminates the shower rooms, featuring Italian rain shower fixtures and handcrafted tiles.
      Features
      With its mantra “the pleasure of giving,” the dana hotel and spa sets out to deliver a unique experience to its visitors. The spa offers an extensive array of treatments, from prenatal massages and organic manicures to customized facials and Italian mud body wraps. The focus on wellness continues through the high-tech fitness center, which is outfitted with Italian TechnoGym Kinetic Equipment to promote fluid motion.

      Vertigo Sky Lounge is Chicago’s premiere year-round indoor/outdoor lounge. With the dramatic city skyline as a backdrop, Vertigo is the ideal place to mix it up after work or into the night. It features a dancing fire pit, lush modern furnishings, craft cocktails and happy hour menus. New this summer is the Bartender’s Booth, where patrons can sample craft cocktails and off-menu bites while engaging with their very own mixologist.

      Guests can also head to freestyle food + drink on site to sample American favorites with a global twist during breakfast, lunch, dinner, and happy hour. The restaurant also has a street-side patio for outdoor dining (as weather permits).
      Transportation
      • O’Hare International Airport (15.3 mi/24.7 km)
      • Midway Airport (9.7 mi/15.7 km)
      • Blue Line (Jackson/Lake) (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
      • Orange Line (Chicago/Lake) (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
      • McCormick Place Convention Center (3 mi/4.9 km)
      Attractions
      • Michigan Avenue (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
      • Magnificent Mile (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
      • Wrigley Building (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
      • Tribune Tower (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
      • Merchandise Mart (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
      • Oak Street Beach (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
      • The Loop (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
      • Art Institute of Chicago (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
      • Willis (Sears) Tower (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
      • Navy Pier (1.3 mi/2 km)
      Business
      • Fully equipped business center
      • Meeting rooms with floor-to-ceiling windows, high-speed Internet access and audio/visual equipment
      Policies and Fees
      • Overnight parking charge is $39 per night plus tax and unlimited in/out privileges

      This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

      Recommendations for you

      Customers who viewed dana hotel and spa also booked these hotels.

      Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
      Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
      Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

      dana hotel and spa Rooms

      Serene King
      Our Serene King Room features one king bed and a full wall of floor to ceiling windows that offer a view of State Street. At Dana, rooms are a labor of love and considered anything but pedestrian. Natural, sustainable woods, neutral tones and flawless details, create the perfect setting for every guest. Escape the mundane with an Italian rainfall shower, an experience like no other. In room amenities include: a variety of the highest quality bath products, thick bath sheets, comp. high speed Internet, 37" HD flat-screen TV's, iPod docking station and Keurig One Cup Coffee Makers.
      Cozy King
      Our Cozy King Room features a walk out balcony while offering a slightly smaller, yet efficient and quaint space. At Dana, rooms are a labor of love and considered anything but pedestrian. Natural, sustainable woods, neutral tones and flawless details, create the perfect setting for every guest. Escape the mundane with an Italian rainfall shower, an experience like no other. In room amenities include a variety of the highest quality bath products, thick bath sheets, comp. high speed Internet, 37" HD flat-screen TV's, iPod docking station and Keurig One Cup Coffee Makers.
      Corner King
      Our Corner King Room features one king bed and two walls of floor to ceiling windows that offer a panoramic view of the city and a more spacious feel. At Dana, rooms are a labor of love and considered anything but pedestrian. Natural, sustainable woods, neutral tones and flawless details, create the perfect setting for every guest. Escape the mundane with an Italian rainfall shower, an experience like no other. In room amenities include a variety of the highest quality bath products, thick bath sheets, comp. high speed Internet, 37" HD flat-screen TV's, iPod docking station and Keurig One Cup Coffee Makers.

      Amenities

      • WiFi
      General
      Concierge
      Pet friendly
      Activities
      Fitness Center
      Spa
      Dining
      Restaurant
      Room service
      Services
      Business center
      Conference facilities
      Internet
      WiFi
      Accessibility
      Handicapped rooms/facilities

      Nearby points of interest

      • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.1 mi
      • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.1 mi
      • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
      • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
      • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
      • Tribune Tower: 0.4 mi
      • Wrigley Building: 0.4 mi
      • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
      • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
      • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.4 mi
      • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
      • Water Tower: 0.4 mi
      • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
      • Marina City: 0.4 mi
      • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
      • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.1 mi
      • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.1 mi
      • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
      • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
      • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
      • Tribune Tower: 0.4 mi
      • Wrigley Building: 0.4 mi
      • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
      • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
      • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.4 mi
      • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
      • Water Tower: 0.4 mi
      • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
      • Marina City: 0.4 mi
      • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
      • Merchandise Mart: 0.6 mi
      • Harold Washington College: 0.6 mi
      • Chicago Theater: 0.6 mi
      • Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
      • Goodman Theatre: 0.6 mi
      • Chicago Historical Society: 0.7 mi
      • Oak Street Beach: 0.7 mi
      • Prudential Plaza: 0.7 mi
      • Oriental Theatre: 0.7 mi
      • Macys: 0.7 mi
      • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
      • City Hall: 0.7 mi
      • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
      • Harris Theater: 0.8 mi
      • Shubert Theatre: 0.8 mi
      • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
      • State Street: 0.8 mi
      • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.8 mi
      • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
      • Crown Fountain: 0.9 mi
      • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
      • Opera House: 0.9 mi
      • Children Museum: 1 mi
      • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi
      • Art Institute of Chicago: 1 mi
      • Symphony Center: 1.1 mi
      • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1.1 mi
      • Yacht Club: 1.1 mi
      • Kendall College: 1.1 mi
      • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.2 mi

      Dining

      freestyle food + drink
      At freestyle food + drink we have a passion for food and a desire to share that passion. We add a pinch of this and a dash of that to create american tastes with a twist of global influence. freestyle is open for breakfast, lunch, happy hour, dinner and weekend brunch.
      Vertigo Sky Lounge
      Cocktails and catsuits perched 26 floors above the Dana hotel and spa. Relaxed conversations in a high fidelity sushi bar offer an escape from the mainstream.

      Hotel Policies

      Check-in:
      0300
      Check-out:
      1200

      Terms and conditions

      Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

      The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

      Back to menu Return to top

      Guest Reviews (224)

      Ratings and reviews for dana hotel and spa

      Overall score

      4.2 / 5
      5.01.0
      125 out of 224
      Amenities:
      4.1
      Room cleanliness:
      4.6
      Hotel staff:
      4.5
      Room comfort:
      4.3
      Location:
      4.6
      Value:
      4.1

      91% would recommend to a friend.

      Sort by:
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      1
      5.01.0
      Krista C.
      Business
      N/A
      Dec 17, 2014

      Northwestern

      We had loud music coming from the room next door from 10 pm until 3 am. Called the front desk and nothing was done about it.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      1
      Room cleanliness:
      4
      Hotel staff:
      3
      Room comfort:
      1
      Location:
      5
      Value:
      1
      Trip purpose:

      Business

      Was this review helpful to you?
      Thank you for your feedback!
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      2
      5.01.0
      Victoro
      Business
      Miami, Fl
      May 10, 2009

      Chicago get-a-away

      The concept of being a "Boutique hotel" was exemplified to the max. The decor was sleak and stylish but the rooms were quite displeasing. The rooms were small with unfinished concrete ceilings, which unfortunately were complemented by a strange repugnant odor that emitted from the concrete every time the A/C turned off. In addition, climate control inside the room was by far the worse I've ever experienced. I would not recommend hotel and I would certainly never revisit.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      3
      Room cleanliness:
      4
      Hotel staff:
      4
      Room comfort:
      1
      Location:
      4
      Value:
      2
      Trip purpose:

      Business

      Was this review helpful to you?
      Thank you for your feedback!
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      3
      5.01.0
      sandi traveller
      Business
      copenhagen, denmark
      Feb 3, 2013

      Excellent deal at the Dana Hotel

      We got an incredible deal at this hotel for 3 nights in January, and based on that we would book again. The location is excellent. The room was above average, but not spectacular. Lots of windows, but not really any good view in our room. I hated the shower - had great potential but with the half-glass door none of the heat stays in and its too cold to enjoy it. The bathroom was nice and big though and it did have a rain shower.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      4
      Room cleanliness:
      4
      Hotel staff:
      3
      Room comfort:
      3
      Location:
      5
      Value:
      5
      Trip purpose:

      Business

      Was this review helpful to you?
      Thank you for your feedback!
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      3
      5.01.0
      Anonymous
      Business
      Nebraska
      Jun 5, 2011

      Weekend in Chicago

      The hotel is downtown so you have easy access to all of the attractions. The view is awesome if you select a corner view room. We arrived very early on a saturday morning after an 8 hour drive. The night auditor was very helpful in getting us up to our room and settled, considering the drive we had just made. We switched to our corner view room, with a beautiful view of chicago, unfortunatley we discovered a leaking toilet that night and were moved to a room directly underneath the hotels club at 1am. The next day the manager moved us to a suite to make up for the mishap, A gorgeous room. Overall without the mishaps it was a great stay, the hotel staff were always willing to help and offer suggestions, and we were a few blocks from most things. The softest bed I have ever slept in, a refresing treat after a day of walking around chicago.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      4
      Room cleanliness:
      3
      Hotel staff:
      4
      Room comfort:
      4
      Location:
      4
      Value:
      3
      Trip purpose:

      Business

      Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

      Yolk, a great brunch, we tried on monday before hitting the road and wished we had gone there earlier.

      Was this review helpful to you?
      Thank you for your feedback!
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      3
      5.01.0
      Anonymous
      Business
      Las Vegas
      Apr 25, 2010

      Disappointed.

      We were disappointed by our stay at the Dana. The room was very small and dark: There were no windows, and the only sunlight and view was via a small door to a small balcony. In fact, the room was so small that there wasn't a dresser for your clothes. The doormen, the front desk and the bellmen were terrific, but when we ask a staffer on our floor for a coffee cup, we were told by him to go downstairs to get one, instead of taking it upon himself to help us. We have stayed in numerous Chicago hotels and, for the money, it was disappointing.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      2
      Room cleanliness:
      4
      Hotel staff:
      2
      Room comfort:
      3
      Location:
      4
      Value:
      2
      Trip purpose:

      Business

      Was this review helpful to you?
      Thank you for your feedback!
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      3
      5.01.0
      SirGM
      Business
      New York, NY, USA
      Sep 1, 2011

      Nice, but not great.

      My wife and I stayed at Dana Hotel & Spa in the last weekend of August, 2011 for 4 nights. The room was nice, but had some cons. First lets get to the pros. Pros: 1- Bed was very comfortable and room felt calm and relaxing. 2- Room had full size windows, so lots of natural light. 3- The rainfall shower is amazing!! As well as nice bathroom. 4- Free wi-fi & wired internet, cordless phone, free local calls. 5- Location is great. You are close to restaurants, Michigan ave, grocery stores, & shopping. Cons: 1- Very low lighting in room. 2- The shower (even though its amazing) has a half glass door (Euro style). It made no sense to me why they just wouldn't put in a full glass door. Also you can see into the shower from the bed as the curtain is movable from the outside (bedroom side of the shower). 3- The full glass windows. They are great for natural light but you can see into the building across the street and they can see into your room. Can be pro or con depending on the person. 4- All amenities were not included as advertised. Such as sewing kit. The paper only started coming on the last two days of our stay. Also no turn down service (personally don't care for it anyway). 5- No microwave in the room. Also the fridge is full of beer, wine and water. So you have to take the bottles out and put in your food. An annoyance as the fridge is basically for wines. I requested for a separate refrigerator and was told that's not possible. 6- The tv kept messing up when we were there. So mostly we had to watch tv on analog as digital channels were not working. Also their hotel system was not working at all. So no checkout and other options. 7- The rooftop lounge closed its outside area for no reason when we went up one night. They stated it was reserved. Reserved for birds? No one came to use it the whole night....not even birds.. lol Final thoughts: Sorry for the long review, but I just wanted to be thorough. This hotel is mostly for couples, so because you can view into the shower from the bed, I do not recommend this for friends. Unless of course you have no problem seeing and being seen naked by your friends. The best thing about Dana is its location.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      3
      Room cleanliness:
      4
      Hotel staff:
      3
      Room comfort:
      4
      Location:
      4
      Value:
      3
      Trip purpose:

      Business

      Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

      There is a Trader Joe's a block and a half from the hotel. So I suggest buying a few items from there and saving money on food and wine, as eating out every meal can get expensive in the area.

      Was this review helpful to you?
      Thank you for your feedback!
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      3
      5.01.0
      Anonymous
      Business
      chicago, il
      Jul 10, 2011

      Decent get away

      This was for a last minute baby moon ... The room (a corner king) was beautiful however one of the phones did not work, and the TV also did not work. The repair person for the TV complained how the TVs never work and apologized for the cheapness. The best part of the room was the shower, I took 3 30+ minute showers, and it came with a chair which is perfect for me. The bed was also unbelievably comfortable.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      3
      Room cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      4
      Room comfort:
      5
      Location:
      4
      Value:
      3
      Trip purpose:

      Business

      Was this review helpful to you?
      Thank you for your feedback!
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      3
      5.01.0
      dgg27
      Business
      México
      Sep 3, 2011

      very small room

      the location was great just 3 blocks from the main shopping street and lake, the bed was comfortable but the room was too small. i didin´t expect that at all. had a little trouble with the remote control and the towels but its an ok hotel overall. one night i felt sick and asked for aspirine and they didint have any, im used to an emergency kit or minimum aspirin at the reception. the hotel is good it just needs a little details to make it great. (exept for the room size)

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      3
      Room cleanliness:
      3
      Hotel staff:
      4
      Room comfort:
      3
      Location:
      4
      Value:
      3
      Trip purpose:

      Business

      Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

      gianello´s!!! delicious stuffed pizza

      Was this review helpful to you?
      Thank you for your feedback!
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      3
      5.01.0
      Clean super freak!!!
      Business
      St. Louis, MO
      Jun 27, 2011

      Great location & amazing shower

      The hotel location was wonderful, the room was very sleek and trendy, amazing,shower, average cleanliness, poor desk service but great curb side service. Great single cup coffee maker. Better than average but lacked service and it was not very clean for a newer hotel. Granted I am a CLEAN freak.

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      2
      Room cleanliness:
      3
      Hotel staff:
      3
      Room comfort:
      4
      Location:
      3
      Value:
      3
      Trip purpose:

      Business

      Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

      Joes Seafood

      Was this review helpful to you?
      Thank you for your feedback!
      Review of dana hotel and spa

      Reviewer score

      3
      5.01.0
      Anonymous
      Business
      Washington, DC
      Jul 6, 2010

      The staff make the hotel

      The hotel is chic, fun and in a great location, the seemingly best of all worlds. We were on the 25th floor, the gorgeous top, with a stunning view--perfect! Until we realized Vertigo Sky Bar was on floor 26... and the bass was impecably loud. Luckily that was masked by the unbearably deafening roar of our air conditioning unit. When coupled with the noxious natural gas smell that only seeped out of the AC unit at 3 am every night, the room became unliveable. Yes, the bed was comfortable and the rain shower was glorious, but that gets completely overshadowed by the aformentioned failings. As for room service, the girl who took our order and served us was fantastically sweet. The menu, however, was lacking at best. Sure, fanciful options paired to be at the forefront of the food scene do make the menu standout. But when you want a meal to just be something familiar and kind to your stomach, this does not suffice. Plus the limited options did not help much. Honestly, the best part of our stay was the service. The front desk and concierge were both extremely helpful, prompt and caring. Anything we asked was answered properly and with a genuine smile. Though billing issues did arise (we were charged for parking though never had a car), the staff responded positively and removed the unfounded charges. We greatly appreciated everything they did... too bad someone wasn't an AC repairman too!

      Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
      Amenities:
      2
      Room cleanliness:
      5
      Hotel staff:
      5
      Room comfort:
      3
      Location:
      4
      Value:
      3
      Trip purpose:

      Business

      Was this review helpful to you?
      Thank you for your feedback!
      Back to menu Return to top